Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tools or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Buddy Spokey Spoke Key - Red Euro Nipples

Buddy Spokey Spoke Key - Red Euro Nipples

Overall rating:
4.706 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
16 out of 17(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Buddy Spokey Spoke Key - Red Euro Nipples
Review 1 for Buddy Spokey Spoke Key - Red Euro Nipples
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bluebottle
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

just add a twist

Posted15 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Excellent tool to have in your tool box cycle bag; very easy to use fits snug locating on all four sides of the nipple no chance of this one rounding off the nipple on your wheel.The tool gives plenty of feedback due to the shape of the handle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Buddy Spokey Spoke Key - Red Euro Nipples
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mossie27
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Posted09 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good quality product - ideal for my requirement, would recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Buddy Spokey Spoke Key - Red Euro Nipples
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nickmcg
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very easy to use

Posted01 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
this type of spoke key is far easy to use than others..definately worth the buy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Buddy Spokey Spoke Key - Red Euro Nipples
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MK13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

perfect spoke spanner

Posted09 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Most spoke spanners are 100% metal and result in painful fingertips when used. This one is comfortable, easy to turn, and works perfectly. Thoroughly recommended for every cyclist's toolbox.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Buddy Spokey Spoke Key - Red Euro Nipples
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fasted100
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not a patch on the pro version!

Posted26 July 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Uncomfortable
I love the black pro version spokey I have, but this standard version is not so good. I find it awkward to get on and off the nipple and YES, I'm using the correct size key for the job. I have persevered with this and thought that after a bit of a braking in period it may work better, but no! I'm going to order myself the red pro version today. For approx a few quid more, get yourself the pro version, the extra sliver of metal seems to work wonders.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Buddy Spokey Spoke Key - Red Euro Nipples
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jbco
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Great tool< does the job, easy to use

Posted23 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Great tool, used it to build Mavic rim to Shimano 105 hub. No problems, fitted spokes exactly, buy one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Buddy Spokey Spoke Key - Red Euro Nipples
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excycle
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Don't be fooled

Posted05 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
I thought before trying the spokey that it was a gimmicky shape and would not work as well as conventional types. I could not have been more wrong, it's light and really comfortable to use and fits the nipple really well. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Buddy Spokey Spoke Key - Red Euro Nipples
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BobD
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Snug fit

Posted02 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
This is a solid spoke key that fits well and allows for easy tension adjustment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Buddy Spokey Spoke Key - Red Euro Nipples
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
roughrider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Neat and effective

Posted16 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Light and neat design. Shaped to ensure good contact on spoke nut. Ordered a second one so I have one for each bike after recent odd sound appeared as I was about to do a sportive, turned out to be a loose spoke . I won't be caught out twice with that one
There are 2 versions , I went for the red euro one and it is ok on my Trek and Specialized bikes
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Buddy Spokey Spoke Key - Red Euro Nipples
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ADW1

Fine; works well

Posted08 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I've used this sort of spoke key over the last few years to true wheels and tighten spokes. It works well and is also easy to find in the tool box beacuse of its size and colour!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Buddy Spokey Spoke Key - Red Euro Nipples
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
daos
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

faultless

Posted15 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, effective, ergonomic
easily the best spoke key i've tried. contact on all four sides of the nipple, lightweight, very easy to use, colourcoded. and great value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Buddy Spokey Spoke Key - Red Euro Nipples
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
soulrebel
from LIVERPOOL, UK
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best spoke key out there!

Posted04 December 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, great design, easy to use
I bought this key because Sheldon Brown, (American bike guru, who's no longer with us, sadly) used one, and now I know why.
This spoke key has two alloy inserts which grip all four sides of the spoke nipple; this means it grips the maximum surface area available. It's also extremely comfortable to use on a daily basis. Because of its design it's very easy to guide the key over the spoke nipple using the central groove. It's also very easy to make fine adjustments because of the large wings which gives you great leverage. The rounded edges of the spoke key allows you to use it all day, every day, without any pain, great for the professional wheel builder. I had to use a metal spoke key before I bought this one and it caused a lot of pain in my fingers because of its sharp metal edges, which lasted for days!
I've seen this key under a variety of names on the web and there are two different versions: Red for Euro/US nipples (3.25 mm) and Yellow for Japanese nipples (3.4 mm).
Overall, I would say it's an excellent design and the simply the best spoke key you can buy, bar none.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Buddy Spokey Spoke Key - Red Euro Nipples
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CJ69
from Hertfordshire
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

The Best Spoke Key

Posted30 July 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, durable
I have owned one of these for at least 15 years now. It's seen me through 4 or 5 of my own bikes and thousands of adjustments to thousands of other people's bikes as I am a bike technician. It fits the standard Euro nipple size making it fine for a large percentage of modern bikes of all types. As other reviewers have pointed out, this key allows very accurate adjustments, is lightweight, strong and I can confirm that it is a product with long-lasting durability! Put one on your keyring today :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Buddy Spokey Spoke Key - Red Euro Nipples
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Murray
from Chilterns
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Quicker

Posted14 July 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
I have a Park multi size spoke key. This key only works for a single size nipple but is faster to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Buddy Spokey Spoke Key - Red Euro Nipples
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
IanJ
from Bexleyheath
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Does The Job!

Posted03 June 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: none (does what it should - well)
I bought this to replace a chunky multi-size key from a major manufacturer. It's a joy to use, lightweight and, crucially, allows very accurate tensioning.
This will get a lot of use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Buddy Spokey Spoke Key - Red Euro Nipples
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
coolplus
from Cardiff
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Does the job well

Posted24 February 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
If you need a spoke key then look no further. Quality item and easy to use. Grips the spoke hexagon very securely so unlikely to slip and round it off. Would recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Buddy Spokey Spoke Key - Red Euro Nipples
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mustard

Posted11 December 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
The ONLY spoke key! What more can you say really? It's got a handy hole so you can put it on a keyring!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.