Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Saddles or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Brooks Proofide Saddle Treatment

Brooks Proofide Saddle Treatment

Overall rating:
4.597 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(72 reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 72 reviews
5 Stars
44
4 Stars
27
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
72 out of 72(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer reviews for Brooks Proofide Saddle Treatment
Review 1 for Brooks Proofide Saddle Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kevonn
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Proofide leather saddle treatment

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: recommended
Cons: Expensive
I needed a better saddle for my bike and knew about brooks leather saddles and how they mould to ones anatomy. I got the saddle but wanted to keep it in good shape and so I needed the treatment to go with it. Brooks recomend their Proofide, which is not cheap, but will last a long time. Evans cycles sell Brooks proofide cheaper than anyone else I could find and so I purchased my tin from them. The experience of shopping at Evans was very easy and the product arrived within a few days. I have given my saddle a first treatment and it has readily absorbed it . I don't think it really needed it straight away but I believe it was recommended. The saddle will stay looking like new and everytime I ride on it it feels more fitted and comfortable!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Lee123
UK
 
Please wait while more information about Lee123 is loaded.
Additional information about Lee123 could not be loaded.
Proofide should be used sparingly ...
Posted December 17, 2012
According to Brooks, Proofide should be applied sparingly, and, contrary to what some people seem to do with the stuff, applied mainly to the UNDERSIDE of the saddle where it can penetrate the leather more easily. Its job is only to help soften and condition the leather a bit. Using Proofide on the saddle in practice only speeds-up the breaking-in process a little, if you're not in a rush for it to break-in, you're not obliged to use it. I know this from experience as my last Brooks saddle lasted me just over 25 years, and it never saw any Proofide in its life !
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for Brooks Proofide Saddle Treatment
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Expensive, but so are the saddles

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, protects your investment
Cons: Expensive
If you are forking out for a Brooks saddle, and in my my behind's opinion they are worth every penny, you'll want to protect and care for your investment. Not surprisingly this is the only care product recommended by Brooks, and it is not cheap, but it seems to go quite a long way so I figure it's worth it even at the price.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brooks Proofide Saddle Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scottishmamil
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

worth it

PostedJune 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
This product really, really does what it says on the tin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brooks Proofide Saddle Treatment
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
rally13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good product, does what it says on the tin!

PostedApril 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
This is my second tin of this saddle treatment. I ran through the first on my two Brooks saddles (one on my Brompton and a B17 on my sportive bike), and on an odd assortment of dog leads and hiking boots. It works well, but is pretty dear if you use it much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brooks Proofide Saddle Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Teesdalecyclist
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

It does what it says on the tin!

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Having invested in a Brooks saddle, I wanted to protect it and help with the 'softening' process. I did not find suitable alternatives online and thought that buying Brooks Proofide SaddleTreatment was the best option for my Brooks saddle. The tin of proofide looks like it will last a long time and having applied the proofide once so far I am reassured that I am taking care of my fantastic Brooks saddle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brooks Proofide Saddle Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JaZZBox
Country:Finland
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works as promised.

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Work great on my Brooks Flyer saddle. It doesn't stain clothes and doesn't make the leather of the saddle too soft. I recommend getting this stuff if you are about to or have invested in a Brooks saddle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brooks Proofide Saddle Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JayX86

Brooks saddle, use the right stuff

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I was sceptical about Brooks proofide because of the cost and went online looking for alternatives. I read one post that said words to the effect "you've bought a brooks saddle, treat it with what the manufacturer recommends to get the best use" For the sake of a couple of pounds I can't agree more. Use sparingly, excellent absorption. Prompt delivery by Evans
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brooks Proofide Saddle Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
IanBMCBan
Country:Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brooks Must Have

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This is a must have item if you have brooks products.
Protect your Brooks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brooks Proofide Saddle Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
alesi

Brooks Proofide Saddle Treatment

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Applied few times underneath the new Brooks B17 prior to each ride. Rode for 70km and the comfort was already rather obvious. This product works wonder. Definitely a must for breaking-in new leather saddle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brooks Proofide Saddle Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LisaLoves
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good Stuff!

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
After spending a small fortune on a Brooks saddle, it is worth the extra expense to buy the Proofide to protect it. Lovely compact tin, great consistency which is applied with a soft cloth, allow to soak in then buff off, saddle looks great. This is also much cheaper than on the Brooks England website. A must buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brooks Proofide Saddle Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
smallpaul
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellant product

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Top quality product at a reasonable price. After a few applications the leather is starting to form into shape as required. This product does exactly what it says on the tin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brooks Proofide Saddle Treatment
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
garoto
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedApril 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: Expensive
given the price of the saddle I was affraid of trying anything else...
I'm happy with the results, but I don't know if it's an essential product, since it's impossible to know what difference it would have made if i had never applied it to my saddle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brooks Proofide Saddle Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MAH66
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Help in breaking in Brooks saddle

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
It may seem to be a bit more expensive that other products, but given the cost of the saddle it was worth using the right product. Did the job well and helped to get my new saddle broken in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brooks Proofide Saddle Treatment
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Redwood
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not cheap but does work

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
I can't compare it against alternatives (dubbin?) as I haven't used them, but this worked a treat on my saddle. I suspect Brooks make a lot of money from this, but looking after the saddle properly seems wise. The tin is enough for another 3-4 applications.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brooks Proofide Saddle Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jenin
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

For Brooks leather you need this

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Have just purchased a Brooks leather saddle for my beloved Brompton, needed this proofide saddle treatment. Have used used twice over last three weeks and have kept a special cloth all store in a plastic bag...this way it will last sometime without it becoming dry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brooks Proofide Saddle Treatment
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pomber
Country:Portugal
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Keeps the hide looking great

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
It has a pleasant smell and does what it says in the tin. After having applied it to my B17's upped and lower, the upper became totally water proof (it just shoots off) and the breaking of the saddle occurs much faster.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brooks Proofide Saddle Treatment
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Geffers
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

does what it says on the tin.

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
much the same as the last time I bought a tin of this, back in 1975 !
i wonder if this tin will last as long !
It's smooth and easy to apply. No complaints.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brooks Proofide Saddle Treatment
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Singletrack3
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Keeps your saddle looking good

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: works well
Recommended by Brooks, so I bought it to use on my new saddle. I applied to both sides, on first application the underneath of the saddle absorbed a lot, but now feels softer and water spray seems to bead off rather than soaking in. Seems to do it's job of keeping the leather looking good just fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brooks Proofide Saddle Treatment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SallyR
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the tin!

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, spreads like butter
Cons: a bit expensive
I bought this to treat my new Brooks saddle and after a week of applying it, my saddle was ready to ride - and it's brilliant!!. Proofide is easy to use and if you're investing in a Brooks why would you risk ruining it using an inferior product?
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brooks Proofide Saddle Treatment
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DFD88
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Does what it says on the tin

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
yep soaks right in - saddle seems v comfortable time will tell after further applications
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>