Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for MKS Sylvan Touring Pedals

MKS Sylvan Touring Pedals

Overall rating:
4.267 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
14 out of 15(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for MKS Sylvan Touring Pedals
Review 1 for MKS Sylvan Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nstarmore
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent value pedals which look great

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I run these on my GIANT Escape work bike as they are classic pedals that work well and are easily serviced. My only criticism is that a tiny amount of grease is used to assemble at the factory (which is common across a lot of components these days) so in order to make them last a re-pack is required. Also the bearings are quite rough until broken in. For the price you won't find better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for MKS Sylvan Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TREVORF
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

ideal for the wider foot & touring.

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, great with toe clips
looks good fitted to touring bicycle. Very good grip both sides & smooth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for MKS Sylvan Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Shazbot
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Good, but not recommended

PostedOctober 1, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: no grip when wet
These pedals appear to be well made and are good value, but the main problem is there's no grip from them in the wet. If you're a butterfly cyclist (only comes out in the sun) then these will be fine. Otherwise, choose an alternative.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for MKS Sylvan Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
09021Robert
Country:United Kingdom

Solid product,

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Overall good pedals. Well built, look good etc. Only issues is that they do add a fair bit of weight to the bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for MKS Sylvan Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
vijinho
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

PostedJune 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
I bought a pair of these for my new daily commute/road-bike as I can't be bothered with all that clip-on and custom-footwear business and don't care much about peddling on the upstroke. They do the job just fine, no problems for my wide feet. Don't think they look particularly funky but not too bothered about that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for MKS Sylvan Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Blocuser1

Excellent pedals

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This pair of pedals are of the usual MKS high quality - which will take you afar in comfort. Runs smoothly with the added bonus of looking very nice. The teeth are enough for good retention but not too sharp and thus saving your shins. Love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for MKS Sylvan Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hammers64
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
excellent pproduct,good retro look to go with my retro styled wilier
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for MKS Sylvan Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
areve
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

First new pedals and they are great

PostedApril 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I've not fitted new pedals before and I'm really happy with these ones. Very good grip on my outdoor shoes even when wet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for MKS Sylvan Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Unclejimbo
from UK
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value, nice looking flats

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Bought these for my commuter bike (Langster) as I don't get on with clipless pedals.
They have a nice solid feel, but not too heavy. The rat-trap teeth are not as sharp as some pedals I've had in the past, but they grip well in the wet and the dry. I've found that the narrow contact edges dig through Converse chucks a bit too much for comfort, but stiffer shoes are fine. They do skin your ankles if you're clumsy like me and drag your trailing leg as you pull away from the lights, but that goes for all rat-traps.
They would score a 5, but they are not spinning quite as freely as I'd hoped, even after re-greasing them. Perhaps just due to the bearings being new and a bit of a tight fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for MKS Sylvan Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
wato
from Lausanne, CH
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid and reliable

PostedAugust 9, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Was looking to replace my well-used clipless (SPD) pedals with something I could use with any shoes and that would be practical for year-round commuting in a place where there's plenty of rain (and snow) and a lot of stopping-and-starting due to traffic lights - plus a pedal usable for the occasional long-haul weekend.
These have fulfilled my needs well. MKS is nothing if not reliable,
Bear in mind that the cage corrugations, though rugged-looking, can be slippery when wet. I recommend the MKS Deep Half Clips: easy to get used to and no hassle with getting in and out, no faffing with straps.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for MKS Sylvan Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pinkladycyclist
from cornwall
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

MKS Sylvan Touring Pedals

PostedJanuary 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
wanted a pair of pedals for my hybrid bike which I do a lot of touring on. After reading the reviews chose these have fitted toe clips to them. Am pleased with them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for MKS Sylvan Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TommyBoy
from Dorset
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Great addition

PostedAugust 14, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
A little heavier than my previous pedals but look alot better and the build quality is higher so wins out over all. The brushed metal look at first clashed with my dark bike but now i like the style, meaning need to get more brushed metal parts. Very happy
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for MKS Sylvan Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gerardus
from RTW, Kent
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male

Good Double sided pedal

PostedJune 15, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
Just bought my first shiney new road bike (Trek 2.1) and bought the MKS Sylvan Touring Pedals with it.
They are wide and looked a bit like clowns feet on my sleek new bike initially. I have since put a pair of toe clips on them and they don't look so bad.
I went for these touring pedals because they are flat on both sides unlike the one-sided pedals which I had on my old steel racer. I found these annoying when I was commuting in town as I always had to push off on the pedal axel as they always hang downwards.
With these I am able to have the toeclips on one side and a flat pedal on the other. They do that but don't look so cool. If I keep the road cycling up, some day soon I may trade them in for some clipless. But they do the job for the moment.
Good strong starter pedal for those who don't want to jump straight into clipless.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for MKS Sylvan Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
ManofHole
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Well....

PostedJune 2, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
They look beyond nice especially with some good toe straps and cages, but the main prbolem is they aren't especially strong. Because I ride fixed gear I can't cost really close to the curbs and one day hit my pedal against the curb quite hard, this bent the whole edge which would not have happened with a plastic pedal.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for MKS Sylvan Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bikearm
from Bristol
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

MKS Sylvan Touring Pedals

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great, classic design retro looks
A great set of pedals for those who prefer traditional toe clips on their touring bike. Smooth turning spindles, well sealed and easily rebuildable too. Like a Brooks B17 saddle, MKS touring pedals are simple, durable, reliable and timeless. One of the best pedals for riders with wide or large feet too!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.