Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
GPS or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Garmin Edge 705 GPS with HRM and Topo GB DVD

Garmin Edge 705 GPS with HRM and Topo GB DVD

Overall rating:
4.091 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
8 out of 11(73%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for Garmin Edge 705 GPS with HRM and Topo GB DVD
Review 1 for Garmin Edge 705 GPS with HRM and Topo GB DVD
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ConicalFern
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Best cycling luxury I have

Posted14 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: slow to program routes
Some stuff you need for cycling, shorts, jerseys, shoes and pedals, some stuff is additional. The Edge 705 fits in this latter category; most of the things you can do with it can be achieved otherwise, albeit with more effort.
So its a luxury, but its the best luxury I have. I don't know the roads that well around where I live at the moment and I can program in routes. Mr Garmin tells me exactly where to go without a problem. This is also incredibly useful on cycling holidays. As long as your willing to put all your faith in your Garmin you can go out for a ride knowing zero of the route and be fine!
But as Garmin say, the ride isn't over when you get home as you can use Garmin Connect to analyse your ride in detail. I've set the device up so it creates a new lap each km so I can look at my performance over time and over different topographies.
You can also easily upload your data to third party websites, namely Strava, which as anyone that uses it knows it wholly awesome.
You can customise your two bike computer screens as much as you like, having 1-8 data fields. You can also customise whether when looking at the map you see information, such as speed+average speed at the same time.
I could go on and on about the positives of this device, but there are also some negatives.
Some times the altitude seems a bit off, e.g. it says I'm below sea level when I'm pretty sure I'm not.
Depending on the maps (I have European City Navigator NT) it take a LONG time to program in a route - I'm talking up to 40 minutes for 50 miles. This occurs when you select a route to navigate, you get a loading screen which lasts for about 40 mins. This problem is partially solved by programming the route the night before, as when you turn off the device, it still remembers the route the next day. Problems occur if for what ever reason you need to program a different route and you can be waiting for some time in your porch waiting to get going.
Overall the product is awesome and I would buy another one at a drop of a hat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garmin Edge 705 GPS with HRM and Topo GB DVD
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TooManyHills
from Herefordshire / Wales
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Grown up Toys

Posted13 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
This really is a toy that has so many features that it takes a while to sort out and find your favs.
As I cycle on my own most of the time The Garmin pushes you for on.
When struggling up hill it even tells my the amount of climbing done.
Absolulty would recomend it the only down side is I found the putting in routes etc from my computer hard to do- perhaps I am just to old
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garmin Edge 705 GPS with HRM and Topo GB DVD
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
petersjessie
from Marple Stockport
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Excellent

Posted30 September 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This is so good gives you lots of imformation and records all you rides so you can track were you have been share ride with others can pre program rides best extra i ahve purchased
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garmin Edge 705 GPS with HRM and Topo GB DVD
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Eastpak
from Kent
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Forget if you bike offroad

Posted09 August 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Expensive, not up to the promised function
Great tool if you bike on the roads. If you go offroad, it's only a bike computer but forget the GPS guidance. It constantly navigates you back to the streets when entering waypoints on a trail. I've additionally installed and purchased Topo 1:50'000 maps. I enter the waypoints now through a 1:25'000 map but this doesn't help either as the tool doesn't guide you offroad. So in essence if you only cycle on the roads go for it, otherwise expect just an expensive GPS based bike computer
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garmin Edge 705 GPS with HRM and Topo GB DVD
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
chuckrock57
from hampshire
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

great computer - poor maps

Posted22 June 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Really like the functionality of the computer.
Garmin connect fantastic resource for record keeping, goal setting and sharing and finding routes.
Sadly the level of reliability of paths on the topo maps is poor with many not included or suddenly disappearing which makes it quite unhelpful off road. Quite a lot of detail which would make it easy to pinpoint location by comparing with (paper) OS map if really lost, but was hoping would show alternate paths when out on exploratory rides which it doesn't always do.
Would suggest saving the extra for the topo bit and buying a memory card and downloading one of the free open source mapsets that are available that are often being updated and improved (something that Garmin doesn't do for theirs)
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garmin Edge 705 GPS with HRM and Topo GB DVD
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jdsneaks
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Best purchase this year

Posted11 June 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Amazing piece of kit. Takes a while to get used to but well worth the effort. Give it a go its a well eye opening piece of kit.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garmin Edge 705 GPS with HRM and Topo GB DVD
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rsemps

Posted04 March 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I love it - easy to install on the bike and connect to the PC. Works a treat and use it every ride. Especially like the interface to Google Earth
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garmin Edge 705 GPS with HRM and Topo GB DVD
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Gordon
from Surrey
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Fantastic GPS- when it works!

Posted22 December 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: fantastic functionality, works well with garmin software
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive, unreliable
The good news - every time your unit needs replacing, the warranty period resets to another 12 months! The bad news - you need it.
I have returned 4 units to Garmin head-units and one cadence unit in 8 months. With the head-unit - it's always the built-in altimeter that packs in. They are still sorting out problems with firmware, so if you get one of these babies, keep using the Garmin firmware updater. One of the most common problems you see on web forums is the tendency of the machine to turn itself off at randomly inconvenient times even when fully charged. You have to be a whizz at XML to then stitch the XML files together from your "broken" files to get a complete record.
But when it works - it's great. It got to the point last year that I used and depended on the 705 so much that I bought a 2nd unit, so I had a chance of one working when I did the Etape du Tour in July 2009. That's expensive and unnecessary.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garmin Edge 705 GPS with HRM and Topo GB DVD
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
from Surrey Road/Tri and MTB/XC/Freeride/DH
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great unit

Posted21 December 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, comprehensive data sorurce
Upgraded for Map 60CSX topo due to lighter weight and more cycle specific. Unit is easy to use, light, looks robust though yet to test that
out in a crash. Love the functionality particularly having power and HR for road riding. Display is clear and battery life is more than adequate for all but the longest of days out. Love it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garmin Edge 705 GPS with HRM and Topo GB DVD
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
grovesy
from Coventry
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Top of the range cycle computer / GPS

Posted21 December 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
Cons: Expensive
By itself the Edge 705 is a great piece of equipment: fully-functioned, light, flexible, long lasting battery, expandable, accurate and reliable. But you really get the most out of this device when you can hook it into your computer.
Plug it in and Go. By itself, you can race, trace and navigate. Track where you've been, pace yourself against your targets, monitor your heart rate and follow a pre-planned route. The unit is extremely light and attaches like a dream in a variety of ways.
But when you connect it to your computer, this device really comes into its own. Using Garmin Connect, you can upload and share your planned rides, track where you've been, analyse average speed, top speed; measure your heart rate peaks and troughs, measure your progress. You can aso link to Garmin's Training Centre software for a more detailed view of your performance.
Garmin's published file format allows you to load up pre-planned routes you find lying around the Interweb, you can interface with mapping software for detailed planning, you can upgrade the limited Topo Maps (which is itself way more detailed than the Base Map) to include more detailed off-road routes.
And it is all so easy to use!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garmin Edge 705 GPS with HRM and Topo GB DVD
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coleymyster
from Guildford
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
  • Staff

The best accessory you could ever buy

Posted10 December 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: easy to use, so many features
Where do I start with this one!
First off all you have to do is attach a mount to your bars and off you go! No wires, sensors, changing of wheel size, just swap from bike to bike. or just put it in your pocket!
Then you can set up the information screens to show what ever you want, and how ever much information you want. to give super accurate readings you can enter rider and bike weight.
This unit will give you all the information you will ever need to know,. The usual ones such as speed, distance, time, calories burnt, heart rate. It also has current altitude and how much climbing you have done.
Then it gets really interesting. You can search for a town, road or a way point ( you can add these on the software provided) and then press 'Navigate to' and off it goes! With the Topo maps (Off road for the whole of the UK) it will ask you for road or off road route and will then map a route for you! You then get an extra screen which shows you all your left and right turnings and at what distance. Whatever screen you have it on it will flash up with the next turning in however many meters.
This is just like a car satnav but without the voices!
the Topo maps show all the roads in the UK and also contour lines, paths, rivers, fire roads. if you get lost just zoom out of the map and find a road or path!!!
Every time you ride with it it will save your route and you can then save that on your computer as a 'Route' which you can then follow again giving you directions, and a virtual partner to race against!
You can create workouts based on time, distance, speed
The options are endless.
You can also share routes on the online website 'Garmin connect'
Other features include -
Auto start/stop
Back light
Extra memory slot - Micro SD
Add extras - Power meters (Ant+), cadence sensor
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.