Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Helmet Cover

Gore Bike Wear Helmet Cover

Medium fits helmets: 54-58, Large fits helmets: 60-64
Overall rating:
4.222 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
8 out of 9(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Helmet Cover
Review 1 for Gore Bike Wear Helmet Cover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
crozza
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Cardiff

Does the job!

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Have worn it in the rain twice so far. Definitely does the job as my head is nice and dry and the rain doesn't get absorbed through. Had it in the sale so extra bonus!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gore Bike Wear Helmet Cover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SP72
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

toasty dry head

PostedApril 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I bought this for a 44km night ride where weather forecast was potential heavy rain...I'm a baldy so wanted some extra warmth.
My lighter summer skull-cap was an option, but I trialled this cover and it keeps a very good level of heat within the helmet (at times of hard riding you actually want some air flow!) but NO rain got in which meant I was warm but dry and comfortable...
Fitting over helmet is a bit tricky but after a few trials (technique differs between my 2 helmets) it's easy. Elastication means it stay put, no movement. When not required easily pop off and stash away :)
I was going to get a thermal cap/hat but this solution means I can keep warm AND dry which can't be said for hats. A bit pricey but will last years.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gore Bike Wear Helmet Cover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
chameleojo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Waterproof and looks sleek on

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I wear this on my helmet permanently (the weather here in Glasgow is very unreliable!) and it is definitely waterproof which helps me to avoid turning up for work looking like a drowned rat!
It has reflective strips at the back and looks nice and sleek when on (I don't like the sporty style of most helmets).
Only downsides are that it does 'bunch' slightly where the elastic fits over the helmet so isn't completely flush but as its designed to fit all helmet sizes this is really to be expected, and being Gore its quite pricey but high quality nonetheless.
Overall, a quality product worth buying to keep you dry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gore Bike Wear Helmet Cover
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
thetweed

Guaranteed to Keep you dry

PostedNovember 13, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: looks like a shower cap
Cons: Poor quality, Heavy, Expensive, Unattractive, Uncomfortable, no tweed
Yes a very robust piece of equipment that is guaranteed to keep your head dry, however it is not tweed and at such an outrageous price i feel a shower cap would be a much better option! 1 star product. The shower cap i stole from a hotel last week is much better!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gore Bike Wear Helmet Cover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hmpoliveira
from Lisbon
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

The best helmet cover

PostedFebruary 24, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
This is a great helmet cover. Super waterproof, warms up your head and you can just fold it and have on a pocket always with you!!
Careful with the size you get!! It is a very tight fitting.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gore Bike Wear Helmet Cover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pinchflats
from Wilds of Northumberland
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good hardwearing cover.

PostedDecember 20, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
A helmet cover is a must if you commute in all weathers. You can get cheaper and lighter ones which are perfectly good, but this is the most robust I have come across. Easy to put on and take off, keeps your head warm in winter as well as dry. As others have said, make sure you choose the right size.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gore Bike Wear Helmet Cover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sabes
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Great for wet days.

PostedDecember 18, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: Expensive
I commute to work. The helmet cover is great for arriving at work on a wet day with dry hair. Only problem is that mine's a bit big for the helmet and the elastic pushes in to far. Try to ensure you get the smallest size that fits your helmet.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gore Bike Wear Helmet Cover
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EasyRider
from Stockport
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female

Great Purchase

PostedDecember 11, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I bought Gore helmet covers for my husband and I prior to our first ever cycling holiday abroad last August as I knew that we were likely to be riding in the rain at some point during the holiday. At home we tend to be fair weather riders but on a cycling holiday you have to push on regardless of the weather. We had all the usual wet weather gear and the helmet covers were a last minute purchase as a bit of an afterthought. Sure enough we had very heavy rain in the first two days of cycling and we were so pleased that we had bought the helmet covers as they really did provide excellent protection from both wind and rain. They are lightweight, the outside edge is elasticated so they fit easily over the helmet with a bit of stretching, and once secured they don't come off until you take them off. Our helmets are medium size but the large size helmet cover gives a good fit. When we parked up the bikes and took our helmets off to go for a walk, still in the pouring rain, I even wore my helmet cover as a beret, Frank Spencer style. So there you are, two uses for the price of one!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gore Bike Wear Helmet Cover
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
adam
from Europe
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Good for Touring

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: not reflective enough
Good for keeping your head dry while allowing your body heat to dissipate so you don't overheat. If your helmet has a removable peak, you'd need to take it off. A bigger size might fit over a fixed peak. If you wear glasses it doesn't protect your lenses. Mind you, a peaked cap isn't much better. It would be good in a flourescent or bright colour and with more reflective areas. It makes your helmet look like a huge bean!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.