Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Endura MT500 MTB Overshoes

Endura MT500 MTB Overshoes

Overall rating:
3.895 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(268 reviews) 268
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 268 reviews
5 Stars
96
4 Stars
105
3 Stars
33
2 Stars
11
1 Star
23
217 out of 268Would you recommend this product to a friend?81%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
24 Questions | 147 Answers
Customer reviews for Endura MT500 MTB Overshoes
Review 1 for Endura MT500 MTB Overshoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from Germany
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic kit

Posted21 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I was looking for a overshoe to keep my feet warm and dry in the winter months while ride the Harz Mountain in Germany. The Endura MT500 MTB Overshoes have brought this to me. They do what they say on the tin. Thanks Evans Cycle for a great product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Endura MT500 MTB Overshoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

great value for money

Posted14 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Brought these to stop arriving at my destination with sopping wet and freezing cold feet....and they certainly stop that. Can't really compare to other similar products as these are the only pair I've ever tried. Bought in the sale as were cheap (much reduced from rrp) but not disappointed. Have used on three hour rides from central london to home over road and off road environs in rainy conditions and feet were dry....if a slight bit cold...so highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Endura MT500 MTB Overshoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent

Posted14 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Great overshoes rugged and sturdy very much up to the job in the mud and rain and very warm, great price and fast delivery. Top banana thumbs up from me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Endura MT500 MTB Overshoes
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Look good but I'll need at least one size bigger

Posted14 February 2016
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: too small
I will give a more detailed review if and when I can get a pair big enough to fit over my shoes. The Large size (9-10.5) are ridiculously small for my size 10 MTB shoes and I'd struggle to get them over my size 9 skimpy leather race shoes. I can get my bare feet in but they are too narrow and too short for shoes.
However good they are; if they don't fit and won't fit they are useless. Pity because they seem well made.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Endura MT500 MTB Overshoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Not a bad Winter Boot

Posted12 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought XXL to go over MTB shoes (Specialized Comp Size 46). Quite a tight fit, but not really any more so than other overshoes, except these are made from a quite thick neoprene. the sole is encased and open at the heel and cleat for obvious reasons. The zip is pretty good, quite robust, it does slide all the way to the very bottom when you pull the boots on and you have to fiddle with it to fasten it up. I've done quite a few rides with them through the January cold and wet and have found them very good. Feet stay generally warm and I have only felt the wet once when a large/deep puddle of water found its way through the seams. Only once I have had a problem with them, had to "hike a bike" up a difficult and muddy incline, the toes of the boots slid up over the front of my shoes and I had to stretch them back over! Maybe this would happen to most over shoes. Still, very happy with these overshoes and would buy again when they wore out. TIP -Make sure the toes are pulled up to the ends of your shoes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Endura MT500 MTB Overshoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Exactly as described

Posted11 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Unattractive
Size was spot on, for a start. Can see why people who reported stitching trouble might have had trouble since one has to pull and struggle a little to get them on, but (1) mine are still new - so OK and (2) I read the "beware stitching" reviews so have been careful with them in that regard ... I think kinda turning them inside out down to the toe and rolling them on helps
Have been in a serious Scottish rainstorm in them and sure some water gets in but its another world compared to what it was like before (with gortex socks under normal cycle shoes). And snug and warm - so snug and warm!
I've been taking mine off and then walking, if I have more than yards to walk, since I figure that will help their lifetime
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Endura MT500 MTB Overshoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Very good not 100% waterproof. A knack to fitting.

Posted11 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Cons: Unattractive
These overshoes are generally very good and probably the best option for staying dry in the current lousy winter. They are not 100% waterproof especially around the elasticated ankles but they do keep your feet warmer than they would otherwise be. You need to have a realistic expectation of any mountain bike overshoes used in extreme conditions. They are a defence not a total solution.
NEGATIVES
The only negatives are:
- That the stitching underneath around the cleats has already started to appear damaged and come undone after only two rides. This is not a great wear rate. The version II overshoes have Kevlar stitching so maybe this is a known issue.
- Having the zip at the back of the ankle increasing the weatherproofing but means you cannot adjust the shoe straps with them on - you have to unzip and almost remove the overshoe. Its a trade-off.
- Overshoes are physically bigger than the existing boot on pedals - mine kept catching the cranks and squeaking so I had to move the cleat / boot positions which caused other knee issues. Your use may vary. Tape your cranks and adjust as needed.
- Friends tell me they look like scuba diving boots but I don't care as they work for me! I also bought them in the sale for a great price - probably wouldn't have paid full price for them. Version IIs are probably worth it.
SIZING AND FITTING:
Other reviews complain about size and fitting. I have size 11 feet and use Northwave Arctic winter boots which are great but not waterproof. The Large fits these OK - although it is a tight fit. It is meant to be tight - the tighter the fit the better these seem to work. If you fit them right they shouldn't rip. I found the following worked.
- Leave them fitted on the shoes for as long as possible in warm conditions before using for the first time - it helps them stretch to the shoe. I left mine on for two days. Leave on the shoe after use if using in drier conditions.
- Pull the toe of the shoe as close and tight as possible around the toe and shape it first - it should be a round shape not pointy - if pointy they are not fitted right - remove and start again.
- Adjust the straps and fitting of the shoe as much as possible before pulling on the shoe. Make sure the soles are clear of the cleat area to avoid increased wear.
- Stand up and pull the heel as far over and up the heel of the shoe as possible. Ensure the zips are straight, elongated and close together as much as possible when fitting as this stops the zip puller and tab breaking off. I think the version II overshoes fix this.
Enjoy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Endura MT500 MTB Overshoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Bomb proof

Posted10 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Great bombproof overshoe that I bought to replace a substandard pair that fell to pieces in a couple of months. The rubber toe piece is particularly good as the front 'studs' of my shimano shoes wore through the neoprene of the sub standard ones.
Great price for the 'old' design too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Endura MT500 MTB Overshoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Do what they're meant to do !

Posted08 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Very good value and well made - suggest you get a big size as they are quite tight to start with, I stretched them over my shoes for a few days and let them on them before use, seemed to work. So far have done the job required, only time and crud will tell !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Endura MT500 MTB Overshoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Overshoes warmth

Posted05 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
These overshoes are very effective and warm. So far the zips and Velcro are holding, unlike their predecessors
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Endura MT500 MTB Overshoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent product

Posted04 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
I suffer a lot with cold feet and these are just what I needed can't fault in any way
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Endura MT500 MTB Overshoes
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

damp conditions yes V. wet no

Posted02 February 2016
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
can handle the basic damp road after some rainfall, but heavy rainfall and big puddles your still getting saturated feet, was expecting more.
kept feet warm though on slightly cooler mornings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Endura MT500 MTB Overshoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Much better than expected

Posted01 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
These overshoes do exactly what they say on the tin. I expected them to keep my feet dry when riding through standing water and to help a little in the rain. The first time I used them was in heavy rain though and when I got home my feet were bone dry. Excellent product as always with endura.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Endura MT500 MTB Overshoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Woking

Warm and good fit.

Posted27 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Haven't tested them in the wet yet, but in the recent freeze we had (-4), they kept my toes nice and toasty. Sizing seemed spot on and they're much easier to get on and off than I anticipated.
Have only done a few hundred (road) miles in them so far, but there is no sign of the stitching going yet, although I have noticed that the velcro tab which keeps the zip in place is getting a bit loose and am not sure how much longer it will last.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Endura MT500 MTB Overshoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
It was bought:Notting Hill

Posted24 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Good item for both wind and rain. It might be destroyed if your pedals have teeth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Endura MT500 MTB Overshoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant product

Posted22 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
These overshoes are absolutely brilliant,i have always had problems with cold feet but not anymore. They fit snugly on my shoes,i am 10.5 and got 10.5, as soon as you put them on you can feel warmth instantly. Brilliant and well worth the money,also i had exceptional service from Evans cycles,very quick delivery. Thankyou.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Endura MT500 MTB Overshoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Over shoe with rubber toe

Posted21 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I bought these to replace a worn out pair of similar over shoes. I like the idea of the rubber toe cap to help with protection. Keeps my feet dry and warm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Endura MT500 MTB Overshoes
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Too small on sizing

Posted21 January 2016
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: poor sizing
I bought the XL which on sizing chart should fit up to 11.5 as I recall. I have size 11 /47 cm shoes and the XL would not go on at all. In fact the XL are only a little over size but still usable on my girlfriends size 6 shoes. The construction looks robust enough but due to not fitting unable to trial. Not bothered to exchange as it would seem even XXL would not fit my average size shoes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Endura MT500 MTB Overshoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted20 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Sizing was an issue, had to return and order next size up.
Overall very happy with them, didn't want the expense of purchasing winter shoes and they kept my feet warm and dry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Endura MT500 MTB Overshoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted17 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
This is my second pair as the zip brokeon my original ones after two years of use.Easy to put on (mine are over Mavic SPDs with a fairly deep sole). Keeps out the worst of the cold and wet. The sizes come rather small, large was perfect for my size 8.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>