Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Stems or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Ritchey Adjustable MTB Stem

Ritchey Adjustable MTB Stem

Overall rating:
4.222 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 9Would you recommend this product to a friend?89%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for Ritchey Adjustable MTB Stem
Review 1 for Ritchey Adjustable MTB Stem
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Gives a bit of extra height.

Posted23 March 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I Bought this for my Tern Joe as the handle bars were a little low, It does the job but is a bit fiddely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ritchey Adjustable MTB Stem
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

upright riding position made easy.

Posted19 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Great if you want to make your mountain bike more comfortable by being able to sit more upright by simply adjusting the position of the stem/bars.
Upon fitting it I immediately felt more comfortable.
For the money the build is relatively chunky alloy which in turn makes for a reasonably sturdy product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ritchey Adjustable MTB Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit

Posted03 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Really easy to replace and setup, great product arrived quickly too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ritchey Adjustable MTB Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Mountain Biking
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Posted12 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
I brought this adjustable stem to help raise the bars, as my riding position was hurting my neck. It was very easy to fit and offers a lot of adjustment. It is well made and finished.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ritchey Adjustable MTB Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good solid product, as expected from Ritchey

Posted11 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
this is good solid product, as expected from Ritchey.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ritchey Adjustable MTB Stem
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A fiddly but solid stem

Posted06 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: solid
Cons: fiddly
Firstly, this adjustable stem does exactly what it's supposed to. But it's a bit fiddly and isn't the 5 minute job that other reviewers have suggested. I'd say 30 mins (although I am a complete novice). There are no instructions included with the part. Firstly you will need to take the stem to pieces. In order to do this undo the screw in the middle of the stem until it is almost out and then push on the screw to prise the two pieces apart (there is a tightly fitting cog system inside so you'll have to exert a bit of force here). You'll have to gauge the final position of your handlebar, before attaching the stem on the bike, as the only way to adjust the angle of the stem is to take the whole thing to pieces again - which is a pain! Once the stem is on, it feels solid and i've been much happier with my more upright and comfortable riding position!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ritchey Adjustable MTB Stem
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

tough going stem

Posted01 April 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
i have used these for my touring bike.
it seems pretty indestructable. very solid build - no problems so far!!
in order to adjust the angle of the stem takes 5 minutes but once you have it right it will never move!!
you have to tighten the bolt controlling the angle as tight as possible but this is not an issue - total confidence with this product!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ritchey Adjustable MTB Stem
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
from Yorkshire
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

dialled in fit

Posted04 June 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I'm no expert rider but wanted to dial in the fit on my road bike. Although this componenet is designed for off road use it is light enough to put on my road bike without it being a compromise and allowed me to get exactly the riding position that I was after. Knowing that it would be secure even though I put alot of pressure on as a 'larger than average' specimen is an added bonus. As ever the Evans service was top notch with quick delivery etc as you would expect...
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ritchey Adjustable MTB Stem
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
from Surrey Hills
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Does what it says.

Posted10 December 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
It's a stem. It's adjustable. Does what it says on the tin. It is a slight nuisance that you have to completely undo it to adjust it, but that makes it safer - you don't want it suddenly adjusting itself on a highspeed downhill - and once you have it set right you don't need to keep changing it anyway.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.