Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Stems or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Ritchey Adjustable Oversize Stem

Ritchey Adjustable Oversize Stem

Overall rating:
4.2 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
13 out of 15(87%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for Ritchey Adjustable Oversize Stem
Review 1 for Ritchey Adjustable Oversize Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
midgetgem
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

New stem

Posted03 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
This was for my partners bike actually. She'd be having trouble getting comfy on the bike and almost at the stage of not wanting to go out on it. we rode to Evans in Leeds city centre and just made enquires about what could be done to improve things. Can't remember the guys name but he was great. Had a chat with him, and we decided to go for this product so it could still be altered if needed to be. He fitted it for us, even replaced the bolts supplied with it and made sure it fitted her ok. We must have been in there a good 30 mins but it was no trouble to him.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ritchey Adjustable Oversize Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HomemadeMTB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product

Posted17 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, strong
Light, well made, strong.
Took a little while to set it up, because of the great scope of adjustment.
1 tip for those not used to an adjustable stem - do the bolts really, really tight!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ritchey Adjustable Oversize Stem
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
zakkra
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

Did the trick

Posted27 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Fitted my mountain bike nicely. Eased back strain. A lot heavier than the original stem it replaced.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ritchey Adjustable Oversize Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Phil51
from England
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Excellent product

Posted13 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: strip to adjust
Bought this product as I was leaning to far forward on my Cube MTB. Since fitting the adjustable stem and getting it set at the right position I have found it great. One let down is you have to strip it to adjust it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ritchey Adjustable Oversize Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dg83
from India
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Made my bicycle perfect :)

Posted03 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
While I had to buy an 18.5" Trek 6000 for the the crotch clearance, i always felt that the stock stem (7 degree) forced me to be too crouched. I did not want an adjustable stem for my mtb and this was the next best alternative to my stock stem. Installation was super easy and the 30 degree rise took care of my concern.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ritchey Adjustable Oversize Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
soulrebel
from LIVERPOOL, UK
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Expensive, but a great piece of kit, well worth it

Posted29 December 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, quality materials, not too heavy, adjustable
Cons: Expensive
I bought the Ritchey Adjustable Oversize Stem, 100mm version, (119850-100-BLK), as a good comprise, and it feels just about right. The 80mm version, by all accounts, seems too short and I felt the 120mm might be a bit too long and/or too high for what I wanted, but it might suit you.
To fit this stem you have to take it apart completely, as previously mention in the other reviews, because it uses a splined shaft design and locks in place. Decide on your height and then just tighten up the large centre bolt. It's very well made and uses good quality materials.
I noticed when fitting it that you must tighten the front single bolt first and make sure the splined shaft is locked in place; then tighten the two smaller back bolts. I tightened up the back first which is a mistake and is not mentioned in the manual. If you do this, then you can't tighten the front bolt up properly and the shaft will be loose and you might not notice. If you then use your bike you could strip the spline and completely knacker your nice new expensive stem! Check the stem before you ride after fitting it, there should be no play in it whatsoever.
I haven't raised the stem to it's full height as it brings the handle bars back a bit too much. I just guessed and backed it off a bit, it seems okay for now, but that's the great thing about it - it's adjustable!
WHY I BOUGHT IT
After 24 years of not having a bike I went out and bought a relatively expensive racer, aka, a road bike for various reasons, and also because I would mainly be on the black stuff - not many mountains or forests where I live. I soon found out though, that even after riding just a couple of miles on our rubbish roads I could really feel it, because I now have spine and various joint problems; but it was a lot worst than I thought it would be.
I had a problem and so the obvious solution was to modify the bike - the alloy drops had to go! I fitted a 660mm Carbon low riser bar (less vibration) and a good set of shock absorbing grips and bars ends plus the Shimano Rapidfire Plus lever system. This gave me a more comfortable upright riding position and the levers are easier to operate, in fact they're brilliant. In for a penny, in for a pound, I also fitted the Cushy SL suspension seat post (120564-272-NA), which is fantastic, and a Specialized Expedition Gel Saddle (EV147446-210-BLK) both from Evans - result, a lot less pain!
The bike had changed from an all out racer to what they now call a city bike, still fast but a lot more comfortable. After riding it for a while though something didn't seem quite right, the bike was very, very twitchy and a bit hard to handle sometimes. I felt I was stretched out and too far forward over the bars, and also still too low; after all it was a compact road bike and I was still using the original 110mm road stem. I flipped it over to see if that would help, it did a bit, but it only gave me 11 degrees of rise and it wasn't enough, plus I was still too far forward.
I needed to bring the bars back and up and that where the Ritchey Adjustable Oversize Stem came to the rescue. I fitted it and as soon as I got on the bike it felt great, at last I felt more comfortable and all the twitchiness had gone. It was amazing, the bike felt so different, just fitting this stem had cured all my ride problems. It had raised the height and brought the bars back, at last I felt connected to the bike and even more comfortable than before! I can't tell you how much more confident I feel riding the bike now, it was a bit hairy sometimes using the old set up.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ritchey Adjustable Oversize Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dalo
from Ennis, Clare, Ireland
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Adjustable stem

Posted21 July 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I bought this adjustable stem for my tt bike as i'm still trying to get used to the low drops so bought this little gadget to raise the drops a wee bit and lower it bit by bit as i get used to the low position, it is on the heavy side but cannot find a lighter version of a good quality stem like this one, easy to adjust you do have to take out the screw fully each time you adjust but there is no fear of this comming apart on it's own as it is well made. Reccomended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ritchey Adjustable Oversize Stem
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
KleinRider
from Birmingham
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted27 June 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
I bought the 80mm version and found it to be a bit pointless as the joint where you can adjust the angle is about half way along the stem so the angle is a bit restricted, it may work better on the longer version. I swapped it for a Specialized Comp Adjustable which is way lighter and gives me the angle I need without looking silly; also cheaper. There are no markings to tell which degree angle you have either.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ritchey Adjustable Oversize Stem
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
REASTWOODSTONE
from wakefield

wel worth buying

Posted02 January 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
couldn't get the stem fitted by anyone but I've done it myself figured since things loosen with time the perfect torque can't be overly important, so long as its not too tight & not moving. I check all the nuts regularly so I'd end up moving it at some point. lol The supposed tool you can get from ritchey doesn't have all the right sized keys so that was a waste of time buying, but the stem itself is great. Its made my riding position so much more comfortable. well worth buying. Fits my bike perfectly & is great quality. I've had it on a few months now & had no problems, so well impressed.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ritchey Adjustable Oversize Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
timpuri
from finland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

open your position

Posted31 October 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
i have tri bike with very low driving position.it cause pressure against the saddle after long ride.i change adjustable stem and lift it max 40 degree and difference was just excellent.it helps saddle pressure and also it gave more base for leg movement and it helps running start after t2.feels like having new bike.measure your reach in your bike before order the lenght of this stem.i had 60mm straight and now 80mm adjustable stem full upp and reach feel same.5 star for this produgt.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ritchey Adjustable Oversize Stem
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
farmerjon
from Cornwall
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

adjustable stem ritchey

Posted27 October 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Makes riding drops more comfortable on back. You have to fully dissassemble stem to adjust and machined matching spines quite fiddly to adjust don't know what increments adjustable to probably 5 degree. I also required 3mm head spacer as stem thinner than original.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ritchey Adjustable Oversize Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Triffid
from Perthshire
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Perfect for the job

Posted16 August 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I recently bought a touring bike with a fixed headset and being tall, have the saddle quite high. I found the drop to the handlebars uncomfortable so fitted an adjustable stem which brought the bars up to the same height as the saddle. What a difference, much more comfortable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ritchey Adjustable Oversize Stem
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
RogerD
from Chester
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Don't over tighten it

Posted14 December 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
When fitting the stem be careful. I think I overtighten it resulting in failure when riding the bike . Ther was a loud bang and the handlebar was in my hands and not on the bike. The locking bolts look to thin for the clamp.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ritchey Adjustable Oversize Stem
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Billbike
from Birmingham
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

No more neck pain!

Posted11 December 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The set up of a bike is critical. I liked the look of my new carbon road bike but couldnt get the set up right initially- the bars were too low and my position too streched out. Great for short, quick rides, but crippling over distance. After 50 miles I was getting a lot of pain in my shoulders and neck - a common problem for cyclists. Shortening the stem sorted out the shoulders but not the neck. I was actually wondering whether I would have to change the bike. So I tried the richey adjustable stem to increase the height to get a more relaxed riding position and it worked a treat. What a difference a small change in position can make! I can now ride all day without discomfort. The stem is well made and functional - I've had no problems with it.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ritchey Adjustable Oversize Stem
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
kleigh
from Surrey
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Perfect product

Posted10 December 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great, Good value
Sturdy and no give what so ever. Need to dismantle completely to change adjustment but when set to right setting is absolutely perfect.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.