Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for SRAM PC850 8 Speed Chain

SRAM PC850 8 Speed Chain

Overall rating:
4.55 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
20 out of 20(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for SRAM PC850 8 Speed Chain
Review 1 for SRAM PC850 8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MTBRick
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Good quality 8 speed chain

PostedJune 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
There are several levels of hiearchy in the SRAM chain ranges - the *50 versions represent the best value to me. This was a good price and I know based on the several SRAM chains I have used before that it will not let me down and looked after properly will last many miles before getting too stretched and having to be replaced.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SRAM PC850 8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
doozy

Easy to fit, runs smoothly and quietly.

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Fitted to a mountain bike as a replacement for a worn chain, with a new 8 speed SRAM cassette. PowerLink makes fitting (and removal) easy, though you will need a chain link extractor to shorten the chain. Fitted two weeks ago and used every day, it runs smoothly and quietly. A good product at a good price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SRAM PC850 8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
vijinho
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to setup

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Easy to remove links and to join/separate the links.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SRAM PC850 8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bu5ter
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good replacement and slight upgrade

PostedMay 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Overall this is a god chain and the powerlink makes it easy for someone to fit it from new. Splitting a powerlink after its been fitted though is harder than most people think and not something you would want to try and do out with cold hands.
We did actually have an issue with the first chain as one of the links was very stiff and couldn't be loosened no matter how many times the pin was removed and refitted. Replacement was fine though and once fitted this thing shifts as smooth as butter!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SRAM PC850 8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
punctured
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great chain

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This a very good inexpensive chain. It comes complete with a power link. A chain splitter is required to cut the chain to the correct length for fitting. The power link makes it easy to remove the chain, no tools required .Ideal when cleaning the rear cassette. Keep the chain clean and lubricated and it will give good service. This is the only chain I use on my commuter bike..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SRAM PC850 8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Geech
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality chain

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Good quality chain at very reasonable price.
Bought to replace rusty chain one of my old mountain bikes.
Simple to join ends of chain together with the link provided.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SRAM PC850 8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Slymoy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Smooth gear changes

PostedJune 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
This chain is really easy to fit and I've used this on a couple of my bikes and if they are regularly maintained then they last a bit longer. Bought through price match which sealed the deal for me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SRAM PC850 8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PolarSea
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Does what it is supposed to

PostedMay 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I like the ease of use. The quick link doesn't need the chain breaking tool and is easy to connect or disconnect, as needed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SRAM PC850 8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tripod16
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Notting Hill

Good Little Replacement

PostedMay 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Goes well with my new cassette and does the job as needed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SRAM PC850 8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stanno
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMay 29, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Very easy to fit and very smooth operation. this is the second time I have purchased this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SRAM PC850 8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
atomised
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

chain

PostedNovember 4, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
The chain i purchased was of excellent quality and the service was first rate.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SRAM PC850 8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dailyrider
from Hampshire
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Great quality chain

PostedSeptember 1, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Having used different brands over the years, and this year used another shop-bought unknown brand which just didn't last. I am sticking with what I know works and lasts.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SRAM PC850 8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Safmeister
from Aylesbury
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Good basic chain

PostedAugust 15, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
It is a good basic 8 speed chain. Works well changing gear. The power link is great making it easy to fit or remove for cleaning. It's also really useful if you are unlucky enough to have a chain break. Buy a couple of spare power links and a chain breaker and you will be back on the road in minutes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SRAM PC850 8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tones
from Glasgow
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good Purchase

PostedJuly 19, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I was recommended this product by a friend and it has saved me so much time changing punctures, unhook the powerlink ,off with the wheel and the puncture is done and dusted in no time at all without having to worry about possibly snapping your back derailer
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SRAM PC850 8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
scoob
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedJuly 18, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I have used two of these now one on tt bike and has not let me down and the other on a hybrid coupled with sram 8 speed cassette and is better now than when new and so easy to fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SRAM PC850 8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Garfish
from London
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great product

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Very easy to fit with the tool-free link. Little to compare it with as it was the first replacement but seems to be a really good product at a reasonable price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SRAM PC850 8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LiveToRide
from Portsmouth
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great buy

PostedJune 5, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great, Good value, Good quality
I use my bike for everything. Road cycling, mountain biking, dirt jump, street and park. The chain has held up against it all. Really easy to take off and on and extreamly durable, its been on my Diamond back for 4 months and still looks new.
Very very good value for money chain.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SRAM PC850 8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
chickenstu
from Cumbria
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good chain good price

PostedApril 5, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I don't feel qualified to compare the relative merits of chains, but anyway I have no complaints with this one it seems to be of a good quality and with the powerlink connection is easy to fit.
I use it on my commuter bike and it hasn't let me down.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SRAM PC850 8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Moncontour
from Devon
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great Value Chain

PostedMarch 1, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is a well made chain representing very good value with an easy to use joining link.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SRAM PC850 8 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yellowbiker
from West Surrey
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Budget chain

PostedDecember 11, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This chain is a reasonable quality and hard wearing.
I use this chain on my commuter bike, which is used in all weather.
I bought this chain because they are cheap, readily available, and last longer than other chains at a similar price.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.