Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Brake Pads or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Avid BB5 Disc Brake Pads

Avid BB5 Disc Brake Pads

Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
15 out of 15Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for Avid BB5 Disc Brake Pads
Review 1 for Avid BB5 Disc Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pulegium
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit

Posted09 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Very easy to fit, pop the old ones out, put the new ones in. Old ones served me for nearly 5000km, front one had less than 1mm left, though the rear ones still had 1.5mm left on them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Avid BB5 Disc Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KeithMP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted17 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Great stopping power, straight forward to install after removing wheel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Avid BB5 Disc Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Work well, good price

Posted22 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Never had disc brakes but these work well and seem well priced
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Avid BB5 Disc Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PaulJS
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

they stop me!

Posted23 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
They stop me and I dont crash anymore! what more do you need?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Avid BB5 Disc Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Darlan
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great features

Posted16 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
good quality, good price, I am very pleased with this product and recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Avid BB5 Disc Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JC999
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Helps me stop!

Posted30 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Does what it says on the tin, I don't leave home with out them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Avid BB5 Disc Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JohnR32
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Can't go wrong with original

Posted28 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
They do the job as expected and exacly like the last set, easy to fit, simple
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Avid BB5 Disc Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rael
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works fine

Posted12 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pads worked superbly over weekend while riding Pru Ride London through the tail of Hurricane Bertha. Wet weather is clearly no problem :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Avid BB5 Disc Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
YellowMe
Country:Finland

Good pads

Posted11 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
No surpires, when replacing original pads with identical pads.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Avid BB5 Disc Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
gcee
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

Posted08 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Works fine and quite easy to install but doesn't last as long as rim brake blocks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Avid BB5 Disc Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dave199
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Great stopping power in the wet

Posted03 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Noticeably better performance in the wet than previous brake pads. I use a cyclocross bike for my 20-mile daily commute and since fitting these brake pads 2 months ago I haven't even had to adjust them. Top quality!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Avid BB5 Disc Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Very good product although quite expensive

Posted18 December 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Great brake pads, with great stopping power. Bit on the pricey side but worth it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Avid BB5 Disc Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rob63
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

They slow me down!

Posted14 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
In case it's not clear, take the wheel out before you try and change them.
Avid BB5 cable breaks needs some tweaking for best performance, there's good Web tips to get you started (involving biz cards), though once you have the feel tweaking by hand rather than routine seems to work even better.
The pads are lasting me about 2,500mi on front when a chain last 1,500mi, you learn the value of air braking doing 1,300mi / month. The rear tends to wear a little longer despite my attempts to equalise.
They're not so expensive, that cheaper alternatives make much sense, stopping is rather important, like tyres an area where I'd rather not compromise, especially doing Winter Road miles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Avid BB5 Disc Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Michael41a
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Genuine is best

Posted14 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Have tried some cheaper pads and they have fallen short, I decided to pay the extra for the original pads and I'm glad I did. I suggest you do the same!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Avid BB5 Disc Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChrisP1971

Excellent

Posted21 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Made the silly assumption that "brake pads were brake pads" and bought cheap replacements in the past - they were hard to fit and lasted no time at all. These, however, were easy to fit and were an instant, big improvement. Can recommend them fully for braking, but can't say if they'll last longer yet though!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.