Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Aztec V-type Insert Brake Blocks

Aztec V-type Insert Brake Blocks

Overall rating:
4.684 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
19 out of 19(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Aztec V-type Insert Brake Blocks
Review 1 for Aztec V-type Insert Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kolonel

Work perfectly but surprisingly hard to fit

PostedJune 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: awkard to fit
Nice to slide out the old and slide in the new, but actually proved to be fairly hard work as the fit is too snug. Also can't quite get the pins to align properly so they're not all the way through. But overall pretty good (and hopefully safe!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Aztec V-type Insert Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LJmtb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Service for bike

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, easy fitting
Any task is hampered by having to shop for the parts. Firstly Evans provided superb, swift service. Delivery, price and packaging was great.
These inserts are great for a swift easy brake service. Pull out the split pin. slide the old pad out, slide the new in and pop a new split pin in place - hey presto safe as 'ouses brakes...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Aztec V-type Insert Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
amaris79
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to replace

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
These are easy to replace brake pads for the Aztec brake blocks. Not the cheapest or longest wearing on the market but really easy to replace. Just try not to lose the pins..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Aztec V-type Insert Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
skirma
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good when dry

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: poor in wet conditions
They are fantastic when cycling in the dry, much much better than the rubbish ones that came with my Specialized Tricross (I actually took the bike to the shop twice to retune the brakes they were so bad). However, when in wet the traction just disappears. I have to start braking 5-10 meters in advance just to get to a point where there is any affect on speed no matter how much you squeeze the brake levers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Aztec V-type Insert Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Player13
Country:Malaysia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This is the best

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Very good quality v-brake pads and very good price too! You won't regret buying this!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Aztec V-type Insert Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:Singapore
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cheap and same performance as a XT brake pad

PostedMay 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cheap and value for money. work the same as a Xt brake pad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Aztec V-type Insert Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Arno
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Road

I recommend this product.

PostedMarch 31, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Very good brakes - easy to change & long lasting.
I commute in London everyday for work, it is the brakes that last longer o far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Aztec V-type Insert Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roystheboy
from U.K.
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Aztec V-type Insert Brake Blocks

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, interchangable
These brake blocks fitted nicely into my generic brake assembly and work very well. I am impressed by the braking ability, without any noise. The product arrive quickly as well which is always a bonus
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Aztec V-type Insert Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
andy66
from London
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value pad set

PostedSeptember 14, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
these pads are great value and seem to last very well, i use my bike to commute across London and they perform very well in all conditions.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Aztec V-type Insert Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Induraina
from Leeds to York & back
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

The best simple brakes

PostedJune 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, quick & easy fitting
Very good brakes indeed - easy to change & long lasting!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Aztec V-type Insert Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Safmeister
from Aylesbury
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Great value

PostedMay 29, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: bit tricky to fit
This are a great value option for replacing V-brake blocks. They last really well, and if you are on a touring holiday and lightweight option for spares. They are a bit fiddly to fit, getting the pin to go in can be a bit of a pain. It seems to either go in really easily or just not want to go. A narrow allen key to open up the whole a fraction can help.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Aztec V-type Insert Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jaydot
from Dundee
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Price

PostedMay 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good price paid for a pair, seem to be performing well but time will tell. Replaced original pads that came with the bike (spesh tricross sport) after 1300 miles - will comapre at the end of the season...so far so good! Easy to fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Aztec V-type Insert Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bonj
from shrewsbury
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Do what they should, well.

PostedDecember 16, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: easy to change, wear well, good friction
Cons: dirty to change
These cartridge blocks are perfect as they are cheap in comparison to complete block systems. there are 2 pairs in the pack and they come with replacement retaining clips so a new one can be used on each block every time they are changed.
the blocks give good friction and work well in all conditions. the braking efficiency is reduced however when the rim is wet, but they still perform well in this case.
i will continue to buy these blocks as long as i have my current bike.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Aztec V-type Insert Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Muckbeal
from Bristol
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Brilliant Value

PostedNovember 18, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
You won't ever try any other brand after you've bought these!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Aztec V-type Insert Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Johnnywhizz
from Edinburgh

Great value pads

PostedNovember 7, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I think these pads are a great idea, easily slipped on the holding case, saves any fussing about and once the initial purchase is made, pads are cheaper.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Aztec V-type Insert Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChrisW8
from London
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Awesome brake power

PostedOctober 30, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Switched over the the Aztec brake blocks a year or so ago on a recommendation. As well as being very easy to replace and saving a little on materials (eco friendly??) against a standard brake block replacement, they are really good quality. Hard wearing, good grip, awesome stopping power.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Aztec V-type Insert Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eddleston
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedApril 19, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Easy to insert and just about as good as it gets with V-brake pads!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Aztec V-type Insert Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Markoo
from London
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

brake pads

PostedMarch 23, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
easy to fit and maitain, wear down quite quickly but lasts longer if you kep the rims clean
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Aztec V-type Insert Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BigMatt1983
from Plymouth
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Aztec V Brake inserts

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Really like these pads - they're not the same as the ones I'd bought previously - these ones have little grooves in them for improved wet weather performance - I really noticed the difference. I am going to stick with these pads - also really easy to put in without adjusting any pad angles - just loosen off the brake cable, slide old ones out and new ones in, done in less than 5 mins!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.