Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Brake Pads or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Aztec V-type Cartridge System Brake Blocks

Aztec V-type Cartridge System Brake Blocks

Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
14 out of 15(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for Aztec V-type Cartridge System Brake Blocks
Review 1 for Aztec V-type Cartridge System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
hapuka
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Rathbone Place

so far so good

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
installed it over the weekend. took much longer than i thought, but then it's my first time installing new brake pads. once installed, immediately noticed the difference in braking power! only time will tell how good it is, but happy so far!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Aztec V-type Cartridge System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bodobadi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Fantastic brake pads!

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Changed both my front and back pads for Aztec V-type, improved my braking efficiency hugely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Aztec V-type Cartridge System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Commuter30
Style:Commuting
It was bought:Online

Excellent upgrade from OEM blocks

PostedMay 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, performance
I upgraded to these from the original OEM 1-piece blocks on my GT Traffic. The performance of the OEM pads tailed off pretty quickly and made a heck of a noise when worn. Not only that, but they were also really shabby in the wet.
I initially purchased a set of these a few months ago to see how they got on. The adjustment on these is different to normal V's, and also different to the ones shown in the picture - but they are just as easy to setup.
Some people report squealing, but I have had none - even after a few months use, and that's with the blocks square to the rim.
Stopping power is excellent, with the need for fine control over braking pressure. Wet performance is very good too. I once again have confidence braking downhill.
Given their performance and the future ease of maintenance, these are a no-brainer of an investment.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Aztec V-type Cartridge System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:Singapore
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cheap and better than normal brake pad

PostedMay 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great pad and its is cheap. changing the brake pad does not need anymore adjustment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Aztec V-type Cartridge System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
oldmaidstonian
from Nottingham
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works well and saves you money!

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought these to replace some one-piece brake blocks and don't know why I haven't done this before. Using these will save money in the long run as you only replace the pad inserts when they wear, and save the environment but not throwing the whole thing away every time. Win, win!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Aztec V-type Cartridge System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
brad43
from romford
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great blocks

PostedJuly 29, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
the brake pads are good and easy to fit and there`s no noise when you break and you just replace block not the hole thing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Aztec V-type Cartridge System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
DailyGrinder

Far from the best pad out there

PostedMarch 29, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, difficult to set up
I picked up a set of these having worn out my previous dual-compound pads. Sadly my experience is at odds with the other reviewers.
Setting these up has proved far more fiddly than other cartridge-based V brake pads I've used. More seriously, despite numerous adjustments they give me horrendous fork-judder under light braking.
I've had no option but to throw them out and try another brand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Aztec V-type Cartridge System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kent45
from North Kent
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brake Pads

PostedJanuary 12, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good blocks, no squel, had them on about 9months and still loads of meat left on them, when they wear out you can just replace the friction material not the whole block
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Aztec V-type Cartridge System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gnarlylondon
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good pads

PostedDecember 18, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I can't say too much about these. They don't squeak like some other cheap ones do. They are made well, look great and most importantly work well. The pads have grooves for water displacement and are slightly wider than other pads which gives it a bit more stopping power.
Allow toe-in braking which is good and fit easily and the pads have a slide out mechanism which works great and makes replacing pads easy.
Would recommend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Aztec V-type Cartridge System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Muckbeal
from Bristol
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Amazing

PostedNovember 18, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Totally impressed with these brake blocks, really easy to fit, really effective in the wet and no sweaky noises!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Aztec V-type Cartridge System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quantum
from Salisbury Plain
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

I love these brake blocks!

PostedJune 3, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These are the best brake blocks I've bought to date. They are extremely easy to position and set. Also these blocks are very, very long; which I simply love. They grip great and appear to be quite hard wearing. All in all I'm very pleased with these brake blocks and will be buying again.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Aztec V-type Cartridge System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jovial
from Birtley, Co Durham
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Smart looking & exellent stopping power

PostedMay 12, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great, Good value
I bought a pair of these for my Mountain bike as replacements for some much cheaper units, wanting something less time consuming to maintain, in the long term.
I fitted them on 28.04.2010 to the rear set of Shimano V brakes. Initial fitting & adjustment was the same as any other V brake blocks but being cartridge, when the pads wear it's them only that need replacing & seem easy enough to do.
At the same time I fitted a new rear wheel with a polished alluninium rim & a pair of cheaper blocks to the front.
On riding I expected some considerable squeal & reduced grip because of the rim surface.
How wrong was I!
Immediately when the brakes where applied the pads silently gripped the rim. In fact after the first ride I had to adjust in slightly the cheaper blocks at the front, so they felt as grippy as the AZTECS at the rear.
I have rode on them for a total of 15 hours(I dont measure in miles) & have had no problems at all. I've found these to give very effective confident inspiring braking but to date only in dry weather conditions. I will certainly be buying another pair for the front in due course.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Aztec V-type Cartridge System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
swansearanger
from Swansea
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Simply the best brake blocks I've ever fitted.

PostedMarch 23, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Since i've fitted these blocks I have renewed confidence in flying down mountain roads as these brakes work well in wet or dry conditions.
Forget the rest. These are the best.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Aztec V-type Cartridge System Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
shunsbridge
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great quality and value for money

PostedJanuary 23, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, huge!
These are huge, so the stopping power is great, and better than that you can buy four replacement pads in a pack for £8, which saves you loads in the long run. Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-only reviews for Aztec V-type Cartridge System Brake Blocks
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product