Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Altura Crochet Mitts

Altura Crochet Mitts

Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(81 reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 81 reviews
5 Stars
44
4 Stars
27
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
75 out of 81(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Crochet Mitts
Review 1 for Altura Crochet Mitts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Turboon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chalk Farm

Very Good

Posted24 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The pair I bought are well made. The whole palm is padded with a basic wadding which suits my hands. The classic look is great. These gloves are durable. Good value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Crochet Mitts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ronis
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lovely mitts, very comfortable.

Posted06 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I love the slightly retro look and feel of these Altura Crochet Mitts. And they are very comfortable in use. I wore them for the first time on a short tour I undertook during the recent spate of hot weather. The mitts proved to be very comfortable and the mesh back provided a small level of extra cooling. An excellent buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Crochet Mitts
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
ARMartin
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Does what I needed them to.

Posted30 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Mitts (tan version) bought for L'Eroica Britania ride, as I needed something that looked a bit more "vintage" than my normal gel filled lycra ones.
They coped well with 100 miles of mixed road and railway trail riding, but there is a reason modern mitts are filled with gel and sepcifically shaped padding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Crochet Mitts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pavlias
Country:Cyprus
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Classic!

Posted18 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Very nice classic look and feel. Comfortable and cool for summer use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Crochet Mitts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Crofty
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

retro chic gloves

Posted15 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Nice pair of gloves for all types of riding. I had to do some chain surgery on another bike and although the palms got a bit oily, the crochet is still nice and clean! Recommend for something a bit different to the usual mitts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Crochet Mitts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mbloke
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Retro

Posted23 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
I liked the retro look of these - they're like something my gran would have made. I also like the fact that they're not too colourful & covered with logos. They are a comfortable, snug fit with a decent bit of padding. You can get gel padding if you're worried about vibration but you'll pay quite a lot more
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Crochet Mitts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
shredhead
It was bought:Brighton

Retro-stylish and comfortable

Posted20 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I got the 'beige' colour ones for summer wear on and offroad. The padding is thicker than many of the more modern nylon gloves, the mesh backing is cool (in the true meaning of the word) and they look good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Crochet Mitts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
VeloWil
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Good value pair of gloves for summer riding

Posted12 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: slow-drying
I picked these up as a cheap pair of gloves for the daily commute. The retro styling looks great and they are quite comfortable - certainly enough for the 20-50 miles a day I do on the commute.
There are only two problems with them: the string takes a lot longer than normal racing mitts to dry out and the stitching of the padding inside isn't very neat and can rub in certain positions.
All in all, good value but if you are doing long rides, some mitts with gel padding would probably be a better buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Crochet Mitts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Wintergreen
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Classic style

Posted03 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Bought on a whim as they were reduced. They are a good fit and very comfortable, Ideal for summer as the crochet back gives plenty of ventilation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Crochet Mitts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Pingog
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The king of crocheted mitts

Posted04 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Very good quality and comfortable, albeit a little stiff at first. If you're unsure about sizes go for the larger. I usually have Large or Extra Large. I plumped for the Large in these gloves and they were too tight, so I had to exchange them. They look great too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Crochet Mitts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dlukus1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Posted24 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Bought these for my wife. Go well with her vintage bicycle and she loves them. Keep her hands warmer and comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Crochet Mitts
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
themonster
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Stylish summer mitt for low use riding

Posted17 March 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
My girlfriend bought me a pair of these in the summer and I think they lasted 3 weeks before they had gaping holes in both palms, just above the padded palm where it joins the fingers. I have kept them in case I can repair them somehow but time will tell.
I have the tan/ white mesh ones and they are a lovely looking pair of gloves and comfortable, good for summer use as they air breezes through them, and the padded palm works well too. But the quality of the material for the palm just isnt suitable....3 weeks light riding around town and they are busted already. Come Altura sort it out...otherwise you would have a great product here.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altura Crochet Mitts
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
lepaulo
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Rubbish product lasted 3 weeks then in the bin

Posted11 March 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, no durability, leaves residue on clothing and elsewhere
I purchased these mitts 3 weeks ago and they are already in the bin.
I had the white/tan versions and initially really liked them but noticed that the artificial leather palms were leaving lots of residue on my pants, the bar wrap and clothing. No effort was required
Then I noticed that the palms were starting to wear through - this was after 1 week of mild use.
2 weeks of use and significant holes appeared at the base of each thumb as well as the threading coming apart. I've uploaded a photo to show you all what I mean.
At that point I had to throw them but not before Evans very kindly and without hesitation arranged a refund for me.
Evans - 5 Stars for customer support
Altura Gloves - 0 Stars. Simply not up to scratch at all. A piece of garbage. Literally!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Altura Crochet Mitts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Windy2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

These mitts are well finished

Posted11 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Bought these retro old style mitts for my wife who tandems with me. She is allergic to some glues and Neoprene etc found in many of the later styled mitts. Comfortable, good fit and no problems so far.
A good buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Altura Crochet Mitts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LexiW
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Stylish and comfortable

Posted07 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I like these. They are comfy, fit well and look good, if you like the retro styling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Altura Crochet Mitts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jim1973
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great gloves

Posted11 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, Comfortable
I bought the white, mot only are they extremely retro and cool, but they are also v comfy, well padded to keep away the pins and needles....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Altura Crochet Mitts
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
SingleSpeedSimon
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Palms wear out in a couple of months

Posted10 August 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Cons: Poor quality, wear out quickly
Whereas the old Altura crochet mitts were really good, and lasted for ages, the new pair with synthetic palms are very thin and not reinforced in the right places. I bought a pair in spring, and they had holes in the palms within a couple of months. I can't get any response from Altura either.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Altura Crochet Mitts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LadyGresley
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Comfy and good looking

Posted13 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Purchased these for my "other half", as he's had them before and needed a new pair. He says they are comfy and good looking, just like him!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Altura Crochet Mitts
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Snavelien
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

These Gloves are RUBBISH!!!!!

Posted15 June 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
I am a regular cyclist and always like the crocheted cycling gloves. You used to be able to buy these gloves with leather palms but now they are not available. I bought these gloves at the Hendon store because they looked good and were comfortable. After just three months both palms had worn through. Why aren't they available anymore with leather palms?
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Altura Crochet Mitts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very comfortable

Posted01 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Very comfortable and if you like the crochet look these are for you. Definitely for the summer months only, I went cycling last week and my fingers froze. Not too much else to say about them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>