Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Altura Crochet Mitts

Altura Crochet Mitts

Overall rating:
4.361 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(72 reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 72 reviews
5 Stars
42
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
66 out of 72(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Crochet Mitts
Review 1 for Altura Crochet Mitts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Pingog
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The king of crocheted mitts

PostedApril 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Very good quality and comfortable, albeit a little stiff at first. If you're unsure about sizes go for the larger. I usually have Large or Extra Large. I plumped for the Large in these gloves and they were too tight, so I had to exchange them. They look great too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Crochet Mitts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dlukus1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Bought these for my wife. Go well with her vintage bicycle and she loves them. Keep her hands warmer and comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Crochet Mitts
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
themonster
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Stylish summer mitt for low use riding

PostedMarch 17, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
My girlfriend bought me a pair of these in the summer and I think they lasted 3 weeks before they had gaping holes in both palms, just above the padded palm where it joins the fingers. I have kept them in case I can repair them somehow but time will tell.
I have the tan/ white mesh ones and they are a lovely looking pair of gloves and comfortable, good for summer use as they air breezes through them, and the padded palm works well too. But the quality of the material for the palm just isnt suitable....3 weeks light riding around town and they are busted already. Come Altura sort it out...otherwise you would have a great product here.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Crochet Mitts
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
lepaulo
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Rubbish product lasted 3 weeks then in the bin

PostedMarch 11, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, no durability, leaves residue on clothing and elsewhere
I purchased these mitts 3 weeks ago and they are already in the bin.
I had the white/tan versions and initially really liked them but noticed that the artificial leather palms were leaving lots of residue on my pants, the bar wrap and clothing. No effort was required
Then I noticed that the palms were starting to wear through - this was after 1 week of mild use.
2 weeks of use and significant holes appeared at the base of each thumb as well as the threading coming apart. I've uploaded a photo to show you all what I mean.
At that point I had to throw them but not before Evans very kindly and without hesitation arranged a refund for me.
Evans - 5 Stars for customer support
Altura Gloves - 0 Stars. Simply not up to scratch at all. A piece of garbage. Literally!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Crochet Mitts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Windy2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

These mitts are well finished

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Bought these retro old style mitts for my wife who tandems with me. She is allergic to some glues and Neoprene etc found in many of the later styled mitts. Comfortable, good fit and no problems so far.
A good buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Crochet Mitts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LexiW
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Stylish and comfortable

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I like these. They are comfy, fit well and look good, if you like the retro styling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Crochet Mitts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jim1973
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great gloves

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, Comfortable
I bought the white, mot only are they extremely retro and cool, but they are also v comfy, well padded to keep away the pins and needles....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Crochet Mitts
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
SingleSpeedSimon
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Palms wear out in a couple of months

PostedAugust 10, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Cons: Poor quality, wear out quickly
Whereas the old Altura crochet mitts were really good, and lasted for ages, the new pair with synthetic palms are very thin and not reinforced in the right places. I bought a pair in spring, and they had holes in the palms within a couple of months. I can't get any response from Altura either.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Crochet Mitts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LadyGresley
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Comfy and good looking

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Purchased these for my "other half", as he's had them before and needed a new pair. He says they are comfy and good looking, just like him!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Crochet Mitts
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Snavelien
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

These Gloves are RUBBISH!!!!!

PostedJune 15, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
I am a regular cyclist and always like the crocheted cycling gloves. You used to be able to buy these gloves with leather palms but now they are not available. I bought these gloves at the Hendon store because they looked good and were comfortable. After just three months both palms had worn through. Why aren't they available anymore with leather palms?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Crochet Mitts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very comfortable

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Very comfortable and if you like the crochet look these are for you. Definitely for the summer months only, I went cycling last week and my fingers froze. Not too much else to say about them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Crochet Mitts
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ratbike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

No substitute for the real thing

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, weak synthetic materials
These look retro and fit well, but synthetic leather is just some other kind of cloth. Maybe I grip the bars too hard, but the palms on mine shredded really quick. Bontrager do a really nice mitt with a leather palm now!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altura Crochet Mitts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
al80
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good basic gloves

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
These are good basic gloves to protect your hands while you ride. I like the mesh that dissipates heat. Were a little small at first, I purchased a large but stretched to a comfortable size after a week of wearing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Altura Crochet Mitts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nadia
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

not just for boys

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great, cute
I didn't realise I needed mitts until I got these last week - they definitely take the edge off the South London pothole-judder.
It's the look that had me sold though, straight away - I'm not into coloured lycra so it's good to see something a little old school. I can't believe they're 'men only' but it's just as well a men's size small fits fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Altura Crochet Mitts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
donaldo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

perfect gloves

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The quality and comfort of these gloves is first class and they are retro cool great for summer with up to date materials.Also the guys at Kingston and Wandsworth deserve Gold Medals for their quality and passion for the job and goods they sell
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Altura Crochet Mitts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
rgw1500
Country:Singapore
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

I find them comfortable and fit easily

PostedMay 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have purchased a few pairs fo these and find them great, easy to slip on or off and good for the hot humid weather in Spore. My wife now has a pair and just loved them the first time she put them on. I guess I shall ahve to buy more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Altura Crochet Mitts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JM85
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMay 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Durable and comfortable mitts. Love the retro look, which was a big selling point for me. Very nice padding all over the palm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Altura Crochet Mitts
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Miks
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Comfortable and stylish

PostedApril 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Love the retro style of these. Only problem is they get dirty easily but with the light colour that's to be expected.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Altura Crochet Mitts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wazzup
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought them on sale. Like much the design and quality of this mitts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Altura Crochet Mitts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Slymoy
from Middlesex
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good mitts

PostedNovember 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
A good set of mitts for spring / summer and I get comments because of the retro look. I'm not sure how long they will last be they do provide more comfort and padding when you are on a road bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>