Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Universal Windstopper Soft Shell Helmet Cap

Gore Bike Wear Universal Windstopper Soft Shell Helmet Cap

Overall rating:
4.714 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(119 reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 119 reviews
5 Stars
87
4 Stars
30
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
117 out of 119Would you recommend this product to a friend?98%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Universal Windstopper Soft Shell Helmet Cap
Review 1 for Gore Bike Wear Universal Windstopper Soft Shell Helmet Cap
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Helicopter
from United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Effective at keeping out the cold and wind

Posted21 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
It fits well under my helmet and did the job when I was out on my bike on a cold, January ride. Definitely worth buying!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gore Bike Wear Universal Windstopper Soft Shell Helmet Cap
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RLX4b
from Gatesheade, England
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Posted18 December 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
A light reliable hat that really does the job. It has replaced several previous versions in one complete sweep. I am really looking forward to using it when the cold really kicks in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gore Bike Wear Universal Windstopper Soft Shell Helmet Cap
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Donny
from Bristol
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Purchase

Posted01 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Wear eveyday on my commute. Always arrive with head and ears nice and warm. A must have for those cold mornings.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gore Bike Wear Universal Windstopper Soft Shell Helmet Cap
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DickyP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Winter beanie for those with a large head

Posted11 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
I have a pretty massive cranium and it is hard to find a cycling hat / beanie / helmet that fits
This one fits me well; keeps all the drafts out; and is comfortable to wear.
Recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gore Bike Wear Universal Windstopper Soft Shell Helmet Cap
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Toffee
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Keeps you warm - just don't expect to look cool!

Posted13 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
I agree with many of the other comments on this - in terms of function it's excellent, fits close and stays put under a helmet and does a brilliant job of keeping the wind and cold out. It does muffle sound slightly but I didn't find this a problem as I use it on my commute to work without any trouble.
Just don't imagine you can pull off style whilst wearing it - you can't. Though that's probably not helped by the fact that they only had the fluoro version in stock in my size when I ordered it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gore Bike Wear Universal Windstopper Soft Shell Helmet Cap
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
IchoTower
Country:Jersey
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice warm head

Posted07 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
It was recommended to buy a hat for under the helmet and this does the job, keeping head and ears nice and warm.
A must have for the winter commutes
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gore Bike Wear Universal Windstopper Soft Shell Helmet Cap
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
divewithgeorge
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice, but bit noisy

Posted04 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
Comfortable, not too hot, but you get a lot of wind noise from it making a vortex around your ears, better with ear plugs. If they joined this with the facemask that would be just about the perfect thing. Gore is always overpriced, but it is usually nice stuff.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gore Bike Wear Universal Windstopper Soft Shell Helmet Cap
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Guille71
Country:Spain
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

By Far the best skull cap

Posted22 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have worn this cap in temperatures as cold as -5 and it keeps my ears and head warm. It clearly blocks out the wind and is one of those caps that you don't even realise you're wearing. I wear a M 54-58 and it is one of my favourite garments as its not changed shape, texture or quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gore Bike Wear Universal Windstopper Soft Shell Helmet Cap
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sepp
It was bought:Kendal

Great Hat

Posted18 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, warm
The cap was a good fit and was a lot warmer than I had thought it would be. Its thin enough to fit under my helmet without being tight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gore Bike Wear Universal Windstopper Soft Shell Helmet Cap
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Diddyfunk
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Good Hat for Cold Weather

Posted17 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Good hat for the cold
Comes up a little big but does the job fine
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gore Bike Wear Universal Windstopper Soft Shell Helmet Cap
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boyce007
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent

Posted16 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Lightweight and thin but extremely warm, well shaped to also cover ears. Been out twice around freezing with no worries.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gore Bike Wear Universal Windstopper Soft Shell Helmet Cap
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
123elyboy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Keeps your head warm

Posted16 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Very lightweight and great value for money. very friendly staff to help with choice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gore Bike Wear Universal Windstopper Soft Shell Helmet Cap
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PhunkyPhil
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great cap

Posted16 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I like the cap as it fits much better than my previous hat with no bunching of the fabric.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gore Bike Wear Universal Windstopper Soft Shell Helmet Cap
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
mikejs13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Warm and comfortable

Posted15 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Covers the ears nicely, great for winter riding.
Bought from Norwich - still not been added to the drop-down list!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gore Bike Wear Universal Windstopper Soft Shell Helmet Cap
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Cj364
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Woking

Perfectly suited to the job

Posted10 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
This fits easily under a helmet and stops any wind chill without causing overheating. It is light and comfortable and meets all of my expectations. I would recommend this to anyone as an essential for winter riding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gore Bike Wear Universal Windstopper Soft Shell Helmet Cap
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Undertaker
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Effective but a little expensive

Posted07 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, effective
Cons: Expensive, Unattractive
This product does the job - keeps head and ears warm - but it is a little on the expensive side and it does not look very flattering!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gore Bike Wear Universal Windstopper Soft Shell Helmet Cap
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Theshepmeister
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Good fit and keeps the head warm

Posted01 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Good fit and keeps the head warm. Lightweight too, so doesn't feel too cumbersome.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gore Bike Wear Universal Windstopper Soft Shell Helmet Cap
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
WhoAmIToday
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Keeps cold wind from head and ears

Posted21 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Purchased S/M and it is a tiny bit large. Well made and good build quality. Keeps the cold out - need to adjust helmet to account for extra layer. Looks fine with a helmet on, not so good otherwise. Would buy again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Gore Bike Wear Universal Windstopper Soft Shell Helmet Cap
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
geddy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Just what you need to keep you going through the w

Posted29 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Keeps your head and ears nice and warm on the cold winter days just what you need to keep going.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Gore Bike Wear Universal Windstopper Soft Shell Helmet Cap
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NJP76
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Really good product

Posted23 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
This hat fits really nicely under the helmet, keeps the wind out well and keeps me warm. Only issue I have is that with my sunglasses going under the hat I do get a bit of wind noise.. I find that it cuts out all noise and rattles from the the bike and road but I can still hear what's going on around which is good and safe. It's pricey but well worth it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>