Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Jackets or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Paclite Universal Hood

Gore Bike Wear Paclite Universal Hood

Overall rating:
4.111 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 9(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Paclite Universal Hood
Review 1 for Gore Bike Wear Paclite Universal Hood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Elecam
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Easy to attach to the gore jacket, fits under my bike helmet comfortably. Keeps you dry and warm but can affect your ability to hear traffic. Expensive at full price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gore Bike Wear Paclite Universal Hood
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ahmed
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

PostedApril 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Essential gear for cold and rainy weather. Good quality product but expensive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gore Bike Wear Paclite Universal Hood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Teafortwo
Country:Hong Kong
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

An exquiste and protective hood

PostedApril 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This hood is an ingenious design. The hood is attached to the jacket only at one point at the back, which allows unrestricted movements in all directions. The sides of the hood are trimmed somewhat so that my vision is not block when I turn and look behind. The velcro and the strings can be adjusted to such a point that only my face is exposed. I like the flap at the top of the hood. It re-directs rain water to the sides instead of falling on my eyes. The hood is of low volume so that my helmet can still fit in with it. It is a joy cycling in heavy rain with Gore Bike Wear's hood and gore-tex jacket on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gore Bike Wear Paclite Universal Hood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rosemary
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Edinburgh

Waterproof, but has to be fully fastened to work

PostedOctober 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I bought this as I needed a single waterproof jacket that would meet kit requirements when 'jacket with hood' is stipulated, but that I could wear as a normal bike jacket without otherwise.
I got the Gore BikeWear Active shell jacket. And this hood attaches separately.
It was great when it was on and fully closed with the velcro at the front. Warm, dry and fitted over a helmet.
With the full closure at the front left open, the hood flaps around and won't stay up. I also worry when the hood is attached but not up, that it might blow off or get caught up in something. It's just held on with a velcro flap at the centre point.
The overall price was quite high compared to the jacket. But I paid it as the jacket is great for all my bike riding and this gives me the option to use my best lightweight waterproof in races when I also need a hood.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gore Bike Wear Paclite Universal Hood
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
WaffleMax
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very pricey but complete the Gore Jacket

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Uncomfortable
I wanted to get one when I got my rain jacket, to protect my head from the heay rain during the bad days. It is separate from the jacket which is good, and as waterproof as my countdown Gore jacket, so it does the job. However there is only one poppers to secure the hood and it is on the back. Therefore the only way to wear the hood is to close hermetically the front poppers on the hood. It gets then a bit useless and hot under light rain. I ll keep it to use it only the horrible stormy days. I think the price is also very expensive, even following the Gore standard. It could be easy half the price.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gore Bike Wear Paclite Universal Hood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MTleggs
from East Midlands

Practical but expensive

PostedJune 12, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Fits the jacket well and sits as a hood well. Face is well shielded and VERY light. It's a great bit of kit. The jacket is great in rain (used, pleased), but the hood has yet to get wet. But based on the fit and quality I don't expect problems.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gore Bike Wear Paclite Universal Hood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DanielCZE

PostedFebruary 24, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
useful equipment, it´s really working. I can recomend to all...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gore Bike Wear Paclite Universal Hood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bristol
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Cant beat Goretex and Paclite in particular

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have several Paclite pieces - jacket, trousers, socks(!)
They are extremely light, waterproof, breathable and hard wearing.
Even when 'scrunched' up into a small ball in your ruck sack, they always come out as good as new.
Expensive, but in my experience you save money in the long term.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gore Bike Wear Paclite Universal Hood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jsekta
from Gizycko, Masurian Lakes, Poland
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good Purchase

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought to the jacket Cross. He fits well. The control allows to fit to the head. On rainy days the perfect protection of the head. The face too strongly covers a bit, but one can somehow advise with this.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.