Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tools or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano Crank Installation Tool for FCM960

Shimano Crank Installation Tool for FCM960

Overall rating:
4.188 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
14 out of 16(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano Crank Installation Tool for FCM960
Review 1 for Shimano Crank Installation Tool for FCM960
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hansnorge
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Essential, simple, cheap

Posted12 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I was advised not to try to remove my Shimano cranks without this tool, and how true. This simple device seems essential, but makes it all oh so easy, with the rest of the job finished off with an Allen key. Just make sure you keep it safe, as it is rather small and inconspicuous.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano Crank Installation Tool for FCM960
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Antti76
Country:Finland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job, cheap

Posted16 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
If you have hollowtech cranks, or think that you one day may have, this little tool is well worth having. Cheap too, should have bought two in case one goes missing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano Crank Installation Tool for FCM960
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bobnm
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job and does it well.

Posted03 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, durable, small
I recently installed new cranks onto my bike, but it wasn't until i fitted them on that i realized that i needed this tool. I logged straight onto Evans Cycles and (obviously) found the tool straight away, available for next day delivery; another great service from Evans!
As for the product itself it does exactly what it says it does. it's strong, fits perfectly and will last forever, thanks again Shimano.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano Crank Installation Tool for FCM960
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Rustyrim
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
It was bought:Crawley

Cheap & cheerful

Posted10 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: cheap plastic
A tool that is required to preload your crank bottom bracket bearings.
Does its job, that is all I can say.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano Crank Installation Tool for FCM960
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
isabella24
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Did the job I bought it to do

Posted16 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Did the job I bought it to do - used it on my Trek Madone 4.5 to remove the crank cover.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano Crank Installation Tool for FCM960
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
eagermech
Country:Turkey
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted24 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
removes the plastıc crank end easıly good qualıty product ıt does what you need ıt to do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano Crank Installation Tool for FCM960
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
RuiK
Country:Portugal
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Only for crank screw

Posted22 February 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
This product from shimano should not exist.
Why doesn't they sell one like icetoolz that do both things? Why does some body need one tool to unscrew the crank bolt and another for BB? Why not the same tool?
Great price on Evan's, but it was disapointing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano Crank Installation Tool for FCM960
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hoppie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does exactly what it says on the tin.

Posted09 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
No problems using this tool just use a bit of rag when tightening back up just to give that extra hand grip, would have given 5 stars if it was made from aluminium/metal but then it would have been twice/three times the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano Crank Installation Tool for FCM960
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EtapeCymru
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Worthwhile

Posted08 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
For the small price, a worthwhile addition to the toolbox rather than using an improvised tool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano Crank Installation Tool for FCM960
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mattttt
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple but essential

Posted30 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
The only new tool I needed for changing a Shimano crankset. This simple piece of plastic is absolutely essential for getting the plastic plug off the old crank and onto the new. Could do with a rougher grip around the rim, but that's the only improvement I can think of.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano Crank Installation Tool for FCM960
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
toetag
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

It removes shimano crank ends...

Posted11 April 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
... and puts them back again.
Hard to get excited over this, it does what it's designed for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano Crank Installation Tool for FCM960
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Storekeeper
from Derbyshire
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted16 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, does the job
Just a simple but effective tool to remove the plastic screw in the end of Hollowtech crank arms without damaging it. You must also use it for refitting the crank arm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano Crank Installation Tool for FCM960
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pedro78
from Hampshire
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

Posted03 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Fairly unspectacular bit of kit but it does exactly what its intended to do. If the crank bolt is too tight you may have to use a set of grips on the outer flange but otherwise its a useful tool to have in your tool bag.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano Crank Installation Tool for FCM960
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Maffersman
from Tring
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Essential for chainring replacement

Posted16 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Does what it says. Use on LH crank to undo (plastic?) & remove insert after removing allen bolts. Then pull crank off and withdraw RH chainring crank complete with BB spindle. Cartridge bearings so no balls to catch. Essential for removing cranks to replace chainrings. Fits Deore LX Hollowtech 2 and presumably others too although this is difficult to find out.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano Crank Installation Tool for FCM960
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ericonabike
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

What can I say!

Posted06 September 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
It does exactly what it's intended to do! Just a shame that I later bought a bottom bracket removal tool that came complete with one of these in the handle...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano Crank Installation Tool for FCM960
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
stanleybadlegs1
from East Crete Greece
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Posted05 June 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
If you require a full Hollowtech 11 tool set buy the Icetoolz kit it is great value contain a metal version of this which plastic
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.