Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Avid 20R Brake Blocks

Avid 20R Brake Blocks

Overall rating:
4.433 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
28 out of 30(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for Avid 20R Brake Blocks
Review 1 for Avid 20R Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
billy86
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

perfect fit

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
doe the job spot on.good quality great price. staff knew what i wanted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Avid 20R Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pedalpro
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Value Brake Pads

PostedMay 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These give good feel at the brake lever and don't make an annoying squealing noise that sometimes happens with other brake pads. They also tend to last a long time. I will buy them again when new pads are needed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Avid 20R Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roy1
Country:Jersey
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Do the job at a fair price

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Perfectly adequate for the job and easy to fit and align, at a good price, too. I haven't used them in the wet yet, but they've been excellent in the dry. Also, I hadn't realised quite how bad my brakes were until I fitted them, so a very good 'investment' for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Avid 20R Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TallJohn
Country:United Kingdom

Good simple blocks

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Not too much you can say really - good simple blocks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Avid 20R Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Arnold
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value & work well

PostedJune 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Used these brake pads in the wet & dry and they work equally well in both.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Avid 20R Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WaterproofTony
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

made my life very easy

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Just had a Dahon serviced and made ready for sale on eBay . Try as they might , the buyer could find nothing to complain about :) Easy sale . Money well spent on service and brake blocks .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Avid 20R Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
randers
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the er...packet

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Easy to fit, used in the ice & snow and did the job!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Avid 20R Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
yukarr
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Notting Hill

Reliable and actually works

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Brake blocks- Reliable and long lasting
Does what it says on the packet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Avid 20R Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Andy3
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really good product, especially for the price

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great fade proof stopping power at a low cost. Not to mention the great service from Evans. Will defo use again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Avid 20R Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thorncroft
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Avid 20R Brake Blocks

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
No doubt the performance can be bettered by some or other esoteric design / compound, but these little Avids represent excellent value for money. Currently doing c.80 miles per week around the city, so need something affordable that can also be relied upon to stop me in good time.
A great product backed-up by Evans usual top-drawer service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Avid 20R Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Paul101
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Previous brake pads were better

PostedAugust 14, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Poor quality
I replaced fairly old brake pads with these ones, however I found that they lacked the quality of the ones I had before. They seemed to wear away quickly and didn't seem to have the same stopping power.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Avid 20R Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Duderino

Great service

PostedJune 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: good quick service
Purchased the brake blocks as part of the bronze service. At first I was reluctant to use a 'chain' bike shop but the difference between my expectation & experience was very pleasing. My bike was serviced in good time, ahead of when I was advised it would be ready, which was especially pleasing as I needed it done ahead of my London to Brighton bike ride.
Based on this experience I am happy to recomend the Wimbledon store.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Avid 20R Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stephen12

Simple and effective

PostedMay 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
The brakes were easy to fit and they give good stopping power. What more could you want?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Avid 20R Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nells
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

So far so good.

PostedMay 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
They seem to grip the wheel and aren't squeaky like the last set I had.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Avid 20R Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pendm92
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Squeak-free stopping

PostedMay 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These were easy to fit, though they are a bit thicker than my original blocks so I had to loosen the brake cable a bit. They stop the bike well and they don't squeak. I bought these for my rear brakes and recently bought another set for the front.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Avid 20R Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pandaking
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Work just fine, brake with no squeaking. Not sure what else to say.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Avid 20R Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TimK8
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good, value brakes

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I'm using these brakes on my town bike for commuting on a daily basis and so far they seem to be perfectly effective and reliable even when wet. They have a pleasantly small price tag and come from a reputable name so that's a plus too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Avid 20R Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
thinks1
from uk
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the tin...

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
works fine . easy to replace. Lasted reasonable amount of time
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Avid 20R Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EHC7
from Surrey
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Purchase!

PostedOctober 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
These brake pads work well, and are great value for their price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Avid 20R Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
henhouse4
from London
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent brakes

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
The blocks arrived quickly and without fuss, are easy to install and are perfect for the job, I will be purchasing again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>