Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Brake Pads or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks

Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks

Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(48 reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 48 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
47 out of 48(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Review 1 for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BLOT45
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Good value

PostedJune 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Had to call customer services to ensure I ordered the correct brake pads and they customer service rep was extremely helpful and identified the correct pads I needed. Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PGAT
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works well

PostedMay 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These work well, better than the no-name brakes I had before.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Keepongoing
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

A light set of brake blocks

PostedApril 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
In the absence of just the replacement pads I went for these. Product seems ok though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ApostlePaul
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Good braking on Mavic Open Pro Rims

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Good stopping power for the price. Would buy again as ideal for reduced wear on aluminium rims.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
acciaio
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Good until it rains

PostedMarch 25, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought these as a stop-gap (excuse the pun).
Easy to fit and work absolutely fine in the dry.
However, Swiss Stop green or Kool Stop salmon are miles better for alu rims in all conditions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
valueseeker

Great alternative for Brompton

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Fitted these as replacement for worn brake blocks on my Brompton. Excellent (and cheaper alternative bought online) quality being Shimano.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
blackdolan
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not bad

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: poor braking
It has a rubber feel to it when braking, not to say it is bad, because it is very quiet when braking. But the stopping power is just average.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Number6
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great item

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
An easy to fit and great set of brake blocks!
Would purchase them again
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sparkyn16
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert

Does just what it says on the tin

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Does just what it says on the tin. stops wheels from going round when applied
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PhutureBenedict
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Noticed an improvement in braking performance

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I replaced the blocks which came with my Jamis Ventura with these and noticed an improvement immediately. We value for money while on offer as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lukeeep
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

No complaints

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Poor quality, Heavy
Easy to install and have provided strong and smooth braking, including in wet conditions. Wear seems to be gradual - would certainly recommend for commuters in London and further afield
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
king70ny
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

reasonable stopping power, for tye money

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
For the money, these aren't a bad choice. I've got them on my winter bike and they're performing ok.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
shauny7
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

stopping power

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
very good in both wet and dry worth the extra money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grey27
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Easy to fit

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
This product was very easy to fit! The stopping ability on these pads is great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trim70
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Well worth the money!

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good quality for the price, good stopping power in the wet too, would use again
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Justin69
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

East to fit, good price

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I fitted these at home, easy enough - good price too, highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PeterL
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value and quality

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought to replace the original brake blocks on my bike. They appear to have reduced rim wear and improved brake effectiveness particularly in the wet. They are easy to fit although a washer to make them sit better in the callipers would be good.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lowrider
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality break blocks

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought these to replace the original brake blocks on my Specialised Allez. They have improved the overall power of the brakes and work well in the wet and the dry. Overall I would recommend these break blocks as they are easy to fit and good value for money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jordy90
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Clapham

Long lasting, good braking

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Brakes work well in all weather, and have lasted several hundred miles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
flogstrup

It gets the job done

PostedMay 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Efficient brake pads. When used in such a way that they are pressed against the rim of the wheel with some force, as in a brake caliper, the bring the bike to a halt. Excellent performance.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>