Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Brake Pads or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks

Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks

Overall rating:
4.29 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(62 reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 62 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
24
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
61 out of 62Would you recommend this product to a friend?98%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Review 1 for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Paid more than usual but happy with quality

Posted08 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Decided to go with shimano brakes rather than a cheaper brand this time. Seems to grip better in the wet but the real test will be time, been good with better than usual wear for a month or so already. Pricier than other brakes but good enough quality that it's probably been worth it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid product

Posted25 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Purchased these for my winter bike and they perform well. One of the challenges of a winter bike can be that if fitted with mudguards there is more debris thrown onto the rim and this causes greater wear on the blocks.
These blocks stand up to the wear and for the price they are a good purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

A1

Posted28 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Could have paid less for a cheaper pair but these are spot on and will last much longer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Breaking power!!

Posted04 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
Having had these fit by the team at St.Pauls, i've felt a lot safer on the roads with such an effective breaking system on my bike now! great stuff!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Decent Blocks, but maybe too big.

Posted19 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: difficult to fit
These are excellent replacements for any Shimano brake set. however I found they are a bit tight fitting and can rub on the rim of the wheel so I suggest you file them down or ride with the brakes on the open setting for a while to naturally wear them until they fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Standard brake blocks

Posted25 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Standard brake blocks, nothing special but they do the job if setup ok
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Excellent quality

Posted07 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
These came with the original bike and lasted around 2 500 km. Excellent braking, very sharp and efficient. Easy to install.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It was bought:Cardiff

Posted11 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
They work fine, stop my bike as long as i'm not being too lethargic in my breaking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It was bought:Crouch End

Posted04 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
They do the job! Not expensive and good quality brake pads
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Brighton

A well needed brake pads - great for these conditi

Posted06 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
A great product especially in bad weather conditions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom

Neat Break Pads

Posted14 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good pads! They fit snugly and were easy to attach.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid choice

Posted09 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I get through several pairs of these each year on my commuter bike. I keep coming back for more as they are much better than the other brands at similar price points and I've never had any with squeaks or any other problems. They don't quite have the stopping power as my top of the line Campag ones on my other bike but they are certainly good enough. Obviously they suffer in the wet but seems normal enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted26 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
An easy to fit and great set of brake blocks!
Would purchase them again
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Good Brake Pad

Posted12 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Provides a good stopping power for the price and they have a hard durable "shell". Good customer service as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Good value

Posted27 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Had to call customer services to ensure I ordered the correct brake pads and they customer service rep was extremely helpful and identified the correct pads I needed. Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works well

Posted13 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These work well, better than the no-name brakes I had before.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

A light set of brake blocks

Posted26 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
In the absence of just the replacement pads I went for these. Product seems ok though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Good braking on Mavic Open Pro Rims

Posted27 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Good stopping power for the price. Would buy again as ideal for reduced wear on aluminium rims.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Good until it rains

Posted25 March 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought these as a stop-gap (excuse the pun).
Easy to fit and work absolutely fine in the dry.
However, Swiss Stop green or Kool Stop salmon are miles better for alu rims in all conditions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano Ultegra Dual Pivot Brake Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great alternative for Brompton

Posted14 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Fitted these as replacement for worn brake blocks on my Brompton. Excellent (and cheaper alternative bought online) quality being Shimano.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>