Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano M540 SPD MTB Pedals

Shimano M540 SPD MTB Pedals

Overall rating:
4.523 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 44 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
43 out of 44(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano M540 SPD MTB Pedals
Review 1 for Shimano M540 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AndyM28
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great pedals

Posted17 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Bought these for mr Pinnacle Arkose 3 which is used for commutingand ocasional tracks and trails. Pedals give good connection with the bike to maximise performance and are great value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano M540 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
H100
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Clapham

very happy

Posted11 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I have had these on my bike for many years and bought these for my new one also as very good experience.Not failed once, smooth operation. Low maintenance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano M540 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brasso600
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Great purchase - Just right

Posted30 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, easy to use
I bought these to go with the Shimano RT82 shoes - good match.
As a first time user of clipless pedals these were a good choice. Easy to fit and setup, very adjustable, look the part and easy to lock onto when on the road. Being double sided helps loads.
They are fitted to a Scott road bike and I can see no reason why I would change anytime soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano M540 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sg77
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

reliable and strong

Posted17 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
much better than MP530, 100% effective, look like more expensive equipment
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano M540 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PSD37

Good SPD

Posted03 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Nicely made, robust and I have another set on a different bike that has been going strong for 4+ years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano M540 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MickM1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

great value

Posted31 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
great pedal easy to clip in and out at a good price. Defo reccomend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano M540 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pacerc300

Good all rounder

Posted20 December 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
If your looking for good budget spd pedals these are the boys, unlike the 520 these are machine spun axels giving a much smoother motion than the cheaper 520s. I've used these on road, mtb and hybrid bikes and work great on all, I have used xt and xtr but really struggled to see the difference for the extra price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano M540 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
McStreetShouter
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Can't fault them

Posted23 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Well made, fairly light and easy to clip in and out. Can't fault them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano M540 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Picnic
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Wimbledon

Easy Peasy

Posted31 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, easy to use
These are my first clipless pedals - they fitted them instore and helped me get used to them. Due to the kind and useful expertise of Martin in the Wimbledon store and because the pedal is dual sided I was able to confident enough to go on a ride immediately.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano M540 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FuelEX8
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Recommended

Posted15 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
First Evans purchase and first SPD pedals. I´m very happy, No problem clipping in & out, Quality build.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano M540 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cka139
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

xlnt pedals

Posted12 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I've been using these pedals on my road bike for the past year or so. They're lighter and better-looking than the M520s they're replacing (on my MTB) and work just as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano M540 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Domino101
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great pedal at a great price

Posted14 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Another quality product from Shimano, great value and works straight from the box, you even get new cleats in the box, a great buy and excellent service from Evans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano M540 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Donkeyrover
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent product at a great price

Posted26 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These are a typically robust spd pedal from Shimano
Super easy to clip in and out with double sided clips and the ability to set the tension for release to suit
I recommend them
Separate to the pedals I got them for a good price online and they arrived in two days even on standard delivery
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano M540 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WimbledonWolfie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Brilliant

Posted15 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I had used these pedals before, however on changing bikes the store I was at had run out so I ended up getting some different ones.
I was never happy with the other pedals and often found myself hunting for the clip and after they shattered on me I went right back to Shimano. Straight away I could find the clips. Very happy - these are the best
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano M540 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
IntrepidManxie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Do the job

Posted31 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
For what they are, they are great. Great for mountain bike and power transfer is perfect for hills.
Very easy to clip in and out, and a great price.
Will probably now buy some for the Roadie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano M540 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quirky
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bargain

Posted27 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought these at the sale price of £30 so a total bargain. Bought as an upgrade to the m520 and they're spot on. No spanner fitting, hex wrench only.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano M540 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
smc55
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted27 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
First pair of these types of pedals, easy to set up and use, highly recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano M540 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Degsy5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lighter design to my previous pedals

Posted15 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
They do what they say on the tin, they are good value, and not as heavy as other budget pedals that I have tried.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano M540 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Luciani
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Solid, reliable design.

Posted15 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, sturdy, reliable
The pedal is no real lightweight but maybe for the money it coudn't be. Its a solid, tried and tested design that can take the knocks. It can be frustrating that it requires a hex wrench / allan key to fit it rather than a pedal spanner but by doing so it probably saved a few grammes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano M540 SPD MTB Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Johnno888
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality gear

Posted04 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Good quality pedals at a good price. Easy to use, adjustable tension, and YES they DO come with cleats!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>