Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror

Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror

Overall rating:
4.023 / 5
4
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 44 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
41 out of 44(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer reviews for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Review 1 for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Mitso100
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Cheltenham

Good value mirror

PostedApril 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Poor quality
Now I have it fitted its great being able to see behind and wouldn't be without it.
It wouldn't fit my handlebars as it was too big so I had to use a knife and make it smaller and banged it in with a hammer.
The bit at the end of the screw which fits into the bars to tighten the fitting broke off and is poorly made, again I had to use a nut to replace it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jrc110
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent considering the price

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Bought this for my wife while buying other bits. She cycles along some narrow canal paths regularly and always feels a bit nervous when checking behind her. This is just the job and she is very happy with it. Fitted in less than 5 minutes. Slightly curved to give a bigger view area. The price is good and if it does get damaged then its not a big deal to replace.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
juliems
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

this product broke easily

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Poor quality
This mirror broke when fixing it to the bike, it was cheap and cheerful but i did expect it to attach reasonably well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Allanw
Country:New Zealand
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid compact mirror

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
My 3 and 1 year olds got hold of them before fittings, and they survived unscathed - that's saying something! They're a nice little unobtrusive mirror. May be easy to break in a fall perhaps, but they're cheap and other stuff will probably break too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gazersgazelle

Best Mirror I have used to date

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This is an excellent product and gives a great field of vision. The only draw back I would have is that when you lean your bike against a wall it puts stress on the mirror and bends and eventually breaks. It does get a little loose over time but still the best I have found to date.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
alekan
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Stand in place

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I use them every day through very rough and damaged roads, and they hold their place excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Robin2013
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Great little safety item

PostedJuly 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, extra safety
A great value must have item that fits easily on the bike which just gives you more safety when riding. You can also see quite a long way behind you. A no brainer.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jez28
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great little mirror

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This mirror is fantastic, only a fiver, very little vibration when moving, been over some fairly severe pot holes without it jumping out of place, not that it would take much effort to repostion if it did move. Excellent field of view, prefer this mirror to the next cateye model up.
As my handlebars are only 14mm internal diameter I had to mount it in the end of my bar ends, works a treat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
noheadjeff
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Had to modify it to fit

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: didn't fit my bars
The handlebar insert was too large diameter for my bars so I had to cut it off and replace it with a piece of smaller pipe. However once fitted it works just fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dangles
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Should have bought one years ago

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, useful
Cons: none
This is an excellent little mirror that I have put on my commuter/touring bike easy to fit just undo the bar end plug and screw in the mirror.
It has an adjustable arm which I have set up to be fully open when in use and can easily be rotated out of the way to park the bike without having to reset the viewing angle for the next ride. It works really well and gives a good Field of view without hardly any vibration, the only problem I have had is going down steep descents with curves the mirror can sometimes start to fold in due to wind speed, but a quick flick with the finger restores it to its correct position.
Sometimes your arm will be in the way when trying to use the mirror but its only a small inconvenience considering all benefits of having a mirror, just move your head or your arm. I also found that when I first fitted the mirror I was using it all the time but that does diminish with time and I would also still look over my shoulder before making a manoeuvre.
Other members of the club have had mirrors for ages, I wish I had bought one sooner as its nice to see cars approaching from behind to see whether they are going to give way or try to squeeze past, as I cycle mainly on country lanes I can take primary position until, I think it is safe for them to pass. I have also noticed, whether true or imaginary, that following cars tend to give me more space when passing since I have fitted the mirror, perhaps they know I'm watching them!
So definately recommended for commuting/touring, wanna be racers you shouln't even be looking hear!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
imppact
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Quality Item

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I looked at a number of bicycle mirrors before ordering this one from Evans Cycles. Installation on my handlebars (FSA Omega Compact) was straightforward...When riding the Cateye BM300G does not move or vibrate, which for a mirror in this price bracket was quite a surprise! I am so pleased with this product that I have now bought 3 more for my other bikes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Panyd
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant if not tricky to install

PostedDecember 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: difficult to install
The mirrors are great! Don't let the price fool you, they really do work. Having said that, they are made to fit EXACTLY to specification so you it's a little tricky to install them as there is no leeway.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Byko
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good performance

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
This is my second Cateye mirror purchase and benefits from being located close to the handle bar, the previous one had an elliptical mirror carried on a 9 cm. arm
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JohnAC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent confidence booster

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Not being comfortable looking over my shoulder while riding - and wearing glasses, so the frame gets in the way - I wanted a mirror that would show me what is coming up behind me in traffic and give me some confidence. This is perfect. The mirror is slightly convex (not flat, as some of the answers under the 'questions' tab suggest) so gives a slightly wider angle of view. It's apparently some form of hard plastic, not glass - I had previously bought a glass mirror from another supplier, which broke within a couple of days (admittedly I have a folding bike, and the mirror got tangled with one of the pedals when I folded it!).
I needed to trim a bit of excess flashing off the plastic mount before it would slide into the end of the (straight) handlebar. Once fitted, it was easy to tighten it sufficiently to hold it firm,while still allowing me to readjust the angle by hand when necessary.
Mustn't rely on it too much, I suppose - looking over one's shoulder sometimes in traffic is still a good idea, if only so motorists behind know you've seen them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Chris49
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good safety item

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, safety
Easy to fit; does lose its grip on the bumpiest roads, but quickly reset on the fly; use this even on my best bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dalesman7
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Wouldn't be without one now

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
5.99 to be safe? Well worth it! I fitted it to my Bianchi race bike in seconds and haven't looked back since (excuse the pun). Yes it vibrates at speed and moves when you hit a bump, but it is easily readjusted on the move. It really reassures me when out on the roads as i can see what is going to pass me and then keep well into the kerb if necessary. It weighs next to nothing, is easy to use and is worth evry penny.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
geriatric44
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Just about ok

PostedAugust 27, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Size and orientation is probably best suited to straight handlebars. The flexible joint is probably a bit too flexible to maintain alignment for very long.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1kgc
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A quality product at a fair price

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This mirror is far superior to others I have used,
which have tended to vibrate and distort ones view.
Yes there are cheaper devices available but this one is the best.
Don't waste time looking elsewhere.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SooSoo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Brilliant buy

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, easy to manouvre
Quite simply, this is the best cycle mirror on the market. After trying several other makes, and finding them useless, I was recommended Cateye mirrors by a friend who has used Cateye on all his various bikes for decades. I am now converted. I feel so safe on my town bicycle knowing what is happening behind me. I would recommend Cateye to anyone and will now be purchasing one for my hybrid bike. They certainly are the cats whiskers!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ACD4
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Adequate

PostedJune 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
The mirror is easy to fit and does an adequate job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>