Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mirrors or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror

Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror

Overall rating:
3.924 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(53 reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 53 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
46 out of 53Would you recommend this product to a friend?87%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer reviews for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Review 1 for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Roysie56
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Not tall enough

Posted01 August 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: stem not long enough
Although this mirror is easy to fit the stem is not long enough and you keep catching the mirror with your hand and have to readjust to see behind you. The viewing area is good, spoilt by this short stem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
chocoholicc
It was bought:Online

Doesn't fit my bike

Posted23 May 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
The description says it fits all bikes, it's not true. I have a Carrera Intercity folding bike and the mirror doesn't fit my bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TheStagRider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Effective, but a little on the loose side

Posted16 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: on the loose side
The mirror was easy to attach and gives a good rear view. I find it difficult to get the balance right between enabling it to fold when knocked or parking and staying rigid enough not to be shaken out of position when riding.
Good value for money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Vicky71
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:York

Large mirror

Posted08 January 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
I wouldn't buy this product again because it is too big and doesn't look good on my bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
M8sev
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

shaft too thick

Posted15 December 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
I had to adapt the fittings as the shaft was too thick to fit into my handle bar tube. Also the mirror moves about a lot when riding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
johni

Great little mirror.

Posted26 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: one size fits all
I've found it extremely useful. Initially I had a problem making the mirror fit my handlebar. Unfortunately I discovered that my bike required 15mm dia. fitting whereas the mirror was for 18mm-22mm dia. fitting. Once I had managed to adapt the mirror to fit the smaller diameter, it proved to be a great addition and added to my safety.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dunks
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great addition to any cyclist

Posted16 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, easy to adjust
I have a Trek road-bike with drop down handle bars. I took a bit of a calculated risk with this, as a few reviews stated that it wouldn't be suitable on drop bars (as elbows get in the way), but as it was cheap and I was desperate to increase my view, I went for it. I cycle holding the top bar most of the time, but even when I do drop down onto the lower bars, the view is no problem at all and I still get a prefect view of what’s behind me (maybe I have skinny elbows!). I had to tighten the screw fully to make sure the mirror stayed still as it moves a lot if not fully tighten, but once tighten and adjusted, it stays still in the correct position for most of the journey (maybe one tweak during a 6 mile journey) and it’s easy to adjust to the correct position when you get used to it. It’s still best to check over your shoulder when pulling out and not to rely solely on the mirror, but it does give you that extra bit of safety to be aware of what’s around you before starting any manoeuvre and it’s prefect for making a small manoeuvre, like dodging a pothole or overtaking a cyclist, when perhaps a full shoulder check isn’t needed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JariJ
Country:Finland
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value, simple product

Posted11 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, durable
It's a good mirror, especially for the price. Very simple to attach, although I didn't dare to tighten it any further so it would hold its position all the time. Slight adjustments after bumpy rides are easy, the mirror holds its angle quite well so it's easy to get back to the right position. Quite durable actually, too, I managed to hit it to the ground not remembering it was there -- just a few unessential scratches. Will have to get another one for spare.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gingerminja602
Country:Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Mirror mirror

Posted10 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, you can see things behind you, the chicks love it, david bekham has one
I like to see when I'm about to get run over and this is perfect for the job. It's a bit small to see the full view of a 40 ton articulated bearing down on you at suicidal speed but we can't ask for everything in life can we? It's also useful to check your hairstyle when you take off the safety helmet. Suggest buying two in order to view in stereo.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Mitso100
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Cheltenham

Good value mirror

Posted12 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Poor quality
Now I have it fitted its great being able to see behind and wouldn't be without it.
It wouldn't fit my handlebars as it was too big so I had to use a knife and make it smaller and banged it in with a hammer.
The bit at the end of the screw which fits into the bars to tighten the fitting broke off and is poorly made, again I had to use a nut to replace it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jrc110
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent considering the price

Posted19 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Bought this for my wife while buying other bits. She cycles along some narrow canal paths regularly and always feels a bit nervous when checking behind her. This is just the job and she is very happy with it. Fitted in less than 5 minutes. Slightly curved to give a bigger view area. The price is good and if it does get damaged then its not a big deal to replace.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
juliems
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

this product broke easily

Posted17 September 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Poor quality
This mirror broke when fixing it to the bike, it was cheap and cheerful but i did expect it to attach reasonably well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Allanw
Country:New Zealand
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid compact mirror

Posted07 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
My 3 and 1 year olds got hold of them before fittings, and they survived unscathed - that's saying something! They're a nice little unobtrusive mirror. May be easy to break in a fall perhaps, but they're cheap and other stuff will probably break too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gazersgazelle

Best Mirror I have used to date

Posted15 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This is an excellent product and gives a great field of vision. The only draw back I would have is that when you lean your bike against a wall it puts stress on the mirror and bends and eventually breaks. It does get a little loose over time but still the best I have found to date.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
alekan
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Stand in place

Posted10 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I use them every day through very rough and damaged roads, and they hold their place excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Robin2013
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Great little safety item

Posted06 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, extra safety
A great value must have item that fits easily on the bike which just gives you more safety when riding. You can also see quite a long way behind you. A no brainer.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jez28
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great little mirror

Posted07 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This mirror is fantastic, only a fiver, very little vibration when moving, been over some fairly severe pot holes without it jumping out of place, not that it would take much effort to repostion if it did move. Excellent field of view, prefer this mirror to the next cateye model up.
As my handlebars are only 14mm internal diameter I had to mount it in the end of my bar ends, works a treat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
noheadjeff
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Had to modify it to fit

Posted31 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: didn't fit my bars
The handlebar insert was too large diameter for my bars so I had to cut it off and replace it with a piece of smaller pipe. However once fitted it works just fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dangles
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Should have bought one years ago

Posted26 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, useful
Cons: none
This is an excellent little mirror that I have put on my commuter/touring bike easy to fit just undo the bar end plug and screw in the mirror.
It has an adjustable arm which I have set up to be fully open when in use and can easily be rotated out of the way to park the bike without having to reset the viewing angle for the next ride. It works really well and gives a good Field of view without hardly any vibration, the only problem I have had is going down steep descents with curves the mirror can sometimes start to fold in due to wind speed, but a quick flick with the finger restores it to its correct position.
Sometimes your arm will be in the way when trying to use the mirror but its only a small inconvenience considering all benefits of having a mirror, just move your head or your arm. I also found that when I first fitted the mirror I was using it all the time but that does diminish with time and I would also still look over my shoulder before making a manoeuvre.
Other members of the club have had mirrors for ages, I wish I had bought one sooner as its nice to see cars approaching from behind to see whether they are going to give way or try to squeeze past, as I cycle mainly on country lanes I can take primary position until, I think it is safe for them to pass. I have also noticed, whether true or imaginary, that following cars tend to give me more space when passing since I have fitted the mirror, perhaps they know I'm watching them!
So definately recommended for commuting/touring, wanna be racers you shouln't even be looking hear!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cateye BM300G Bar End Mirror
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
imppact
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Quality Item

Posted09 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I looked at a number of bicycle mirrors before ordering this one from Evans Cycles. Installation on my handlebars (FSA Omega Compact) was straightforward...When riding the Cateye BM300G does not move or vibrate, which for a mirror in this price bracket was quite a surprise! I am so pleased with this product that I have now bought 3 more for my other bikes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>