Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mirrors or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Blackburn Mirror - Hybrid/ATB Bar Fitting

Blackburn Mirror - Hybrid/ATB Bar Fitting

Overall rating:
3.889 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
7 out of 9Would you recommend this product to a friend?78%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Blackburn Mirror - Hybrid/ATB Bar Fitting
Review 1 for Blackburn Mirror - Hybrid/ATB Bar Fitting
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Don't know how I cycled without it

Posted07 April 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Being a bit apprehensive about road traffic I bought two, one for my hybrid and one for my wife's hybrid. Can't be more positive about them. Really feel much more confident with being able to see very easily behind. Convex mirror gives good wide angle rear view.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Blackburn Mirror - Hybrid/ATB Bar Fitting
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great for Trek FX bikes

Posted06 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
I bought a Trek FX7.4 recently and searched high and low for a mirror to fit it. It has a funny bar-end which doesn't have a round hole, so I needed something to clip on the outside of the handlebar. I tried a Zefal Spy mirror, which was good, but the Trek handlebars are just too cluttered to fit it (except in places where the rear view was blocked by me or my panniers).
But this Blackburn mirror with Hybrid/ATB fitting is great. It fastens over the outside of the handlebar grip itself. The rigid part goes along the front edge of the grip and it is held on by a large, but thin Velcro strip, that I can hardly feel. Large view, easy to adjust. And you can remove it if you are worried about theft.
All around - brilliant!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Blackburn Mirror - Hybrid/ATB Bar Fitting
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Alternative for no bar end option

Posted18 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: could be bigger.
My Cube handlebars have a fixed stopper which serves to locate the grips so a bar end mirror was not an option. Was not sure how this fitted so took a punt and purchased this one. Reasonably quick delivery and best price and availability. The mirror fits with a velcro strap and buckle and provides a normally vibration free view. It is easily adjustable on the move and does not tend to change position when riding. Easily detached for storage or transport but is firmly fixed and comfortable in use. Definitely a good buy from a safety viewpoint and an acceptable alternative to their bar end version where this is not an option. Could be slightly bigger for a wider view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Blackburn Mirror - Hybrid/ATB Bar Fitting
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple set up and easy to use.

Posted10 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I have a disk problem in my kneck with limited movement in looking over my shoulder. This simple and efffective device has given me the confidence to get back in the saddle and feel safe on the road.
It is simple to attach and detach by way of a heavy duty felcro strap to the handle bar. It is lightweight, has a reflector and looks great.
Judging distance takes a bit of practice, but the key principle for me is knowing what is behind and not having to stop or force a painful look over my shoulder all the time. Field of vision is perfect for me and corrective adjustments feel precise and positive even when moving.
Cons
Reflective sticker is upsdie down, but can be easily corrected.
If you have a narrow hallway like mine you will need to remove it for ease of access and egress.
Otherwise great product.
Thank you Blackburn.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Blackburn Mirror - Hybrid/ATB Bar Fitting
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:St Paul's

If only my grips would stay still..

Posted27 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, like a sore thumb
This mirror attaches with a velcro strip to the end of your handle bars. For some reason my grips rotate, so my mirror ends up rotating also. I found it more distracting to constantly adjust my mirror than having to simply look over my shoulder.
Otherwise, it was easily detachable with excellent stability. The size of the actual mirror could be a bit larger, but it's useable.
It adds a good 6 - 6.5inches to your handlebars, so don't expect to fit through those tight gaps.
Useless for me, but no doubt handy for some.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Blackburn Mirror - Hybrid/ATB Bar Fitting
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
from Leeds
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Wouldn't be without one

Posted28 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Once you've cycled with a mirror, you feel really unsafe without one. The Blackburn mirror is brilliant, because you can easily detach it and use on your second bike or just take it off when you leave your bike in a busy area.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Blackburn Mirror - Hybrid/ATB Bar Fitting
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
from Derby
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

just some info.

Posted31 January 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
I purchased this mirror with a 'bar end' fitting for my mountain bike last year, but Evans have not got that fitment here anymore. I choose the bar end fit as it's a good sturdy fit that folds inwards.
I have done a lot of miles with my Blackburn mirror and find it great to use. The curve shape of the mirror looks great on the bike. Although the mirror itself appears to look on the small side, I think the coverage of what you can see in it is fine, either on a trail or road. The whole size of the product is just right, as it blends in with the bike. Easy swivel adjustment whilst on the move means you won't miss anything looming up from behind from a long distance. That swivel device though is not stiff enough and you can end up with a shakey view at times. I really can't understand why most cyclists don't fit a mirror. This mirror will make you feel safer, you can easily see whats behind to your right without having to turn your head.
When you fit this mirror to your bike, which should be on the offside bar, you will notice that the 'Blackburn' reflective logo on the back of it will be upside down, this looks so wrong! But, don't despare! It's printed on a thin plastic strip, glued on. With a craft knife, gently ease off one end, you will find then it will all lift off easily. Just turn it round the right way and pop it back on.
I gave the mirror a 4 star rating but I have not got the 'bar mount' fitment as shown, so I can't take that into account.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Blackburn Mirror - Hybrid/ATB Bar Fitting
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

So so...

Posted27 November 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Uncomfortable
Cons:
- The mirror don't give a perfect vision (I think Its a bit tiny).
- Difficult to pass norrow spaces without clash It in something.
- Hard to adjust firmly the position of the mirror once You get use to It.
- Too expensive.
Pros:
- It fix well enough in the handler.
- It's usefull (Once You get used to handle the product).
- Easy to adjust the direction of the mirror (despite be difficult to hold the position due the reasons I already described above).
- Good quality material (seems durable).
My rate It's a 2,5 of 5.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Blackburn Mirror - Hybrid/ATB Bar Fitting
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
from London
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Blackburn Mirror

Posted29 January 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive, Expensive, Uncomfortable
I am afraid that I did not like this and exchanged it for the cheaper “Cateye” mirror, which I think is far better.
Unit is fitted to handle bars be two Velcro straps which I found did not secure mirror to my liking.
A large plastic mount which straps are fitted to sits behind handlebars were my fingers wrap. I did not like this either and found uncomfortable.
Minor moan is that logo on rear of mirror is upside down when fitted to O/S (Right) of handlebars.
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.