Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Respro Superlite Waist Coat

Respro Superlite Waist Coat

Overall rating:
4.4 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
15 out of 20(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Respro Superlite Waist Coat
Review 1 for Respro Superlite Waist Coat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jgfm
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Pockets!

PostedJune 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
There are plenty of hi-vis waistcoats around, but nobody seems to have them with pockets bar Respiro. Otherwise where else am I supposed to put my gloves, lights, etc.?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Respro Superlite Waist Coat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BrightRider
from Cambridge
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Top Quality

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, truly high-vis, does not ride up
Very bright, very high quality and works really well.
Before this one, I bought a cheaper (still good) waistcoat, and in time the zip wore out. The zip on this one is better, and I am confident that it will last longer.
Unlike its predecessor, this waistcoat doesn't ride up when unzipped, so I can look over my shoulder easily, which is a definite advantage. The reflective material is a fabric, which doesn't crack like the plastic strip on my old one. Additionally, I have found the pockets and loops useful, so I don't need a saddlebag to carry a couple of small things. The side pockets are subdivided, which keeps things secure; the rear one is big.
I recommend this waistcoat.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Respro Superlite Waist Coat
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
MikeFromLFe
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bright boil-in-the-bag waistcoat

PostedMarch 1, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable, impermeable
It's bright, it's got lots of reflective stuff on it, it's got lots of text on it telling you it's made by Respro, it's got really useful mesh pockets, and it's nicely short.
It's made of impermeable plastic, which means that any exertion will cause a build up of moisture on the inside.
If you must wear HiVis then there are cheaper mesh style waistcoats out there that won't boil you alive.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Respro Superlite Waist Coat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Inness50
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good, functional and sensible cut / style

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Does what you'd imagine / hope it would do and the pockets are useful. So far, it seems fairly robust and the cut of the arm holes means it still fits comfortably over layers worn underneath. Also not too long. If wearing thick layers however, go for the size up from your usual; I'm a 44 and the large is ok - just - providing I'm only wearing thin layers underneath. With hindsight, the XL may have been a better option for the colder weather.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Respro Superlite Waist Coat
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
AngryBadger
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bad / Missing Stitching Otherwise OK.

PostedOctober 26, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value
Cons: Poor quality
Just noticed that this has some stitching missing from one side of the rear mesh pocket so there is a 5cm hole in it. Fortunately I didn't put anything in it the two times I've worn it. Suppose it will have to be repaired / restitched by yours truly (too much hassle to return and not really the end of the world).
Apart from that it's OK. Would purchase another if I needed one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Respro Superlite Waist Coat
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
groovyrider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

not a good fit for me

PostedOctober 9, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
this waistcoat will get you seen...and I found it to be unpleasantly 'plasticky' feeling and it did not fit me very well, so i will be returning it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Respro Superlite Waist Coat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bonnybiker
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great lightweight jacket with useful pockets

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, pockets, hi viz
When it gets warm, I still want to be seen, but dont want to wear long sleeved hi-vis jackets. Then I miss the pockets, so this is what I had been looking for... two pockets on the front and one on back. Really good hi vis panels and mine has extra stuff around the neck that you cant see from the website picture.
VERY pleased to have found it, and recommend heartily.
good value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Respro Superlite Waist Coat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ezan
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

it is what it is

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
As a safety vest, the Respro Superlite is top notch. Highly visible and comfortable enough to wear on just a t-shirt.
My advice if you plan on getting this, think of your maximum size, and get one size lower than you think you need. There's enough room for 2-3 layers.
The plastic packaging also doubles as a waterproof container, so that's a bonus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Respro Superlite Waist Coat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Carmen
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Needed High Viz Vest with Pockets

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
just what I wanted so I can be visible but also pockets mean I can have my bike lock keys handy when I want to park
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Respro Superlite Waist Coat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
olilovespies
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

IT MAKES YOU VISIBLE

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: you look like a cyclist
The waist coat arrived quickly. As other reviews have said, it is short, but it is meant to be as you don't need all of your body to be lit up like a council house at christmas, just enough so other road users can just about make your dayglow orange and yellow trunk against the background of nothingness. It's good quality and lightweight. Doesn't flap around too much either, so you don't look like you're on your way to carry hod.
A good buy, all in all.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Respro Superlite Waist Coat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
edwinic
Country:Saudi Arabia
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

it do what it claim

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
highly visible daytime and nightime. the pockets are very useful, keys, wallet, cellphone, eyeglasses. and when i wear it in the job (construction site) many eyes were on me!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Respro Superlite Waist Coat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wenlock
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good product but be careful with sizing

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This is very reflective and has useful pockets. It is designed to go over thick winter clothing so you need to be aware that it may be bigger than you expect. Most of my cycle clothing is L or XL but I find that the medium size Respro waist coat is a good fit as long as you have relatively thin layers underneath.
The zip seems sturdy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Respro Superlite Waist Coat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
WeaselCustard
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Weird Sizing - go for altura

PostedJuly 4, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, very high viz
Cons: Expensive, poor sizing
I bought the medium size vest for my husband for urban cycle commuting but the vest, although ok on the body, was way too short. He is 5ft,9" and 34 waist.
I exchanged to the large. The length was no better but the width was huge, as wide as it was long.
I bought the Altura Night Vision vest - much better. Medium for my husband, small for me (I am size 12, 5ft 7"). Mine is about 7 years old, still going strong and has a double zip
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Respro Superlite Waist Coat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OldFartAtPlay
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well made and highly visible - with great pockets!

PostedApril 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, very visible
I used to use a cheap hi-viz tabard, the type with velcro fastening. The reflective strips cracked & flaked, & it was v. flappy.
This wasitcoat feels very good quality. Medium size fits me with room to spare - I'm 5' 11'' and 36" waist. The shoulder and sam browne strips are v effective, and the pockets - front and rear - are really useful.
Also, as there are no sleeves you don't get sweaty as with hi-viz jackets.
Worth the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Respro Superlite Waist Coat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
carolyn
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

great value

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Not only gives good visibility, but has very useful pockets. Only one thing missing a hook for hanging it up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Respro Superlite Waist Coat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Burkey
from Antwerpen, Belgium
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fits well, lots of handy pockets

PostedDecember 3, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
Bought this to replace my bulk standard reflective jacket, it closes with a very handy zip, small enough so as to let your 'under' layers breath, while being a very effective reflective jacket. Great pockets, which is good particularly in the winter, for a temporary stash, rather than a more active and safe set of pockets.
Does the job with some style, given the nature of the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Respro Superlite Waist Coat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roly
from London, UK
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Be seen

PostedJuly 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Usual quality Respro product. Useful pockets and a ring for keys etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Respro Superlite Waist Coat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Discobiscuit
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Can't not be seen in this

PostedJune 19, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
May not be a fashion icon wearing this but very comfortable.
Use for commuting everyday and haven't over heated in this but it does provide a degree of warm on those chiller starts rides home.
Good pocket capacity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Respro Superlite Waist Coat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
muser
from Cardiff
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great hi-vis, not best for bicycling

PostedJune 5, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, excellent hi-vis
Cons: Unattractive, Uncomfortable
Excellent hi-vis with two colours and lots of reflective stripes. But I received an updated design that has a lot more text printed on the reflective striping. You do feel a bit like a Respro sign board. Fit is large, probably designed to go over a motorcycle jacket. So if you wear a medium and get a medium version of this waist coat, you'll be able to wear your winter jacket underneath without it being too tight. The latest design has a sort of collar which although is not uncomfortable is thick synthetic material which I find objectionable. The shoulder reflectors are a great idea, but my messenger bag tends to slide off causing me to hunch my shoulders when riding. The mesh material doesn't breath as much as I would hope either. Would have marked as average except for hi-vis performance.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Respro Superlite Waist Coat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
picvert
from Beauvais (France)
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Like a road worker...

PostedFebruary 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, hi vision
...but I'm just a runner and this coat is very useful at night fall to be seen !!
To be recommended !!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.