Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Respro Ankle Bands

Respro Ankle Bands

Overall rating:
4.4 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
19 out of 20(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Respro Ankle Bands
Review 1 for Respro Ankle Bands
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Victoria

Expensive but good

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, hi viz
Cons: Expensive, not very stretchy
I bought these because I needed something that was both reflective and would keep my waterproof trousers from flapping around and getting caught in the chain. (They are walking trousers but I am too tight to buy proper cycling ones). The other ankle straps I had were hopeless because they were non-stretchy and kept falling off the trousers as I cycled.
These are great. They are wide and stretchy and I love the day/yellow, night/reflective choice.
Fit-wise, they go over my fitted (non-waterproof) cycling trousers with a tiny amount of stretching and with the waterproofs on they stretch further to fit. However they are not that stretchy and I wonder of they would be suitable for a bloke with big ankles
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Respro Ankle Bands
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Martin01

Best of the worse

PostedMay 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
These are the best ankle bands I have ever had. The material is thin Neoprene (same material wet suites are made of). The Velcro that connect the 2 ends is merely stitched on - they did not even bother giving is a firm backing or the other side of the stitching, so you wonder whether the stitching will not cut through the Neoprene with time. I have not used it that much and the yellow material stuck on the Neoprene is coming off a bit.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Respro Ankle Bands
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wbeverage

Good stuff

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Sturdy, v comfortable, easy to spot at night. Good reversable feature.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Respro Ankle Bands
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CyclistJohn
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Superb Features

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, easy fitting
This is the second time I have bought these ankle bands, having recently lost the first pair, which I have had for more than 5 years. I wore them every time I was on my bicycle (every day of the week) and in all weather. They are absulutely superb for visibility by day and outstandingly high reflectivity by night. I highly reccomend this product to every cyclist. They are well worth their price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Respro Ankle Bands
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gfer1975

very good

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
best ankle, wrist, arm bands out there. these are elasticated which makes them way superior to any other in terms of comfort and fit. top product with silver and yellow as options, simply turn inside out: yellow in day light and silver in the dark. buy with absolute confidence
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Respro Ankle Bands
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
BA88
Country:Jersey
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good visibility....

PostedMarch 31, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
but they do tend to make trousers ride up the leg. So its the same as tucking your trousers into your socks except you have two visible legs! I expected them to keep my trousers over my cycling shoes to stop the rain getting in but this isn't the case.
Does have a nice effect when lights hit them at night, however I think I will buy a pair of water resistant tights so I don't have to worry about my trousers getting oily or stuck in the chain.
These can look a bit silly when your walking around after leaving your bike somewhere so can be a pain to put on and take off.
But ultimately if you need the visibility go for it. They are double sided one with standard high vis, one side with scotch light which looks a bit better than high vis.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Respro Ankle Bands
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
recyclist
It was bought:Online

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Use everyday for safety and for protecting my jeans on the chain side. Reversible design is useful, a bit pricey but comes in a pair, gave one to my partner which she uses every day also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Respro Ankle Bands
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
diolch
from Cambridge
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Would get 5 with more velcro

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Excellent- i have used these for years - reason for replacement is that occasionally they are lost - a little more velcro would help. Way more comfortable that the wire/clip on versions and fold up into any space.
Not just for ankles- good for other uses
1) Instead of those plastic head collars that theVet gives the cat when they have ear infections etc- just wrap one of these around their necks and they still go through cat flaps
2)As reflectors on the bike trailer
3) Tying umbrealla to bike rack
4) Use by small children when "bandaging" toys
5) Dampen with water, wrap around a can and cool drinks (have to leave them in a draft)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Respro Ankle Bands
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alanoutgear
from Bendigo, Victoria, Australia
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

They're not just easy to see

PostedJuly 1, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Highly visible, retroflective on one side adjustable and wearable on ankles and wrists, these are the best "ankle" bands ever.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Respro Ankle Bands
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jparky
from Lake District
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Useful product

PostedJune 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Works well so far, can't fault it. Hope the velcro continues to work over time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Respro Ankle Bands
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DomRUK
from Berkshire
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Haven't stopped sticking - very good

PostedMay 4, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Having had some Madison High Visibility Arm/Ankle Bands for a while, they stopped sticking particularly well (the velcro), so I swopped to these, which continue to stick very well indeed. They stretch slightly (the material) which is useful.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Respro Ankle Bands
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
agostini
from Midlands
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Practical quick and easy to use

PostedApril 22, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Worn on a wet Scotland cycle holiday, practical bit of kit easily stored in pockets or bar bag, only moan the bands would be excellent if they had been made one inch longer. They were a tight fit with over trousers and my neoprene shoe covers. My wife finds them OK when she nips out to shops.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Respro Ankle Bands
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cyclix
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the box

PostedMarch 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Very comfortable ankle bands. Have used them in the past and whenever I loose them (which I do regularly) I now always buy these. I've used metal bracelets in the past which were v painful. These are great and I love the fact they work in the day and night. Highly recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Respro Ankle Bands
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simsy
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Superb product

PostedOctober 12, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Excellent product. One side for Day, flip them for night riding. Excellent quality, no massive logos. I have already bought some more for family members.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Respro Ankle Bands
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
spoke
from London
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedSeptember 1, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
It does what it says on the tin. They are much more comfortable than traditional cycle clips, and the reflective side really does a good job in the dark.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Respro Ankle Bands
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rawse
from Warwickshire
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Blinding

PostedAugust 18, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have owned these for over a year and they are still very reflective. I only bought them after I followed my friend who was also wearing a pair as we cycled to work on the cold dark winter months.
As they are worn on your ankles they are more visible to the car drivers. They illuminate very easily and because they are moving they draw attention so hopefully they will miss you!
Still after a year they still work and have never let me down. Buy some for piece of mind. In my opinion they are better than HUMP covers and at a third of the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Respro Ankle Bands
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
ifonly
from Camden Town, London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

PostedMay 4, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
The material is made so fragile that it falls apart easily. I had one a few weeks ago and within two weeks the threads on the edges started to run. I took it into an Evans store and got it exchanged. I doubb that it will work extremely well this time.
The velcro parts are not large enough to adapt to different sized ankles. I have relatively smaller ones so I can only use a third of the velcro. Almost half the time these ankle bands slid to the bottom below my trousers and they just became hidden underneath, not doing their intended job.
I would use these only expecting them to last temporarily, as the fibre is not the type you'd expect to be all conditions gear although cycling is automatically an outdoor activity. The ironic thing is that I tried a pair thin clip-ons by another manufacturer that were made of a steel material. Those were even worse at a snug fit as they were hurting me and in the way. They slipped to the bottom even quicker.
I don't think the market has a very good one that is relective or highly visible at a similar price. Don't forget these ones aren't cheap to start with at £14.99 a pair. As with most things you want to buy from Evans, I suggest you do your homework by reading reviews and price comparing online first and you can request a price match at Evans and see what they say.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Respro Ankle Bands
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rob33
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Do what they're meant to but overpriced

PostedDecember 11, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Not much you can say about ankle bands. They reflect light and clip round your ankles with velcro so they do what thet are meant to.
But at £15 i think they are over-priced as you can get similar products from a third of the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Respro Ankle Bands
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
iCycle
from Cambridge
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good ankle band

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
Does exactly what it says on the tin.
Nice and wide, comfortably soft fit, keeps trousers out of chains.
Velcro seems to be holding up well, has been through the washing machine a couple of times without ill effect.
Slightly expensive, but that's a good incentive not to lose them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-only reviews for Respro Ankle Bands
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product