Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Respro Sportsta Mask

Respro Sportsta Mask

The Sportsta mask is usable in all outdoor sports pursuits where high levels of non-toxic dusts are present.
Overall rating:
4.4 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 10(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for Respro Sportsta Mask
Review 1 for Respro Sportsta Mask
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
from uk
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works well. Good for cold weather cycling.

PostedNovember 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Unattractive
If, like me, you tend to get a bit wheezy when cycling in cold air, particularly when traffic fumes are around, then this mask will work to both warm the air and neutralise those particulates in the atmosphere.
Main downside for me is the tendency for moisture to collect on the interior surface, which can be a bit irritating. It looks a bit menacing and threatening, but if you don't mind the Darth Vader look and want to protect your lungs from the cold and grot when cycling in the city, this will work well.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Respro Sportsta Mask
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vita
from Woking
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

PostedOctober 1, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought the Respro Sportsta Mask to protect my lungs on my commute to work.
Initially it feels a little strange but once used to wearing it, it does its job well. On cold days it warms the air up before entering your lungs which makes breathing much less painful and there is a noticeable difference in air quality when riding on the roads.
The valves which open when you exhale help with breathing faster. Initially cycling up big hills was difficult with the mask on but now my lungs are stronger and can just about cope with the resistance.
Overall the quality and enjoyment of my cycle to work has improved through using the mask. No more nasty fumes damaging my lungs.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Respro Sportsta Mask
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Themis67
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Generally reliable

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Uncomfortable
The mask really does a good job of protecting from dirty air. It takes some time to get used to, one might find it uncomfortable in the beginning. Unfortunately, I have a hard time wearing it with my sunglasses. It also retains a lot of moisture and the smell of the material isn't so pleasant.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Respro Sportsta Mask
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
UKAR
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy breathing

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I bought this primarily to prevent breathing in ice cold air in winter and for that it works a treat. If I do cycle in the city in summer I'll use it for that at as well.
For winter use at least it does get quite moist inside so I have to hang it out to dry after use. There's little to no resistance to breathing, it doesn't make breathing more difficult.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Respro Sportsta Mask
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Wibbler
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good fit, condensation build up can be annoying.

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
I remain unconvinced about the effectiveness of cycling masks, so make sure to do your own research before you buy, and defiantly look at all available brands.
The mask certainly forms a tight (but not uncomfortable) fit with it's velcro fasteners and the valves are easily replaceable. Condensation build up can be rather annoying. The mask does not impact my breathing at all, even on steep inclines.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Respro Sportsta Mask
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bazil
Country:Greece
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A must-have for anyone cycling in the city

PostedJune 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
A must-have for anyone cycling in the city or through places with much dust or polution. I find the bigger exhalation valves very comfortable (I had the City mask before) ,especially when climbing uphills.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Respro Sportsta Mask
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
io420
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJune 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
I don't know why anybody would say this looks unattractive. I don't think cycling masks get any more attractive than this. It looks menacing. If you don't like that, then you might wanna go for that floral-accents-scarf-look.
Anyway, I bought this mask for several reasons and it has lived up to it.
No more insect diet for those of us who have trouble breathing through the nose and no more foul countryside smells (not sure if that's the mask filter or just me breathing through the mouth more).
I do however get quite a bit of moisture from intensive breathing during warm days, but I don't see how you could avoid that unless you're willing to pay extra for some space tech materials.
If you have an oval/vertically shaped face and a bigger nose, go for the large size.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Respro Sportsta Mask
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Arun
Country:India
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Effective and useful

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
The Respro Mask has tuned out to be more effective than I had imagined. It keeps dust and other stuff out but more importantly, it does not affect breathing at all. I take it out cycling and initially feared that it would accumulate moisture on the inside -- which has been my experience with a couple of other masks I've tried so far. But there was no moisture. Also, the air intake valve -- or whatever the equivalent -- is quite efficient and allows for adequate air flow. My single problem with the mask was cosmetic. Wish the filter inside is not quite so white. By this, I mean the portion that is visible to the outside. Wish it had some colour on it! Of course, on the inside it needs to be white so that you can see it "dirty" up as usage increases and you are alert to a change of filters.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Respro Sportsta Mask
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kevski
from Guildford
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Awesome Product

PostedApril 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
Yep awesome product.! I suffer from Chest Infections & Hay fever so BIG help, I've only had the mask 4days but have noticed the difference already.
Able to breath warm air through the mask has help SO MUCH with my chest and no pollen particles being able to get through the filters is a god send.
A few people stare at me but how cares, my health is more important.!!!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Respro Sportsta Mask
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hayfeverman
from leicester
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male

hayfever

PostedJuly 23, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, effective against pollen, cheaper than drugs
great mask for sufferers of hayfever, very effective. I can garden without a problem which is great, I don't find a resistance with airflow which aids comfort. It doesn't look too odd out in public either, although people do stare a bit, who cares when you can breathe!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.