Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pollution Masks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Respro City Mask

Respro City Mask

Like the other Respro masks it has a contoured design ensuring it seals comfortably. It is manufactured from hypo-allergenic Neoprene. Overall, the City Mask offers a solution to inhaling the grime and dust associated with urban air quality while carrying your daily journey.
Overall rating:
4.222 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
8 out of 9(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for Respro City Mask
Review 1 for Respro City Mask
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RickLSE
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

A mask how it should be

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This mask does what it should do ....
It is easy to adjust to fit perfect, even after a while I nearly forget that you are wearing it.
I have he impression of a tied fit so that the filters can work effectively.
Especially during the cold period it is valuable, since it also protect the face from the wind.
I would buy it again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Respro City Mask
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SquareMile
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good protection but looks weird

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
I use this to commute to work in the City (London) so this is a must. It seems to work very well (I have no way to scientifically test it). It certainly keeps out the bad smells but maybe thats because of the nose clip. Any kind of filter in traffic must be good! It is very comfortable, light, fits into a small pocket and easy to get on and off. Works fine with my glasses. It took about 30 secs to get used to it. Any adult should get large - I got large and I have a small face. The only down side is that it looks very intimidating (a bit like a chainsaw mask). Looks much better in the colours (I got it in blue).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Respro City Mask
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ahussein1986
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedApril 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive, Uncomfortable
Works really well to keep out the fumes of inner city cycling - condenses quite heavily inside the mask which isn't great. Keep your face warm on cold mornings. Tip - wear the mask high up on your face so the bottom of the mask sits on your chin other wise it will keep falling off. Makes hill climbing difficult to start but fitness soon catches up
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Respro City Mask
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
beazus
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

not too bad

PostedApril 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, does the job
Cons: Uncomfortable
still figuring how to fasten it on properly. tested it out on a 5km sprint to and fro. ventilation is fine, not exceptionally difficult to hyperventilate with.
nose band will take some skill at moulding to shape my nose. tends to be painful when not fitted properly on as the filter part that comes in contact with nose bridge does a good bit of abrasion.
pressure in the mask tends to be an issue in general, so a suction effect happens at my nostrils at high levels of hyperventilation - no choice, stick with respiring through my mouth. look great, is comfortable otherwise, does the job and is affordable.
suggestion for a second strap that goes around the superior aspect of the posterior cranium so as to keep the mask above the nose for those less endowed with high nose bridges. mine is comparatively fine. haha.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Respro City Mask
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kartik

filter mask review

PostedJune 21, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
great product does exactly what it says on the tin and keeps my lungs pollution free. my only criticism would be the metal bit over the nose which always leaves a mark on my nose when I arrive somewhere...maybe a bit more padding..?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Respro City Mask
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
planetlarg
from Bristol
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

a bit like buying insurance

PostedMay 24, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: i look like shredder from tmnt
I use this mask to lessen the effects of cycling through pollution for an hour a day.
I commute down a busy road in Bristol. There is a lot of slow moving traffic and high buildings either side, so air quality is not good. I can't tell it's poor quality - Bristol is not hot and sunny, so no smog forms - unless I am sitting behind a truck tailpipe and smell the diesel.
Most cyclists on my road - and there are plenty - don't wear a mask. I guess I have just bought a little more insurance than they have.
good -
* It warms up my breath in winter
* It lessens the stink of diesel in summer.
bad -
* Sometimes my glasses steam up when I stop at traffic lights
* I entered a filter buying cycle. I forgot to replace the filter for a couple of months and ended up with irritated skin. I guess the filter traps particles.
* My local Evans store does not stock the City filters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Respro City Mask
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
GoRaN
from İzmir, Turkey
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Doesnt fit well

PostedFebruary 24, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Unfortunately the mask doesn't fit well and when you breath out all your vision is blinded because of the vapor coming around nose (using glasses), I have tried different positions and adjustments but couldnt succeded.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Respro City Mask
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rhowbust
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Very good purchase

PostedFebruary 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
A great product does what it says it does. There is a little condensation behind the mask while riding but it's worth it not to breath in polluted air every day I cycle through London to work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Respro City Mask
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Art63
from Pennsylvania,USA
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fresh Air

PostedNovember 25, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: metal piece breaks easily when adjusted often
I purchased this mask 4 years ago and it was a great buy.I ride in traffic everyday to and from work.It filtered out exhaust from diesel trucks and buses.With the filter upgrade,I was able to use it during winter riding without breathing in cold air.Buying several more.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.