Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pollution Masks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Respro Techno Mask

Respro Techno Mask

Overall rating:
3.846 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
11 out of 13(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Respro Techno Mask
Review 1 for Respro Techno Mask
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Micio
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

good performance

PostedMay 2, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
fits well and tight, not allowing the air to get in from the sides. borrow one before buying it though as it's difficult to guess which size fits best or whether you like the whole "breathing through a filter" thing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Respro Techno Mask
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
karellen
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

difficult breathing

PostedApril 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
It's perfect for the purpose, I feel that it filters the air really well and fits the face relatively nicely compared to other masks. At the same time I can't help but realise that the flow of air is reduced to a point that if you need to take big breaths you find yourself short of air. Still a good option if you are more worried about the air you breathe than comfort of breathing. Would still recommend for big cities commuters
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Respro Techno Mask
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mrjaybugsymalon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

excellent product

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
This product is brilliant i purchased this item from Birmingham via online click and collect. During traffic its proven to be a very useful tool to prevent fumes entering into the repertory track . However first initial ride its a bit restrictive but eventually becomes easy to breath. The Velcro strap is fantastic however i would recommend you purchase the large size.. After trying it out i purchased another one for my son... overall love it and highly recommend it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Respro Techno Mask
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Chats
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Really makes a difference

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, it works
Cons: Expensive, Uncomfortable
Wasn't sure at first, it is a bit uncomfortable and wasn't sure if it was all that air tight. However, have had it a few weeks now and when I cycle without it you can tell it makes a massive difference. You can taste the fumes immediately whereas you cant when wearing it. Wouldn't cycle in London without it now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Respro Techno Mask
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Chonger
Country:Singapore
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A breath of cleaned air

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: too warm in hot days
This mask does wonders. Wear it on and you can breathe cleaned air in pollution. The combo of hepa and charcoal worked flawlessly. However it is just too warm to wear in during hot days. Otherwise it would be a 5 stars item!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Respro Techno Mask
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Kahlyspo
from France
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not suited for big faces

PostedNovember 26, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
The mask is stylish and looks the part, but pulls tight on the nose and is easily displaced whilst riding. (This may be just due to my face as I'm a big guy, but this is what happens for me..)
Breathing becomes difficult and you get a dry mouth very quickly. If using the mask at the same time as wearing specs or shades, the glasses get misted over by water vaper pumping out the top as you breathe.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Respro Techno Mask
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cyclist5
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Essential for city riding

PostedJuly 1, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Makes your face a bit hot and sweaty in the summer, but totally worth it for the reduction in soot etc gushing into your lungs. Wouldn't want to get stuck behind a bus without it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Respro Techno Mask
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yanster
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Respro Techno Mask

PostedMarch 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: Uncomfortable
Cycling in and out of central London every day I have noticed the difference the mask makes. It really does eliminate the fumes from buses, vans, cars and motorbikes.
However I still find it uncomfortable and it does take getting used to and figuring out the best fit, especially if you are wearing a helmet too. It also collects a lot of moisture, but doesn't restrict breathing in any way.
On balance though it does exactly what it's supposed to and makes negotiating the traffic a much more pleasant experience.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Respro Techno Mask
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MccStu
from South downs
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Look like a ninja sort of

PostedOctober 5, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
In the colder months you can lose a lot of heat through breathing constantly sucking in cold air and putting out warm with the mask on however your breath warms the mask then when you breath in the mask warms the air I see this a the main benefit of this mask, I do feel I breath more easily after the commute to work though this is hard to gauge so I just have to trust its doing its job. The running costs of this mask are quite cheap about £8 per month (2 filter refills in a £16 pound pack which last for approx 30 hours each refill ) you may not realize this when you first buy
The mask is quite comfortable but I imagine hot in the summer.
The only gripe I have is that it steams my glasses unless I pinch the nose clip a bit tighter than I otherwise would nose breathing is over rated anyhow
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Respro Techno Mask
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Viviane

Respro techno mask

PostedOctober 4, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Unattractive, Uncomfortable
I bought this mask as it seemed like Respro was the only option on the market.
First problem that I faced was that I am a female with a fine face and Respro only manufacture medium and large ones. The second issue is that I find it hard to make the mask fit. The size is a tad bit too big for me and perhaps for that reason, the nose clip is not easily adjustable. Even if I don't overly tighten it, it tends to restrict my breathing by pressing on the sides of my nose. I am glad to take it off when I arrive at work as it gets a bit stuffy too. The only downside about removing the mask are the red marks on each side of my nose! Fortunately they disappear within 5 minutes. Another downside if you are a female who is concerned with looks is that the maks makes you look like a ninja.
Despite all that I will persist in wearing it as it does a good job at stopping fumes which I found really unbearable (cycling into central London every day). Wearing it for the first time, I instantly noticed the difference. Being stuck behind buses is not the anaerobic exercise it used to be. Smells and fumes really are minimised.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Respro Techno Mask
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Genivaldo
from Brazil, São Paulo
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Opinion about the product purchased

PostedAugust 19, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
Dear friends,
I was very pleased with my purchase.
I am in Brazil, in São Paulo. Here there are a lot of pollution and use the product when and ride bicycles every day in displacement bike to work.
I am very happy.
Regards,
Genivaldo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Respro Techno Mask
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
HardrockCommute
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

wouldn't be without it

PostedFebruary 10, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive, can be uncomfortable at times
good points - really cuts down on pollution smells and air quality, after using the mask for a few months I left in a hurry and went without it for a day and found I was choking on the exhaust fumes.
Warm in winter.
Good air flow; easy to breath.
bad points - I bought over the internet so not sure I bought the right size but the fit isn't great. If I tie my hair up and fasten the mask high over my pony tail it is brilliant! But with it fastened low, it slides down my nose putting pressure on it making it difficult to breath.
There is a lot of moisture build up under the mask.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Respro Techno Mask
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
RobinVB
from Brussels
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

The Good and The Bad

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
On the upside : less smell from car fumes (but not completely gone), no more sore throat, nice and warm in winter
On the downside : breathing is restricted, cycling is harder, very hot in summer, not easy to get a perfect fit and as a result glasses tend to fog up in cold weather.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.