Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pollution Masks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Respro Nitesight Mask

Respro Nitesight Mask

The Nitesight mask has a contoured design ensuring the mask seals comfortably and is manufactured from hypo-allergenic Neoprene. It is available in two sizes.
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
8 out of 9(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Respro Nitesight Mask
Review 1 for Respro Nitesight Mask
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BigYoung15
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Agree with previous reviews

Posted15 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: runs a bit small
So rode with this just once so far as I just got it yesterday. So my commute is around 45-50 min long and goes through London (Oxford Street). So with this experience I got couple of Pros and Cons:
Pros:
Very effective at filtering the air.
Rode behind busses and diesel cars with no problem ( where previously you would be disgusted by the smell)
Helps visibility ( as other road user will notice you easily)
Easy to use
Surprisingly I think I was actually faster wearing this mask commuting to work than when not wearing it (I thought it really would impede breathing, but it wasn't so bad)
Cons:
For me the fit was not quite there the straps were too short so made the mask sit quite tightly ( but due to the neoprene material this was not uncomfortable) all at the same time feeling it is going to slip down. So it is really weird. Despite this I'll keep on using it. For indication about my size, I'm 5'11 and fairly big build (recently fat face due to office work), so if you think you have average sized face or smaller then you should be fine, for bigger one... you might struggle to put the strap on even for the large size.
I also changed the valves first thing from the Techno to POWA (the ones at the SPORTSTA mask), which made the breathing soo much easier, noticed this already when I was simply stationary and trying the mask on at home. So if you are doing heavier exercise then would definitely recommend to upgrade the valves to POWA.
Filters are expensive! 12.99 for set of 2 i.e. £6.50 per month if you according to their 69 h or 1 month recommendation, which makes it whopping £78 a year. Depending on the actual pollution level, will probably try to push it for longer.
In Summary,
It is a great product, considering the evening standards' article with regards to the London's pollution levels as "invisible killer" and lately smog that came to London, this surely puts your mind in ease. With right valves the breathing is fairly easy and at least for me was better inhaling slightly slower and through mouth than inhaling all those nasties coming out of the catalytic converters (you won't notice this so clearly when walking on pavement, but on the road among buses and diesel cars... you WILL). It will get nasty and sweaty inside the mask, but then it is your own sweat and vapour, which for me again beats the diesel and petrol fumes. Also generally if you hinder your breathing with a filter while heavy exercise, you'll have stronger lungs and more efficient oxygen usage when not using the filter while heavy exercise (On average your lungs being organic will adapt to new environments, idea same as running in thin air and high altitude compared to normal and low altitude).
So if you can get over the Darth Vader/T look and don't mind your own fluids then this is highly recommended product!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Respro Nitesight Mask
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dani86

great product

Posted30 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Only down side is that is not airtight therefore I can still smell (and breath) london's smog however is much better than cycling through busy roads without any protection!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Respro Nitesight Mask
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Dan101
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

OK, but...

Posted07 December 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
Really hi-viz, filters are breathable, and price is fine, but I find the tabs that fasten it at the back of my head too short/too tight, and it rides up and down on my face. Flawed as far as I can see, but perhaps someone with a different physique would find it good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Respro Nitesight Mask
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ragglefraggle1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

As on tin

Posted29 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
I bought this for a night event I was doing in london (YIKES). Definitely works, but don't try to use it when your in your smoking friends car! It seems to have the reverse effect for that,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Respro Nitesight Mask
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CurlyHairedBro
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

I'm satisfect.

Posted27 November 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: hold some moisture
The mask is cool and of good quality. True that holds some moisture, but the mask is awesome. You can talk and even scream with the mask on, and the product allows to breathe well enough. I bought It a few days ago and I'm happy with the product. I recommend the mask to everyone that is searching for a good and reliable mask, remembering that this one covers the attributes of a buff too. 5 of 5!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Respro Nitesight Mask
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CarlM
from London, UK
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Helps a lot

Posted08 September 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: holds moisture
Bought this with no idea of what to expect. It definitely helps when you're sat behind a smoggy bus! No one knows who you are and you're a biking Ninja! Well... not really but it's comfortable. Only problem I have is that it holds moisture a little bit and this can reduce the airflow and make it hard to ride when going fast.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Respro Nitesight Mask
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Benoit
from Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Never leave home wihout it !

Posted11 August 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I commute to work on my bicycle every day of the week and every week of the year; this amounts to roughly 30 000 Km per year... and I've been commuting by bicycle for the last 15 years.
I currently live in Singapore, even though the pollution levels are extremely low, more than half the vehicles on the road are fueled by diesel.
I purchased the mask to help me cope with the car/truck/bus exhaust which is less than pleasant to cycle through, and most probably leads to negative health risks.
The mask took less than a week to get used to, and it does a very good job at cutting out particulates and fumes which you would normally breathe. After riding, you feel clean and you breathe easy, no coughing or black phlegm.
After a few weeks you will feel "naked and unsafe" without it, much like you would if you forget to wear your helmet.
It also provides you with the "don't mess with me" look, which translates to a reduction in physical altercations and confrontations... here, drivers come out of their cars to fight or attempt to knock you down when they feel you are taking too much place or causing them to slow down too much and for too long.
From my personal experience there are only a few drawbacks (cons) to it (in no specific order).
1) It's neoprene on your face... it will get hot.
2) It reduced air flow significantly, in turn your performance will diminish.
4) You breathe more, your heart beats much faster and harder, making it difficult to recover from a sprint or a climb.
5) It blocks your nose, so you need to breathe through your mouth. Granted that might be because my nose puts Cyrano de Bergerac to shame and that I normally breathe through my nose while cycling.
6) If you ride for long hours in the sun, you will get odd looking tan lines!
7) It also silences you, and prevents you from screaming, which is often necessary when commuting.
8) It makes drinking water difficult.
9) If you have sensitive skin... you know what I mean.
One last thing: DON'T EVEN THINK OF GOING TO A BANK OR TO A LIQUOR STORE WITH THE MASK ON !
I recommend this product to anyone and everyone cycling on the road during peak traffic periods.
 
Products related to my review
 
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Respro Nitesight Mask
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
python
from SE LONDON
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Best Purchase Ever

Posted18 June 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
THIS IS A FIVE STAR ITEM , IF YOU CYCLING IN LONDON THEN YOU WILL FIND ONE FOR THESE CITY MASK USEFUL,
I HAVE ONE AND DO NOT GOT CYCLE WITH OUT IN.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Respro Nitesight Mask
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Enigmatic
from Brunei
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Worth it for any cyclist

Posted10 December 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, safety
Cons: none
Been using it over the years. The mask is durable and long lasting even after a few hundreds of washes, In eventuality after 1 year as expected the Scotchlite would soon flakes off. I'm still using it
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
CurlyHairedBro
London
 
Please wait while more information about CurlyHairedBro is loaded.
Additional information about CurlyHairedBro could not be loaded.
I'm satisfact.
Posted 27 November 2010
The mask is cool and of good quality. True that holds some moisture, but the mask is awesome. You can talk and even scream with the mask on, and the product allows to breathe well enough. I bought It a few days ago and I'm happy with the product. I recommend the mask to everyone that is searching for a good and reliable mask, remembering that this one covers the attributes a buff too. 5 of 5!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)