Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Cateye LD 500 LED Red Rear Light

Cateye LD 500 LED Red Rear Light

Overall rating:
4.4 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
19 out of 20(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Cateye LD 500 LED Red Rear Light
Review 1 for Cateye LD 500 LED Red Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Philboy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Compact back light that is easy to fit on saddle stem.
Static or flashing , clearly visible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cateye LD 500 LED Red Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AlanJ6
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good bright rear light

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Fine for my needs, either off, on or flashing, no other modes which is fine. Nice and bright but will also add a light on the back of my helmet when the nights get darker.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cateye LD 500 LED Red Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MarmyCat1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple, effective, very-well constructed & Legal

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
To be highly recommended as a replacement for the original bicycle reflector or an addition-to. The unit is simple to operate 'in-the-fact' there's not 'umpteen-million Flashing-Modes' (some of which are more effective than others) ~ it is simple ON/OFF/RVLR-FLASHING/OFF & THAT'S IT! It is beautifullly simple to turn-on or off. This unit has a lovely built-in reflector & THREE simple RED-LED's in the middle & runs on TWO 'AAA' Cells. In all ~ Simple ~ Reliable ~ Effective. I have bought loads for the cost & replaced all or added to - my seven different Bicycles. Evans service is about the best in the field ~ didn't even bother 'surfing' elsewhere ~ no-point as their price was 'as-good-as-it-gets' too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cateye LD 500 LED Red Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wotee
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cateye All-in-one

PostedMay 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent product, so good I have bought 4 and replaced all my families reflectors with these as they are combined with a BS approved reflector. Light modes are off-on-off-flashing. Simple to use and visible enough when you need them. We don't night ride but I use them in the daytime for that little bit of extra safety. highly recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cateye LD 500 LED Red Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tuffty
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value rear light

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
For the money this seems a very bright and sturdy light. Not used it much yet so cant comment on its reliability although it does seem well made.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cateye LD 500 LED Red Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ptptaylor
from UK
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bright, easy to fit, what a light should be like!

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: too easy to turn on
The light is bright enough for use on roads,flashing frequency is fine also. The only problem I have is that the light can be turned on too easily. If I leave it in my bag, it often gets turned on by rustling in the pocket.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cateye LD 500 LED Red Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mdownton
from Greater Manchester
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Value Light

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
A good light and what you would expect for the money. There are several mounting options so you shouldn't have any trouble fitting it to your bike. It could be brighter but it's not dim and again what you'd expect for this price. There's one button which cycles between On - Off - Flashing - Off. I would recommend but I pair it up with another flasher on my bag for commuting.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cateye LD 500 LED Red Rear Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Peternol
from Canberra Australia
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Reasonable but there are better lights out there

PostedSeptember 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: not bright enough
This light has 3 LED's, and is reasonably bright but there are much brighter (and more expensive) lights around. It is easy to mount and very well made.
I think if you were riding in traffic on a stormy, dark night you would be better off with a much brighter light that leaves no doubt to a driver that there is a bike in front of them.
It is fine if you are on a bike path or wearing a a good luminous jacket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cateye LD 500 LED Red Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hybridjunkie
from Berkshire
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very affordable safety.

PostedFebruary 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought 3 of these. 1 for each of my bikes and 1 for my wife's. I replaced the normal reflector on the fixed bracket. If the light fades when you're out, you've always got a rear light. You also stay legal by having a red rear reflector. Very inexpensive as well.
Evans delivery was also excellent.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cateye LD 500 LED Red Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PapaFrank
from East Kilbride
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great light

PostedFebruary 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Good light that can be easily seen from a good distance by other road users.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cateye LD 500 LED Red Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grouch
from Hampshire
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Rear light

PostedJanuary 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Purchase on line - simple ... payment - simple ... delivery - free ... delivery ... very quick. Result ... "one happy bunny"
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cateye LD 500 LED Red Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tobbe
from SWEDEN - Uddevalla
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good! 5-star

PostedNovember 6, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This rear light is very good and suitable for all kind of bicycles I think.
I have a rear rack on my new Scott SUB30 (2010) and this Cateye LD500 was permanent mounted back on the plate with one screw and some double coated tape, after removing the including holder.
The light is very good and has enough brightness, the batteries last for a long time, and great reflecting area too. I use it mostly with fixed light mode, but if I need to warn drivers in intense traffic (also in daylight) I use the flashing mode for some extra visibility.
I must give this light 5 out of 5 stars :-)
(I'm from Sweden, I hope you all could understand my text)
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cateye LD 500 LED Red Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jovial
from Birtley, Co Durham
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Well made, shame about the product description

PostedMay 14, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great, Good value, Good quality
Cons: inacurate produce description
I bought this item back in March after my last effort came off & got lost. Having used CATEYE lights some time ago I new that it would be a quality piece of kit but I couldnt understand the price difference between this & the slightly more expencive TL LD150, both being described as having 5 LEDS.
On opening the box, two AAA bateries fell out, great. Fitting was easy & under 5 mins, attaching mine to a reflector bracket so it was solidly fitted. I popped open the lens cover to fit the batteries & GASP, only 3 LEDS.
That would help to explain the price difference.
Not being phased by this, I went out on my bike as normal, the light being strong & bright.
Returning, I went back onto the Evans website being sure I'd read 5 LEDS in the product description. On reading, there it was 5 LEDS.
That weekend, I rang Evans. The chap that answered listened to me & gave the impression he'd look into my comments.
To date (14.05.2010) the description still claims 5 LEDS.
The light is good, solid, simple to use & seems very reliable, I've used it regulary since purchase. Sadly it's just not what was expected.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Response from Evans CyclesBy Evans Cycles Web TeamMay 18, 2010
Thank you for your review. You are correct and the specification of this prouct is incorrect. We have ammended the specification and it is now accurate.

Thanks
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cateye LD 500 LED Red Rear Light
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
GiuliaGtVeloce
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Giuliagtveloce

PostedApril 15, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
Expensive and fragile it broke the second week on , the cover went off and got lost
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cateye LD 500 LED Red Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
treky
from waltham abbey essex
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedApril 14, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great, Good value, Good quality
great rear light.on flashing mode it is very bright in low light and in the dark so cars will see you.good fitting on seat tube
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cateye LD 500 LED Red Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
merrett64
from London
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

LD 500 rear light

PostedFebruary 23, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Only rear light that we could find to fit a rear pannier rack
Built in reflector and nice sized, noticeable bright light
Two modes, constant and flashing.
Battery life is good and takes two AAA batteries
Lens unclips for battery replacement.
Has lasted well and have had no problems with water / snow.
Turned out to be a good buy.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cateye LD 500 LED Red Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fern
from Blackheath
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Generally good

PostedDecember 12, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great, Good value, Good quality
never failed and after a year still works with same batteries.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cateye LD 500 LED Red Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yellowbiker
from West Surrey
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Bright light with reflector.

PostedDecember 11, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I bought this light to fit to my new road bike, as I wanted a light with a built in reflector which I could fit to an aero seatpost
It also has a fitting clip to attach to clothing or a seatpack.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cateye LD 500 LED Red Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Paul1878
from Leeds
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Adequate Supplementary Rear Light

PostedDecember 11, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
I wanted two rear lights in case one failed and also to double the visibility. I chose this one to leave on non-flash mode because it has a large surface area, and the other rear light is left on flash mode as this is smaller so more noticable flicking on and off.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cateye LD 500 LED Red Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fasthedgehog
from bristol
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

rear light

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Unattractive
I found it hard to find a light that was definately compatibile with a panier frame. this one is. It is a good quality build.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.