Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light

Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light

Overall rating:
4.04 / 5
4
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
22 out of 25(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Review 1 for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kiddus
Country:Australia
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

5 Star light

Posted16 April 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I have rear racks on two bikes and now both have this tail light on them.Definitely the best rear light on the market, the price was exceptional as was the delivery time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bikePerson

So far, so good!

Posted14 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Spreads the light nicely and is bright enough. Also has nice options for bolting to the rack. It is quite a big reflector/ light though!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BooTheMightyHamster
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Need a rack light? Look no further...

Posted15 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
I was looking for a rear light that would fit to my rack, rather than on the saddle tube, and this seemed to fit the bill perfectly.
Simple to fit, with fixings included in the pack, and with two sets of punch-out holes to fit any standard rack.
It takes 2 AA batteries and shows a steady light (no flashing option due, I believe, to German regulations), operated by a simple switch underneath the light.
Downsides? Well it's not the most robust construction, and as as it's the exact width of my rack, I need to take care if leaning the bike against a wall. Secondly, you need a Phillips screwdriver to open the case to change the batteries, which I don't always have with me.
But overall, for the money, it's a great light, that's visible from the sides as well as the rear.
Bright, cost effective and simple to fit.
Recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
acciaio
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Perfect for use with a rack

Posted20 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Very hard to find a rear light in the UK that fits permanently on a rear rack, and it happens to be a good one. Well made, bright enough for town use. Hard to fault, really.
Note there is no flashing option (to comply with German regs I understand), although personally don't see this as a problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
VRevDrJC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

For a fixed constant rear light - it's the biz

Posted26 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Unattractive
This replaced a B&M rear light on my wife's Pashley. It is now brighter however than the original it replaced having 4 leds instead of 2. It also has high 180 degree plus visibility so drivers emerging from side roads can see you.
If I was being picky I would have liked a flashing option - but this is a german product where different laws apply. So it is what it is. And if that's what you want, this model does the job very nicely, thank you B&M.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TOSNW

fix & forget

Posted08 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Integrated reflector and red-light, permanently fitted to my rack …
Just what I needed !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OrangeB
Country:United Kingdom

Bolt it on and know it's always there if needed

Posted23 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, secure
If you've got standard rack light mounts this rear light is perfect. Variations are 2-LED, 4-LED (this one) and automatic.
Bolt it on and it's unlikely to get stolen or otherwise lost. Fits within the width of the rack and below the top of the rack so it's hard to knock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jeeves
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Very useful instead of/as well as a seatpost lamp

Posted06 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: no flashing mode
A good option for rack users who can't put a rear light on their seatposts (e.g. because a saddle bag or other fixing gets in the way), and can't put one on the side of their racks (e.g. because the pannier gets in the way). Or to just as a second rear light. It's pretty robust, and not easy to remove by a casual thief (that said, anyone with tools could steal it quite quickly). The sideways visibility of the light is a bonus. A flash mode would have been useful, but the beam is pretty broad and bright compared to a lot if small flashing lights.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Insurgenti
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Compact, simple and clutter free

Posted21 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, ease of use
Replaced the reflectoer on my wife's bicycle rack with this as it has the lights and reflector in one unit. Keeps the rack clutter free for her panniers. Straight forward and simple solution to what was required.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
climb45

Good solid light

Posted18 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, bright light
Cons: no quick release
This is a good quality light, simple features but very visible. No quick release facility so not a light that you would take on and off the bike.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BigoldAl
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A good, bright light, with low battery warning.

Posted11 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, safety
Cons: switch at bottom
Its good to have a built-in battery level indicator, the light is bright, LEDs do not fail like a bulb can, the reflector works, and mounted on the back of the pannier carrier so is always visible. All very safe.
Some difficulty fitting, because the switch is at the bottom, and rattles against the mudguard. Remedied by 3/8 inch padding between the back of the lamp and the mounting plate, but switch still not easy to get at.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
robertbodger
from Far East! ie. Lowestoft
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted03 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This is not a cheap back light, but it incorporates a reflector and is designed to fit on the back of a luggage rack. It's well made and robust, and easy to fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MikeNS
from Buckingham
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A good piece of kit

Posted02 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Of simple construction and well made, this carrier-mounted rear light meets UK legal requirements and is easy to install.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PhillG
from Bristol
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Permanent Rear Light

Posted06 December 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great 4 LED light running on two AA batteries with wide angle coverage. Fixes on end of pannier rack and has two sets of screw holes to frt most racks. Screws provided. V easy to fit and good quality plastic moulding.
For me the best thing is the wide angle coverage i.e. people can see you from any angle at the rear, high, low or left right.
Because it's bolted on it is relatively thief proof
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TimS
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Big light for pannier rack

Posted02 December 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: high visibility
Seems like a good light, but a bit of hassle changing the batteries.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
DavidE128
from Sussex
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very dissapointing.

Posted05 November 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive, poor design, too big, no fitting instructions, batteries aren't even included!
I had high hopes for this light. I wanted a light that would fit on the expedition rack of my Birdy in place of the reflector. It seemed like a neat solution and the sensor option seemed like a good idea too. I couldn't find this kind of product from anyone else, so I had to accept the excessive price. I figured that being made in Germany it would be great quality and a great design (like the Birdy itself!) but I was wrong on both counts.
In fact, for me, it is unusable. The light is so bulky (front to back and side to side) that it prevents my Ortlieb panniers from attaching to the rack rails at all. That makes the rack useless so i'm back to the reflector.
The quality of construction is awful. When assembled, with the screws all done up, gently squeezing the sides of the light make it creak! (and there are small gaps at the sides that close when you squeeze it too. I double checked that it was assembled correctly, the mouldings just aren't accurate and one screw isn't enough to hold it all together properly. It's obvious the moulding tools are cheaply made, it feels cheap all over.
To make matters worse, the bolt and nut arrangement is over-engineered and fiddly and there are no fitting instructions!
Just two self tapping screws like the reflector is was meant to replace would have been better.
The internal design, especially the battery mount and contacts is like a cheap child's toy. In fact, I haven't witnessed such a cheap feeling bike light since the 1980s and I've used a lot since then, most of which were half the price of this one!
Another piece of poor design is that the light sensor points up at the rack. That's not going to work on many racks.
This light would have been poor value at about £10. For £35, it leaves a bad taste in the mouth. They even have the cheek not to throw in a pair of AAs!
I'll never buy a Busch&Muller product again.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
DavidE128
 
Please wait while more information about DavidE128 is loaded.
Additional information about DavidE128 could not be loaded.
Follow up
Posted 18 November 2013
Just as a follow up, I've found a home for this on the tandem, (topeak rack) where the battery life has proved to be quite good. I'm still not happy with the poor quality feel, but it is functional. The sensor seems to work ok, but I would like it to come on much sooner as light is fading. I wouldn't want to put this on a bike without mudguards as there are no seals to keep water out.
An alternative product that I have bee much more impressed with the RSP tourlite. Brighter, better light coverage, better sealed and much better build quality. Also less likely to get in the way of panniers and is neatly compatible with my Birdy folding bike. The default spacing on the RSP tourlite is 80mm but can be made to fit 50mm racks easily.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 17 for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CumbriaCommuter
from Cockermouth, Cumbria
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Busch & Muller Permanent 4 LED Rear Light

Posted24 October 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, functional
I purchased this rear light to replace my AXA light that perished in the Cockermouth floods in November 2009. I had originally replaced it with a light fixed to the saddle stem, but this proved ineffective when the rear rack is loaded.
After purchasing the Busch & Muller rear light, that fixes permanently to the end of the rack, I have been very pleased with it. The illumination is very bright, the quality of the product is excellent and the large reflector is an added bonus.
I commute from Cockermouth to Workington using the back lanes, along the Reivers Route, which is completely unlit in the winter months. Therefore a bright light is vital in order to be seen at night.
I would recomment this light to anyone who has a rear carrier. It serves all requirements and should last for many years, floods excepting!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
McMaxster
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good addition

Posted26 September 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this for the rear of my commuting bike. It fits securely on the back of the rack, is nice and light, and is great for people like me who rush out of the house without everything I need.
Only complaint is that there is no flashing mode but I use it in conjunction with a flashing rear light on my helmet. But I think the solid light helps cars judge how far away you are. The internals seem quite flimsy but it's held up okay so far.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bromptonman
from Tyneside
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Size matters

Posted14 September 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive, too big, no flash mode
Seemed like a good design, with holes for 5cm and 8cm width rack fittings. Others have bewailed the lack of a flashing facility. My problem was that it is 6cm from top to bottom and would not fit between the rack and the mudguard on child's 26inch bike. So, hoping for a refund and still looking for a decent rear carrier lamp. Brompton's (5cm) comes with front light too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
pilgrim
from South East
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Does the job

Posted02 June 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
As a long distance tourer a rack light is essential, and having a large reflector built in is a bonus. This light makes me legal in a number of European countries (though oddly not in Germany, despite the light coming from there). The light only offers a constant light, and personally I will continue to add a flashing light to increase visibility. B & M make a number of different rack lights and my complaint is the lack of choice available from UK retailers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>