Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light

Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light

Overall rating:
3.9 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
24 out of 30Would you recommend this product to a friend?80%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer reviews for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Review 1 for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Australia
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

5 Star light

Posted16 April 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I have rear racks on two bikes and now both have this tail light on them.Definitely the best rear light on the market, the price was exceptional as was the delivery time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

First impressions ..

Posted21 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Looks great
First impressions... This baby is huge!
I can understand now some of the other commenters when they said the internals appear somewhat flimsy, we'll see how they stand the test of time (so I may come back to this review for editing purposes, but I hope not).
In my kitchen on a dull October afternoon she seems bright enough... Will have another look later when dusk falls... But it's better than the small reflector it replaces on my Topeak rack...
As Little Red Riding Hood might say "Oh my... What a big light you have..."
To which I would reply, "All the better for seeing me by..."
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
It was bought:St Paul's

Great fit and forget light.

Posted25 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, fit and forget
Cons: needs a pannier
This is the second of these lights I have had fitted in the past 5 years, the first got smashed in a multi-storey cycle storage accident, (but that's a tale for another time).
The light is permanent, fit and forget, difficult to steal, though not impossible, I add a little superglue to the fittings to help out. It's tough and the batteries last for ages.
Mostly it's impossible to forget your rear light this way, during the 5 years I have had this, I have had a dozen other detachable lights that either detach as I go over a pothole, or I lose somewhere, or get broken in my bag, or I forget and leave on the bike and they get stolen. So whilst you can get much cheaper lights on ebay, I think it's great value for money.
This light fits to the pannier and is a static (non flashing) light. I prefer to fit a static light front and rear as well as some flashers. As a car driver I know in poor conditions it's sometimes difficult to gauge distance with just flashers.
The position of the light at the rear of the pannier is also a perfect spot not to get obstructed by panniers or other luggage, like I find the seat post mounted lights sometimes do. The light also shows where the rear of your bike is, again something seat post lights don't always do.
The light is visible from 270 degrees so easy to spot from the side as well as just the rear. And plenty bright without being distracting to drivers.
This is the battery version there is also a dynamo version equally robust.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Utility light but...

Posted29 March 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great, battery level indicator
Cons: Expensive, switch set up
So it's got a big reflector and two rear facing LEDs, and two more on each flank for decent side visibility. So far so good. But with my set-up the on-off switch rubs on the rear mudguard. The unit is so big that the switch (centrally located on the underside of the reflector) is so close to the standard fit mudguard that I can't get my finger to it. I'm using it a Topeak carrier.
I though German legal, good brand light would be better thought out. Hey ho.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Great light IF rewired to external battery

Posted14 March 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
This is a great rear light seriously let down by the poor quality of the internal battery arrangements. In my case these simply fell apart after the second time I changed the batteries (the small single screw access is also inappropriately fiddly for the application). I have added my own external battery pack which I keep in a pannier pocket and have a wire from the light to plug in. Since I have done that the light has been great. I would recommend it to anyone prepared to modify it in the same way, but not othewise
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It was bought:Online

Faulty swtich

Posted07 March 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
Light intermittently stopped working - appeard to be a faulty switch or connection. Evans excellent customer service replaced this immediately with identical light - same issue!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far, so good!

Posted14 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Spreads the light nicely and is bright enough. Also has nice options for bolting to the rack. It is quite a big reflector/ light though!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Need a rack light? Look no further...

Posted15 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
I was looking for a rear light that would fit to my rack, rather than on the saddle tube, and this seemed to fit the bill perfectly.
Simple to fit, with fixings included in the pack, and with two sets of punch-out holes to fit any standard rack.
It takes 2 AA batteries and shows a steady light (no flashing option due, I believe, to German regulations), operated by a simple switch underneath the light.
Downsides? Well it's not the most robust construction, and as as it's the exact width of my rack, I need to take care if leaning the bike against a wall. Secondly, you need a Phillips screwdriver to open the case to change the batteries, which I don't always have with me.
But overall, for the money, it's a great light, that's visible from the sides as well as the rear.
Bright, cost effective and simple to fit.
Recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Perfect for use with a rack

Posted20 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Very hard to find a rear light in the UK that fits permanently on a rear rack, and it happens to be a good one. Well made, bright enough for town use. Hard to fault, really.
Note there is no flashing option (to comply with German regs I understand), although personally don't see this as a problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

For a fixed constant rear light - it's the biz

Posted26 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Unattractive
This replaced a B&M rear light on my wife's Pashley. It is now brighter however than the original it replaced having 4 leds instead of 2. It also has high 180 degree plus visibility so drivers emerging from side roads can see you.
If I was being picky I would have liked a flashing option - but this is a german product where different laws apply. So it is what it is. And if that's what you want, this model does the job very nicely, thank you B&M.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

fix & forget

Posted08 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Integrated reflector and red-light, permanently fitted to my rack …
Just what I needed !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom

Bolt it on and know it's always there if needed

Posted23 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, secure
If you've got standard rack light mounts this rear light is perfect. Variations are 2-LED, 4-LED (this one) and automatic.
Bolt it on and it's unlikely to get stolen or otherwise lost. Fits within the width of the rack and below the top of the rack so it's hard to knock.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Very useful instead of/as well as a seatpost lamp

Posted06 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: no flashing mode
A good option for rack users who can't put a rear light on their seatposts (e.g. because a saddle bag or other fixing gets in the way), and can't put one on the side of their racks (e.g. because the pannier gets in the way). Or to just as a second rear light. It's pretty robust, and not easy to remove by a casual thief (that said, anyone with tools could steal it quite quickly). The sideways visibility of the light is a bonus. A flash mode would have been useful, but the beam is pretty broad and bright compared to a lot if small flashing lights.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Compact, simple and clutter free

Posted21 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, ease of use
Replaced the reflectoer on my wife's bicycle rack with this as it has the lights and reflector in one unit. Keeps the rack clutter free for her panniers. Straight forward and simple solution to what was required.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good solid light

Posted18 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, bright light
Cons: no quick release
This is a good quality light, simple features but very visible. No quick release facility so not a light that you would take on and off the bike.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A good, bright light, with low battery warning.

Posted11 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, safety
Cons: switch at bottom
Its good to have a built-in battery level indicator, the light is bright, LEDs do not fail like a bulb can, the reflector works, and mounted on the back of the pannier carrier so is always visible. All very safe.
Some difficulty fitting, because the switch is at the bottom, and rattles against the mudguard. Remedied by 3/8 inch padding between the back of the lamp and the mounting plate, but switch still not easy to get at.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from Far East! ie. Lowestoft
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted03 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This is not a cheap back light, but it incorporates a reflector and is designed to fit on the back of a luggage rack. It's well made and robust, and easy to fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
from Buckingham
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A good piece of kit

Posted02 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Of simple construction and well made, this carrier-mounted rear light meets UK legal requirements and is easy to install.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from Bristol
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Permanent Rear Light

Posted06 December 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great 4 LED light running on two AA batteries with wide angle coverage. Fixes on end of pannier rack and has two sets of screw holes to frt most racks. Screws provided. V easy to fit and good quality plastic moulding.
For me the best thing is the wide angle coverage i.e. people can see you from any angle at the rear, high, low or left right.
Because it's bolted on it is relatively thief proof
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Busch and Muller D Toplight Permanent 4 LED Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Big light for pannier rack

Posted02 December 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: high visibility
Seems like a good light, but a bit of hassle changing the batteries.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>