Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Tacx Quick Release Skewer

Tacx Quick Release Skewer

Overall rating:
4.562 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
16 out of 16(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for Tacx Quick Release Skewer
Review 1 for Tacx Quick Release Skewer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BrianB72
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Maidstone

Absolute life saver

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Having decided to drag my old turbo trainer out of retirement I found I'd lost the quick release skewer, after a couple of hairy moments trying to make a normal skewer work I set about looking for a new trainer, not even thinking Evans would actually carry spares! So on to the website and less than 2 hours later the road bike has moved from the work stand to the turbo trainer! I've now not only covered a fair few miles but also shifted a lot more excessive pounds!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tacx Quick Release Skewer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
toastersrock
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Does what it says on the tin

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Great product for use with my new turbo trainer. Easy to use and tightens without the need for a lot of force
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tacx Quick Release Skewer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Slacky
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

It does what it says on the tin

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
If you ride your bike on a turbo and you care about your bike you need one of these. The bike is held much more firmly, you can stand when Sufferfest tells you too and you don't wreck your road skewer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tacx Quick Release Skewer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Paul84
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Clapham

Great heavy duty skewer for turbos

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good, solid skewer for Tacx trainers. Heavy duty compared to normal riding skewers so perfect for a turbo. Wont fit all turbo trainers as well as tacx trainers. Good for preseving your riding skewers
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tacx Quick Release Skewer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Milo1971
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Does exactly what it is designed to do. Quick and easy to fit and take off again before your next ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tacx Quick Release Skewer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pppp
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

A fine skewer

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
It fits well in the turbo trainer and can even be left in the wheel when you go on the road
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tacx Quick Release Skewer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shayno01

Perfect

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Perfect fit for the bike. Solid skewer and has given me no problems.
Does exactly what it says on the tin. Thanks Evans, delivery and service was again, excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tacx Quick Release Skewer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect fit for my turbo trainer

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I did not know which skewer to replace my solid mount, I needed a spare to mount for the Turbo Trainer. Evans cycles answered by query email responding out of hours, and it was ordered same evening.
Fits perfectly, great price, great service
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tacx Quick Release Skewer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SnappyJon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does exactly what you would expect it to do

PostedApril 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
It's a no fuss quick release skewer with 'fuller' ends to allow easy, fast and secure rear wheel mounting/dismounting on Tacx resistance trainers. This one was purchased as a replacement for the previous one, which was stolen ... along with the bicycle it was attached to.
It doesn't look particularly out of place even when riding the bicycle on the road.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tacx Quick Release Skewer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tripod16
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Product

PostedMarch 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
It does what it says on the tin. Good price and steady product, highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tacx Quick Release Skewer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
baggy101

passes the Ronseal test...

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
a necessary replacement for my modern QR skewers to ensure the back wheel attaches securely into the turbo trainer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tacx Quick Release Skewer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yapper
from East Devon
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Handy Product

PostedMay 3, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Bought this skewer so i could put my wifes bike on the trainer quickly and easily without removing the skewer from my bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tacx Quick Release Skewer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
beep
from kent
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female

PostedSeptember 6, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
bought this to fit to my turbo trainer - please note to those changing the whole wheel to a quick release you also need an axle! but all now up and running and working well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tacx Quick Release Skewer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cynical
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
  • Staff

PostedDecember 13, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Really optional, however it closes a good fit on the overall bikes performance, very strong and easy to remove with it's quick release.
I recommend. ag
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tacx Quick Release Skewer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cyclejo86
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: fit perfectly
Cons: Heavy
Exactly what I was expecting from this quick release. Would recommend to somebody
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tacx Quick Release Skewer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Showbiz
from Ashford, Kent
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Does exactly what it says on the tin!

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Currently using this with my Tacx Trainer on a Focus Hybrid fitted with a Continental Home Trainer tyre. The bike is extremely stable in the frame and I find the skewer is perfectly long enough - I don't use the full length and I reckon my bike is fairly wide at the back.
If you're still using a 'normal' QR skewer with your Tacx Trainer then I would recommend changing for one of these to give you the best power transfer and prolong the life of all the components that are streseed when you use a trainer (hubs, spoke, rims etc).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.