Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Brompton Battery Light Set

Brompton Battery Light Set

Please Note that Brompton Accessories cannot be purchased for international delivery and can only be delivered to an address within the UK.
Overall rating:
3.823 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
15 out of 17(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for Brompton Battery Light Set
Review 1 for Brompton Battery Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BigSmokeCyclist
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great, except back light ahould flash

Posted22 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, good fit
Cons: no flash on rear light
These lights are designed to fit perfectly on the brompton and are great if you don;t want the very expensive dynamo lights. The front light is very bright and can be positioned where you like and the back light is attached where the reflectors are on the standard model, perhaps a bit low but the only alternative would be to fit a light to the rear of the seat, underneath.
The only problem is the back light doesn't have a flashing mode, this prolongs battery life and I think gets motorists attention better. Overall a good product though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brompton Battery Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mur38
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Perfect light and original for Brompton

Posted19 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Easy to attach. For the rear you will need Phillips screwdriver and 6 mm spanner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brompton Battery Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SammyC46
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Brilliant product & great service

Posted10 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Can't go wrong with a Brompton. A bit expensive but it looks durable. Delivery from Evans was faster than I've expected. Evans have lived up to good service whether in the shop or by post. Impressed
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brompton Battery Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
e2ecr
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great set for backup

Posted06 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
The light set is a simple choice for back up lights on the Brompton. The rear light is especially good as it does not obstruct the folding of the bike at all. IF you place the front light in a certain place you wouldn't need to remove when folding either.
Worth purchasing with the Brompton from day 1 in my opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brompton Battery Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
elperfecto
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Decent set of lights

Posted19 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
The back light is really good and it's super easy to fit on a 2013 Brompton. The problem lies with the front LED light, in itself it's also really easy to fit, but you can't fold the handle bars with the light attached thus creating an extra step to the fold.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brompton Battery Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Geordie5752
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Lights made for a Brompton

Posted06 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Fit perfect however, make sure you have the right frame for the rear light. The older Bromptons need a new attachment . They are expensive but do provide good light
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brompton Battery Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
losingstreaker
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

if you have a Brompton, you should get these

Posted13 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, best fit for brompton
Cons: rear light doesn't flash
I tried to fix other lights that I've got and it just didn't work.
these lights are purpose built – the back one attaches to the frame and is very solidly built. One thing that is a pity is that it doesn't flash.
the front light is very bright and all in all I'm very happy with them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brompton Battery Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Milford88
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit, but a little on the expensive side.

Posted05 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, easy to fit
Cons: Expensive
Fitted the brompton well as expected. Give good visibility. Little expensive and could come with the bike, which would be a nice extra (particularly the rear light).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brompton Battery Light Set
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Maisydot
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

only good for commuting not for seeing

Posted14 December 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
the lights are not strong enough and do not give enought light to see on dark roads where street lights are minimal
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brompton Battery Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Eustoncommuter
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Rear light great! Front light, mmm

Posted22 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I have an SL-2 the rear light was so easy to fit. Looks ands operates perfectly. It feels like a really well made bit of kit. Would love it more if it had a flash option.
The front light is not as great as a similar cat eye product. It feels cheaper than the rear light. The light also has to be removed on the S bars before dropping the folding mechanism.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brompton Battery Light Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
BromptonRider1
from Washington Tyne and Wear
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Decent lights - bright and easy to use

Posted23 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
These are a decent light set for the Brompton. Rear light is a Brompton specific light desgned for the bike and stays on when you fold. The front light is not Brompton specific but is a decent light and the set comes with a bracket specific to the Brompton M type bars to help fit it. You need to take the front light off to fold, which is a shame and the reason I gave this 3 instead of 4 stars.. I would have given 3 and a half if I could as I am pleased with the lights.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brompton Battery Light Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
MrBloke
from Surrey
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

More than disappointing

Posted20 February 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
Nice idea but the rear light is rubbish.
Atrocious build quality. The battery terminals are far too easy to bend out of shape, the battery life is poor and after only 2 months I now find it is impossible to turn the light off; it just comes on when I put new batteries in and stays on. The front light is ok but no better than that. Check the reflector mount on your brompton and if the mounting screws are at 50mm centres buy a cateye rackmount bracket and one of their rear lights, they're brighter and better on the batteries.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brompton Battery Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Coulso
from Cambridgeshire
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great rear light, front light ok

Posted20 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, fits bike well
Cons: no falsh on rear light, front light could be better for money
The rear light is great. It fits on to my new brompton s-type in place of the reflector. it took about two minutes to fit. Please note it doesn't flash, ie. either on continuosly or off.
The front light is ok, it is bright enough (it does have a flash setting?). It was slightly more dificult to fit than the rear light, and I managed to scratch the handlebars of my brand new bike putting it on. For the price, you can get better alternatives, the only trick would be to make sure the handlebars will fold with it on. As the light is not as small as some others on the market this might not be that hard to do!
All in all a good package, since I didn't have the time to look around and check the fit of alternatives front light.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brompton Battery Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jing

A good buy but back-light doesn't have flash mode

Posted14 January 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive, no flash mode for backlight
I bought some cheap lights that didn't work very well and then decided to invest a little more on some proper lights for my brompton. This is a good buy. However the back light doesn't have a flash mode which is a fatal flaw.
Generally they are bright and last long. I would recommend, if you don't care about flashing backlight very much.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brompton Battery Light Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Kate27

Prompt but not perfect

Posted30 October 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: missing parts
The lights are fantastic and were delivered promptly. However, the pack was missing the washers needed to fix the lights to the bike.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brompton Battery Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Axit
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

The perfect light set.

Posted30 September 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
having tried various front lights which do the same job, I do find this one blindingly bright, with the option of constant and flashing, and you do get a considerable amount of use from a set of batteries. The back light is also very bright, and I am yet to wear out a set of batteries, but I also use a compact flashing rear that sits high on the seat stem for extra visibility.
All in all an excellent light package, that I highly recommend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brompton Battery Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bromptonman
from Tyneside
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Does what it says on the packet

Posted20 September 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
These are well-designed lights for their purpose, and come with a mount for the front light. The helpful instructions point out that the carrier fittings for the rear light are removable, as it is hard to get a spanner into position to fit it directly to the carrier. It is a pity that the rear light is not available on its own, since this is the one that is specific for the Brompton. Many front lights woudl fit a bike with the right mounting piece.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.