Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Panniers & Rack Bags or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair

Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair

Overall rating:
4.52 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
25 out of 25(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Review 1 for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
coachchris708f
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, easy to fit
Cons: none
Easy to fit, has given my pannier a new lease of life and doubled by carrying capability.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dbmusic
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Just what I needed!

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
So glad that replacement hooks were available after I broke one following a fall. Good price, superb delivery time. Very happy indeed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
richardah
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Shame thst these spares are needed, simple to use

PostedMay 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
I broke one of these pannier rail hooks when I fell off my bike, not a very strong design, but the replacements weren't expensive and came very quickly when I ordered them on the Evans Cycles website.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jogu
from Glasgow, UK
It was bought:Online

Great having spare parts available

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
One of the hooks on my altura urban briefcase gave way on my way into work one day. I was very happy to find out it was both possible to buy spare parts (something that is so rare these days!) and that evans had them in stock.
Less impressed with the amount of time it took evans to dispatch them, but overall happy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bean02
from UK, Brighton
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Really easy to fit

PostedDecember 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
This is basically a replacement hook for the Altura Urban briefcase pannier bag I purchased from Evans about 4 years ago - the bag is fab and has a lot of punishment so I wasn't surprised the holding hook gave way as I was overloading it. Really glad that Evans have spare parts!! Speedy mail service & now have one spare hook in case the other goes.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NewJersey

PostedNovember 9, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
I like the panniers and rail hooks, and have had no problems yet. These were in case I do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pete7
from Northumberland
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Did exactly what it said on the tin

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Product arrived just as promised, after an easy e-purchase. Well worth the expense to save a 70-quid Altura pannier bag from the dumpster (I do worry a bit about the overall design ot the pannier mounting though, given the number of people buying these spares!).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Snodpops
from Birmingham
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Rubber handles a bit too long!

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, easy to use
Cons: handle too long, no tying down of tool pockets
The Altura system is extremely well thought out, but has a couple of minor details which can be addressed by the user, Even though I have very large hands, I found the rubber handles were too long to effect single-handed release/clicking on, of the bag per side, when the other hand is usually needed to guide the hook and clips in simultaneously.
I simply removed everything, took the rubber strap off, shortened it by cutting it with a sharp craft knife. then re-punching the two holes with a leather punch, and re-fitting. Now I can do all the action with one hand,as the other is needed to guide the bag in or out, especially if it is full and weighty. I'dlike to see the side pockets secured with hok and loop or something similar, as there is no way to tie them tight other than hoping the bag cover will keep them covered, and tools have gone missing, probably when hitting bumps nd potholes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fieldcyclist
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Altura Pannier Rail Hooks

PostedOctober 7, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Very pleased with these replacement hooks. They fitted my 4 year old Altura Panniers very well, they're well designed and easy to assemble. No comlaints at all really. Just a good, simple yet vital piece required to hang panniers well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Madbird
from London and Europe
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Disappointing

PostedSeptember 30, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
The hooks themselves were fine however they did not come with the screw - thankfully I kept the old when when the hook snapped off my old one when someone ran into the back of me. Not sure if they sell the screw separately.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PannierMan

Altura Pannier hooks

PostedJune 22, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Great product, exactly as ordered, arrived fast and easy to fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
alkaseltza
from Cambridge
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Altura

PostedJune 1, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Altura Panniers. Had mine for years. I broke one of the rail hooks. These paniers are so good they are worth getting spares and having them quickly supplied by Evans Cycles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sante
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

PostedApril 30, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
the pannier rail hooks are good and fit perfectly usable. they will do the job as intended which is to hold the panniers in place.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steve12341

Helpful

PostedMarch 22, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Easy to fix panniers after the existing hooked cracked
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LycraLad
from St Albans
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Form and Function

PostedFebruary 3, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Replacement clips easy to fix to panniers - they do what they are meant to do, as simple as that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bendybiker
from Bristol
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good product with excellent service

PostedDecember 21, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I was in great need after a rather vicious pothole did for my panier hooks (and it would be the day I borrowed my partners panier rather than taking my own). Evans was one of the few places I found replacement hooks online and the cheapest and they arrived the next day. So although i had fessed up to breaking his pannier that, i had fixed it by the time he was home from work the next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Woodster
from Essex
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Cheaper to Repair

PostedAugust 7, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
One hook broke on the pannier and I thought I would have to buy a complete new pannier. However, having looked at Evans web site found that Altura supplied spares for nearly everything on the pannier.
The pannier hooks came in a pack of two so one spare for the next crash!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LizY
from Warwickshire
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Great 'spares' product

PostedJuly 20, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Had a crash and snapped pannier fixing, very pleased to be able to buy a spare part rather than a new pannier. Fitted easily. Delighted customer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

pannier hooks

PostedJune 6, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Broke my new Altura panniers in a crunch with a mate who wasn't looking ahead. Needed new pannier hooks these are the babies !
Great product -didn't have to buy new panniers !
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RideToWork
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Repair and save

PostedJune 2, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, supports cycling's sustainability credentials
I managed to revive my Altura pannier by replacing a broken rail hook rather than having to replace the whole pannier.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>