Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Panniers & Rack Bags or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair

Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair

Overall rating:
4.552 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
29 out of 29Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Review 1 for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Replacement clips extend the life of panniers

Posted02 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I was so pleased to find I could purchase some new clips. I thought i would have to ditch my panniers. These replacement clips are easy to fit and well worth the cost. Evans dispatched them quickly and efficiently.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It was bought:Bristol

Good replacement for any issues you might have...

Posted31 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Exactly the same as the standard original hooks that come with Altura panniers, good quality and strong. Although this is the second pair I have had to buy as replacements, both times they have snapped has been due to accidents on/off the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Pannier Hooks

Posted25 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
After a cycling accident with a car I was pleased that Altura were able to offer spares for their pannier systems. Great service from Evans as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
It was bought:Waterloo Road

Perfect replacement hooks

Posted06 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Using my Altura Pannier now for about 4 years on a daily basis. AVG 25 miles in all weather conditions. The pannier itself is still waterproof and stays dry. Only just recently one of the Rail Hooks broke, so I needed replacement. Great that its still possible to get this Pannier Rail Hooks for a competitive prize.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted05 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, easy to fit
Cons: none
Easy to fit, has given my pannier a new lease of life and doubled by carrying capability.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Just what I needed!

Posted27 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
So glad that replacement hooks were available after I broke one following a fall. Good price, superb delivery time. Very happy indeed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Shame thst these spares are needed, simple to use

Posted23 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
I broke one of these pannier rail hooks when I fell off my bike, not a very strong design, but the replacements weren't expensive and came very quickly when I ordered them on the Evans Cycles website.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from Glasgow, UK
It was bought:Online

Great having spare parts available

Posted03 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
One of the hooks on my altura urban briefcase gave way on my way into work one day. I was very happy to find out it was both possible to buy spare parts (something that is so rare these days!) and that evans had them in stock.
Less impressed with the amount of time it took evans to dispatch them, but overall happy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
from UK, Brighton
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Really easy to fit

Posted05 December 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
This is basically a replacement hook for the Altura Urban briefcase pannier bag I purchased from Evans about 4 years ago - the bag is fab and has a lot of punishment so I wasn't surprised the holding hook gave way as I was overloading it. Really glad that Evans have spare parts!! Speedy mail service & now have one spare hook in case the other goes.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted09 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
I like the panniers and rail hooks, and have had no problems yet. These were in case I do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from Northumberland
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Did exactly what it said on the tin

Posted30 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Product arrived just as promised, after an easy e-purchase. Well worth the expense to save a 70-quid Altura pannier bag from the dumpster (I do worry a bit about the overall design ot the pannier mounting though, given the number of people buying these spares!).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
from Birmingham
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Rubber handles a bit too long!

Posted24 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, easy to use
Cons: handle too long, no tying down of tool pockets
The Altura system is extremely well thought out, but has a couple of minor details which can be addressed by the user, Even though I have very large hands, I found the rubber handles were too long to effect single-handed release/clicking on, of the bag per side, when the other hand is usually needed to guide the hook and clips in simultaneously.
I simply removed everything, took the rubber strap off, shortened it by cutting it with a sharp craft knife. then re-punching the two holes with a leather punch, and re-fitting. Now I can do all the action with one hand,as the other is needed to guide the bag in or out, especially if it is full and weighty. I'dlike to see the side pockets secured with hok and loop or something similar, as there is no way to tie them tight other than hoping the bag cover will keep them covered, and tools have gone missing, probably when hitting bumps nd potholes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Altura Pannier Rail Hooks

Posted07 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Very pleased with these replacement hooks. They fitted my 4 year old Altura Panniers very well, they're well designed and easy to assemble. No comlaints at all really. Just a good, simple yet vital piece required to hang panniers well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
from London and Europe
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Disappointing

Posted30 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
The hooks themselves were fine however they did not come with the screw - thankfully I kept the old when when the hook snapped off my old one when someone ran into the back of me. Not sure if they sell the screw separately.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Altura Pannier hooks

Posted22 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Great product, exactly as ordered, arrived fast and easy to fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from Cambridge
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Altura

Posted01 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Altura Panniers. Had mine for years. I broke one of the rail hooks. These paniers are so good they are worth getting spares and having them quickly supplied by Evans Cycles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Posted30 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
the pannier rail hooks are good and fit perfectly usable. they will do the job as intended which is to hold the panniers in place.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Helpful

Posted22 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Easy to fix panniers after the existing hooked cracked
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from St Albans
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Form and Function

Posted03 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Replacement clips easy to fix to panniers - they do what they are meant to do, as simple as that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Altura Pannier Rail Hooks - Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from Bristol
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good product with excellent service

Posted21 December 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I was in great need after a rather vicious pothole did for my panier hooks (and it would be the day I borrowed my partners panier rather than taking my own). Evans was one of the few places I found replacement hooks online and the cheapest and they arrived the next day. So although i had fessed up to breaking his pannier that, i had fixed it by the time he was home from work the next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>