Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Kickstands or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Pletscher Double Leg Center Kickstand

Pletscher Double Leg Center Kickstand

Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 12(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
43 Questions | 56 Answers
Customer reviews for Pletscher Double Leg Center Kickstand
Review 1 for Pletscher Double Leg Center Kickstand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pugwash53
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

A good stable kickstand

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Fitting was a bit fiddly, but once you get it in place it is really secure. It lifts the rear wheel well clear of the ground making adjustments and lubrication of the chain and gears easy. A backpack or similar on the rack will tilt the bike so the front wheel is off the ground.
I didn't shorten the legs and the bike is still stable. It seemed to me that you need to fit the stand to the bike to judge how much to saw off the legs. You're then faced with the fiddly job of refitting it all over again.
Excellent design has both legs folding up on the left side of the bike. They are close together and don't interfere with anything. They are spring loaded so when they're up they stay up, and when they're down they stay down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pletscher Double Leg Center Kickstand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SusanC
Country:Australia
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Like the kickstand but need feet on legs

PostedJune 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
This seems to be a robus kickstand, it doesn't interfer with any of my cables, and is stable on firm ground. The only problem is that as there are no feet on the legs it can sink in soft ground thereby causing the bike to tip. Good for a touring bike that will be loaded with gear.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pletscher Double Leg Center Kickstand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
harryw66
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Works really well, easy to fit

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I had a cheap kickstand which was tricky to deploy and kept shifting around.
This is perfect - very smooth slick open and close movement.
Lifts the rear wheel a few cm of the ground so make it easier to turn the crank when working on the bike.
Bike still seems stable despite being off the ground.
Also, the supplied rubber protector means you can really tighten the bolt without worry of damaging the paint work.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pletscher Double Leg Center Kickstand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pwei
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good product - few things to watch out for

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
OK. Great stand does everything you would think.
It will need the legs cutting to length (junior hacksaw will be just fine - and a file will help). It doesn't come with rubber feet, which are an optional extra.
Fitting can be a massive pain. Firstly be careful about some of the Q&A on here, i was fitting this to a 2013 Ridgeback Meteor womans (rather similar to the Ridgeback Speed in the Q&A it 'fits' - in fact the same frame) and the stand required 'modification to fit'. This is fine if you have a Hillman Imp, its like fitting most parts. Although i can imagine that this would be somewhat offputting to a lot of people.
If your bike has a limited amount of space between the seat tube and the wheel, then this may not be ideal, although if it is not fitted with a front derailier then you will probably get away with it.
In summary - great stand - but if you don't have a stand fitting boss be aware that it may not fit, or you have to bodge / modify it to fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pletscher Double Leg Center Kickstand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aboey
Country:Indonesia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Superb Double Leg Kickstand Than Others

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
I bough this kickstand last month, and I dont have any trouble when Install this kickstand on my Salsa Vaya 2. Pletscher Double Leg Kickstand is superb kickstand I ever had.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pletscher Double Leg Center Kickstand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gnillew
from London
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Pletscher double leg stand

PostedApril 20, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
This is an excellent stand. Easy to fit. Works superbly. Strong and robust.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pletscher Double Leg Center Kickstand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
markymarkmark
from Norwich

OK if it fits

PostedJanuary 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
A heavy duty stand, but looks OK when fitted. Wouldn't fit my ridgeback panorama as gear cable in the way - could be a problem for any bike where the gear cable runs "under" the bike. Take out of box carefully so you can return if it doesn't fit.
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pletscher Double Leg Center Kickstand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
yippa

good piece of gear

PostedNovember 11, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
i use this on my thorn randonnuer . It was quite easy to fit. I did place some extra bits of old bicycle tube to prevent scratching the frame. All the assembly is there including plastic half circle bits (which can be bought as a seperate accessory from other stores). I liked how all the bits i needed were included in the pack. Just a reminder this is a very large heavy duty stand. I primarily bought it to keep the bike upright while unloading children from the rear seat. I have a heavy front end so the front tyre tends to sit on the ground with the rear raised.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pletscher Double Leg Center Kickstand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nilbot
from Sydney

Great stable base

PostedJuly 29, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I needed a stable stand to allow me to get my baby in and out of her baby seat. This stand does the trick. It gives the bike a very balanced base and I would highly recommend to others.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pletscher Double Leg Center Kickstand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Voyager1
from Paisly
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

A few minor points

PostedJune 2, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, easy to operatre, very stable
Cons: requires cut to size, does not suit all bikes
I initially bought this stand for my partners bike. I was very impressed with how stable it was with fully loaded rear rack. I imagine it would be just as stable with front bags fully loaded as well. It has as very smooth, foot operated action, lifting the back end of the bike allows the stand to open fully, the stand is then locked and stable untill you lift the rear end of the bike again and fold the stand up with your foot.
Initially the stand needs cut to size. A junior hacksaw is perfect for the job - instructions for measuring are quite clear. The stand fits behind the bottom bracket and the mounting assembly is well designed and robust. My partners stand has been in constant use for six months and has not needed tightening.
The stand does not come with rubber feet. Evans will order these in for you as a special order - the item is listed on Pletschers web site as "Stutzenschupaar F24". Alternativley rubber ends off walking poles work well.
Being so impressed with this stand I wanted one for my own bike so ordered one up. Unfortunatly, and to my great dissapointment it did not fit. It was comming into contact with the rear gear cable where it exits from the bottom bracket. I tried to file down the portion of the stand where it was rubbing but this weakened the mounting assembly and it snapped when I tightered the bolt.
My advice would be to buy this stand and check it for fit taking particular note of the route of the rear gear cable. Return it immidiatly if it doesn't suit your bike. If it does you will have an outstandingly good kickstand.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pletscher Double Leg Center Kickstand
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Madhatter
from East Kilbride
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Stable Stand

PostedDecember 13, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Have been using this stand on a Dawes Galaxy for about 6 months
now and have found it to be very stable while loaded with panniers.
I have been very pleased with it so far but it is not perfect, fitting and cutting to size is a bit of a hastle and when bringing bike back down off stand especially when loaded you have to lift bike and kick stand back to running position, you can't just roll forward. Sometimes locks into position and you have to resite stand.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Pletscher Double Leg Center Kickstand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Esssel
from Le Havre France
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Nifty

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
Cons: difficult to install properly
A very clever system. It stabilises our tandem for light repairs, on tour or even for reassembly (it has S+S couplings).
On the minus side: quite difficult to install on the bike.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.