Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Hope Vision 1 LED Universal Front Light Black

Hope Vision 1 LED Universal Front Light Black

Overall rating:
4.459 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(61 reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 61 reviews
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
56 out of 61(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for Hope Vision 1 LED Universal Front Light Black
Review 1 for Hope Vision 1 LED Universal Front Light Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kiaki
from In the sticks
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Light

PostedOctober 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy, heavy for helmet mount
Great light. Allows the use of low power to get you to a trail, so battery life is conserved. Then full power at the trail. Quality build and excellent mount make this a highly recommended light.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hope Vision 1 LED Universal Front Light Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
from glasgow
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great night light

PostedJune 20, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, solid, ease of use
Like many other reviews i am going to recommend this light to you. Here's why:
1. Its incredibly bright, so much so that you can see in pitch black comfortably about 3-4m ahead.
2. Its solid, i have gone head over handlebars and bike upside down through a root-ridden bank and the light took the pounding no bother.
3. It is so easy to change batteries and even rechargeable ones last the full specified time. Its so easy to take a back up battery because of this.
You will not regret buying this light especially as evans seem to be cheaper than almost all other online bike shops for it.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hope Vision 1 LED Universal Front Light Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ian360
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Let there be light!

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
The Hope Vision one is the AK47 of lights, easy to use, powerful beam and works with 4AA batteries giving up to 4 hours light on full power (You don't need full been unless you are on unlit country roads). it has potential battery life of 18 hours on the lowest setting.
The body of the light is CNC machined making this a quality product in both look and feel, it also makes it tough if you plan to go off piste.
Highly recommended!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hope Vision 1 LED Universal Front Light Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent light

PostedJune 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This light is very bright, easy to set up and lightweight! A little bit pricey but overall what price on your own safety?
I would say to a potential buyer - go ahead especially if you travel down unlit roads
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hope Vision 1 LED Universal Front Light Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
49erbob
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Good product plenty bright enough for commuting back from work along a canalside. Only need to use lowest setting., hence runtime pretty good. Plenty of light when switching to highest power.
Robust as well. Have already dropped once and it has survived to tell the tale.
Finally very easy to hook on to bike although plastic fittings neededsome force.
Not the cheapest but sale price makes it good value overall . Good build quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hope Vision 1 LED Universal Front Light Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bobsum
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Woking

Bright enough for road use

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: no battery level
Probably wouldn't have paid the rrp for this but Evans did their price-match magic so was a good deal. Quite a large light but has the advantage of quick release and no battery pack to worry about. Can looks a bit like a can on top of the bars - I mounted mine underneath and it looks great. 4 settings including flash. I got the 2011 model which has no low battery warning so I have a secondary light - the new model has fixed this issue. Good quality beam and wider than most torch style beams that I've tried and plenty bright enough for road use. Great workmanship (milled aluminium) and made in Britain!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hope Vision 1 LED Universal Front Light Black
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
xyxpete
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Almost a great product but let down by clamp - spe

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Very nicely engineered light and not dependent lithium batteries is a plus but the mounting clamp is hopeless for such a heavy light on small diameter bars especially when its wet its impossible to tighten sufficiently so the light slips round Its just about OK on road but off road every bump causes droop! My theory is the little rubber noggin thingys just don't have sufficient surface area in contact with the bars. The headlight adaptor is probably a waste of time - such a heavyweight would be uncomforatble to wear. .
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
xyxpete
Manchester
 
Please wait while more information about xyxpete is loaded.
Additional information about xyxpete could not be loaded.
First Class Customer Service from Hope
Posted September 25, 2012
Just an update - contacted Hope about the problem and they have sent me a new clamp with extra screw thread so it can be tightened to a greater extent. 10 out of 10 for customer service from Hope
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 8 for Hope Vision 1 LED Universal Front Light Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
IROCU
from UK
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Hope Vison 1

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Purchased in Nottingham store. Excellent staff.
Needed a decent light to extend cycling into winter. Wanted something for off road use, and was told I would need a light at least of this quality.
The beam has good penetration, but is focused fairly tight, and is therefore more suited for open paths and tracks. Anything more technical, and you will need to back it up with a helmet mounted light. There are four brightness settings and strobe. The third brightness setting (high) has very little difference from the brightest (max) and lasts much longer. The clamp holds the light securely, but could have done with being wider, as there is a fair bit of horizontal movement. To cure this, I now secure the clamp chock alongside the handle bar stem so the light is always pointing forward. I tend to leave the light attached to the bike as it is never left anywhere, and take the batteries out and bring them indoors for charging. Carry a spare set of alkalines as a back-up, which is a nice feature compared to sealed units.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hope Vision 1 LED Universal Front Light Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NutfieldNutter
from Surrey
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very Bright!

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Uncomfortable
You can see for miles! good value, but a little heavy to put on your helmet. The handle bar bracket looks a bit complicated
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hope Vision 1 LED Universal Front Light Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bammy
from England
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Very powerful light

PostedDecember 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, powerful
Cons: Expensive
I needed a good light for using a cycle track in these dark nights, where there are no street lights, this light fits the job perfectly. I can now see where I'm going.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hope Vision 1 LED Universal Front Light Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
peteh
from UK
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A very bright light!

PostedNovember 30, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
The light has proved excellent, very bright, 4 power settings and a great beam width with a very even spread (unlike the old light I was using). I would certainly recomend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hope Vision 1 LED Universal Front Light Black
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
scotty15
from Wakefield
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good product but not as a helmet light

PostedNovember 11, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Uncomfortable
This is an excellent little light in many ways. Like all Hope equipment it is well made and I have not had any trouble at all with it from a technical point of view. I have been using it as a helmet light and having looked at other reviews this is probably where I went wrong! The light is simply too heavy for helmet use. I have found that it pulls the helmet down towards the front and there have been a number of times when I've experienced localised discomfort even when wearing a hat under the helmet. I have not managed to find any way in which I could adjust my helmet straps or retention device that stopped this issue. It eventually got to the point where I had to stop using it mid-ride because it was too painful!
The light is bright with a very focussed and powerful beam and I'm sure it would be a good solution if bar mounted. If you are considering using it as a helmet light then be aware that the shape and venting of your helmet will dictate where you can mount this light. A friend had the same issue with an exposure model as helmet lights all appear to be geared towards either vent or strut mountings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hope Vision 1 LED Universal Front Light Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Donnymackem
from Sunderland
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great lite...BUT....

PostedNovember 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: heck of a beam
Cons: Poor quality, a bit ugly
After one week the flash stopped working for a time......then a few days later the light switched off without warning on an unlit path in pitch darkness, it came back on with some encouragement. However three days ago the light didn't work on the third and fourth strongest beam and the flash stopped altogether. The light when working was excellent, it fitted well on my flat bar and had a great quick release and yes I would recommend it when it works. However considering the price I was very disappointed with it's performance.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hope Vision 1 LED Universal Front Light Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CyclicAL

Hope Vision 1 LED Universal Front Light Black

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Used this on many nights over past few months . Very good and AA batteries last for up to 36 hours . I have never used it on full beam yet as 1st setting is fine for me . Highly recommended..a great light for the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hope Vision 1 LED Universal Front Light Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cisse
from Belgium
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great light

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, not for helmet
This was bought as a second light on the helmet but:
too heavy for use as a helmet light.
I'm going to feed it with external batteries and it is possible.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hope Vision 1 LED Universal Front Light Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Noddy157
from Buckinghamshire
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Bike Light

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I use the Hope Vision 1 on my commute to work and back on some unlit country roads. It is very bright and gives good vision off the road ahead. The bracket is a very good fit and keeps the light still on
our very rough roads.
I am very happy with the light and its a good price
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hope Vision 1 LED Universal Front Light Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sciencegeek
from South West
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Hope Vision 1 LED Universal Front Light Black

PostedOctober 7, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Fancied trying out some night rides as i wanted to ride all winter. This package certainly gets you going, easy to charge, but use protected batteries and a spare set for insurance. Light wise the beam is certainy good enough for me, I went out for 3 hours on my own on Dartmoor, a route I know well but in the dark feels completely new! I took all the route in my stride with this, settings all worked and is bright enough for some fast decending. My only grip is the QR, which isn't, and I struggled to get it to grip well...suffered some droop over rough terrain. But will not need an upgrade, I just need a helmet light for corners/switchbacks...
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hope Vision 1 LED Universal Front Light Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TrentUk
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great purchase

PostedSeptember 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Got this fast and well protected unpacked and was surprised at how small it was. fitting and setting it up was easy i used the mounting clip on my handlebars which is really good only problem is it is rather easy to break the clip as i had one small fall and it snapped the clip from the light and a replacement was expensive. after the light was fitted i used a set of rechargeable battery's i brought just for it and slotted it in doing up the end it all fitted nicely and there was no play in the screw end, used on the same day at eleven PM and was amazed at how bright and far it went used it down mud paths and it lit the way beautifully the spread at the narrowest was fair and was fine with my needs but for serious night riding a second light would be a welcome. using on the road was also great as the flash mode was still bright enough to be seen and easy to reach the button when on darker roads overall great and would love another for my helmet!!!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hope Vision 1 LED Universal Front Light Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AussieInDenmark
from Denmark
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

bright!

PostedSeptember 3, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I use this as a 2nd light on my road bike, to complement another light, which is perfect for 'normal' road riding (including totally unlit) and lasts longer, but this Hope Vision light provides a lot of extra light when needed - fast down hill runs on unlit roads and when the weather turns really nasty and you need that extra light to punch through the rain and the darkness. It has a good spread of light, and good graduation of power levels, so you can crank up the brightness as needed. As others have said, it is designed to stay bright up until it runs out of battery then just shuts off - so you have no indication that the batteries are running low... so carry an extra set of batteries or a backup light if in doubt.
Not that impressed with the handlebar clamp as it can be a bit hard to adjust due to the way the bolt screws through the clasp, but it seems to hold fast...having said that, I also noticed that after some bumpy riding the bolt holding the lamp to the clamp needed to be tightened (as the light started shaking loose from the mount), but I've tightened it up again and will see if this is a problem again in future.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hope Vision 1 LED Universal Front Light Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HowardStredwick
from London
Experience:Expert

Great lamp at a great price

PostedAugust 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this for overnight rides and winter commuting.
Very happy with it. It's able to light up an unlit country road comfortably without having to resort to the most powerful setting.
The mount feels secure and replacing the batteries - standard 4*AA - is a doddle.
Can also double up as a hand held torch or a helmet mounted light.
Only issue is that there's no warning that the batteries are about to dump; the booster circuitry cuts the light out immediately when there isn't enough power remaining to feed it. So bring spare batteries or a back up light (you should be doing this anyway!)
Excellent lamp, excellent price. Highly recommended.
Howard
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>