Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm

Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm

Overall rating:
4.1 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
37 out of 40(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Review 1 for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pkmang

Good for scooters

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Bought this to secure my son's scooter to school railing. It's light, fits through the wheels of the scooter, and is enough to stop people from walking away with a relatively low value item. Best of all, my son likes to pretend it's a grappling hook.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
iambeno
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54

handy for occasional use

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: limited strength
I wanted something for my brompton when 'leaving' it in the pub after work i.e. where someone could try and grab it and this is fine
I'm not sure it would stand up to lots of damage but ideal to protect a smash and grab; in fact my local bike shop uses these for their display bromptons (but didn't sell them!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mccthumbs
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Good line of sight lock.

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Light weight and easy to use cake stop lock. Only for use as a line of sight lock as it could easily be compromising given the opportunity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
sante
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

couldnt change the combination so sent it back

PostedJune 27, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: useless
very disappointed as combination too difficult to change to new number bought another product from another manufacturer in the end this was easy to change with clear concise instructions included. sent product back
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
HanaSpana
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good basic lock

PostedJune 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Good for cafe stops. Could do with being a little longer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
punctured
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

First rate product

PostedMay 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: setting instructions
This lock will not stop a thief but is ideal for the cafe stop, popping into a shop, toilet, etc. This lock could be used for securing other items, eg suitcases It should deter the opportunist thief if you have to leave your bike temporarily. It is very light in weight, is small and fits into a cycle jersy pocket or trouser pocket. It is smaller than many modern mobile phones.
The instructions for setting the code are not very clear and could be better. When setting the code the button that is used to set the code has to be pressed once for each number setting. The instruction seems to indicate that it only needs to be pressed once. Other than this it is a very good product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
coohullin
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job...

PostedApril 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
As a cafe-lock this does the job perfectly. Easy to carry and works well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tomca

Light and easy to pack

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
It's a neat lock, light and easy to pack. Looks good too. It will not deter anyone with a serious intent to steal your stuff, but it's just what you need when you have your bike near you, but don't want someone to jump on it and ride away the minute you look elsewhere for a sec.
On the con side, the manual is extremely hard to decipher, I was very close to returning the product before I realized how it works. It does work, but forget the manual and figure it out yourself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
forester
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lightweight option

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, compact
Cons: deterrent only
I needed to squirt WD40 and consult the net to get it to work; the numbers are read from directly above; if you get that right, the combination can be reset from default 0000 holding down the smaller button on the right. Bought for a bit of security on food stops on a Randonnee and would probably persuade thieves to move on to an unlocked bike, unless you have a £10,000 mount. Wouldn't last 5 minutes in Central London, but fine for cafe stop in Dorset.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nick46
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Small, lightweight, ideal for road bike users

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
The lock is small and lightweight so will fit into an under seat bag, making it ideal for road cyclists who need to lock their bike briefly but don't want to carry anything heavy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
FalconOlympic
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Handy and compact.

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
The on pack instructions for setting the combination aren’t the clearest however a quick look on line easily sorts the matter. Obviously this isn’t the ultimate solution to bike theft but it is a very handy deterrent device suitable for café stops on club runs etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ryugo
Country:Croatia
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect for securing bike on small stops.

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This is excellent product I use very often. It's light enough to carry around at all times and it can secure your bike enough for you not to look at it whole time while having a drink with buddies or similar.
It is not meant to secure the bike when out of your view or for longer period. This is simply preventing opportunist thief to make a run and grab while you're relaxing and/or refreshing on some stops, especially in town.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mummyto3boys
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
It was bought:Milton Keynes

brill little piece of kit

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I brought this after hearing alot of storys of bugaboo brand buggies being stolen outside shops/restaurants so i brought to protect my bugaboo from being stolen from outside places i might need to leave outside, its hang bag sized so i can pop into and keep in my bag..wont be the most safest to leave the lonest of timesor overnight but to go in for a meal/drink etc would be fine and hopfully protect it more then leaving with nothing on
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
admgb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

GOOD VALUE LIGHTWEIGHT LOCK

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
neatly sized, lightweight lock offers some degree of comfort for coffee stops that some reprobate isn't going to nick your bike on the spur of the moment.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gaye
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Wandsworth

Very useful !!

PostedJuly 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Little and light to carry. Very useful specially in long rides when you like to carry minimum that allows you to have at the short stops or lunch breaks just the keep things together
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snoosh
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lightweight and effective bike lock

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Pocket size, simple operation with no need to carry a key. Sturdy lock and adequate for any short term stop offs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Denimgeek
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Hardly unbreakable but great for cafe runs

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: not hugely secure
A good pair of wire snips or pliers would cut though the cable on this lock in seconds so it's not designed for, or suitable for using to lock your bike while unattended for any long period of time.
However it is perfect for putting in a jersey pocket (it's about the size and weight of a small mobile phone) and using while you pop into a cafe on a long ride. The cable is surprisingly long and can easily get round two bikes and a lamp post or utility pole.
I still like to see my bike out of the window even when it's locked with this. Though my mind is at rest when I'm at the counter ordering my flapjack as I know this will deter any opportunistic thief that might think they've spotted some loot!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
simon59
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Good Cafe stop lock

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Obviously a simple cable lock is not the right thing if you are going to leave your bike somewhere but for a quick cafe stop where it is in sight and you just want to deter the passing opportunist it is good. It has well made feel to the combination lock. The 90cm cable is long enough to go around 2 bikes and sometimes a railing as well. Its small enough and light enough to tuck in the saddle bag or jersey.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GaryXJ6
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Perfect for securing your luggage to your rack.

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
The Combiflex is such a handy lock. If your ride involves a coffee stop or toilet break where the bike is always close by, you can leave the heavy security at home and just slip this compact lock into your pocket. It's perfect for securing a rack bag to the bike and the bike to a Sheffield stand or pub outdoor table.
Even if you are leaving the bike locked with your main security, the Combiflex is perfect for securing your cycle jacket, helmet and rack luggage to the bike while you take a break.
I also have a cheaper but virtually identical 'travel lock' style Combiflex clone, and the cable in the Abus is noticeably thicker/stronger.
It's a worthy addition to your cycling kit. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tim58
Country:Norway
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Handy little lock

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Good lock to have handy and a lot lighter then a cable/chain alternative. However not so secure you can leave your bicycle say over night? Great given it's limitations
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>