Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm

Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm

Overall rating:
4.091 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
31 out of 33(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Review 1 for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tomca

Light and easy to pack

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
It's a neat lock, light and easy to pack. Looks good too. It will not deter anyone with a serious intent to steal your stuff, but it's just what you need when you have your bike near you, but don't want someone to jump on it and ride away the minute you look elsewhere for a sec.
On the con side, the manual is extremely hard to decipher, I was very close to returning the product before I realized how it works. It does work, but forget the manual and figure it out yourself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
forester
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lightweight option

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, compact
Cons: deterrent only
I needed to squirt WD40 and consult the net to get it to work; the numbers are read from directly above; if you get that right, the combination can be reset from default 0000 holding down the smaller button on the right. Bought for a bit of security on food stops on a Randonnee and would probably persuade thieves to move on to an unlocked bike, unless you have a £10,000 mount. Wouldn't last 5 minutes in Central London, but fine for cafe stop in Dorset.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nick46
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Small, lightweight, ideal for road bike users

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
The lock is small and lightweight so will fit into an under seat bag, making it ideal for road cyclists who need to lock their bike briefly but don't want to carry anything heavy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
FalconOlympic
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Handy and compact.

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
The on pack instructions for setting the combination aren’t the clearest however a quick look on line easily sorts the matter. Obviously this isn’t the ultimate solution to bike theft but it is a very handy deterrent device suitable for café stops on club runs etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ryugo
Country:Croatia
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect for securing bike on small stops.

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This is excellent product I use very often. It's light enough to carry around at all times and it can secure your bike enough for you not to look at it whole time while having a drink with buddies or similar.
It is not meant to secure the bike when out of your view or for longer period. This is simply preventing opportunist thief to make a run and grab while you're relaxing and/or refreshing on some stops, especially in town.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mummyto3boys
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
It was bought:Milton Keynes

brill little piece of kit

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I brought this after hearing alot of storys of bugaboo brand buggies being stolen outside shops/restaurants so i brought to protect my bugaboo from being stolen from outside places i might need to leave outside, its hang bag sized so i can pop into and keep in my bag..wont be the most safest to leave the lonest of timesor overnight but to go in for a meal/drink etc would be fine and hopfully protect it more then leaving with nothing on
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
admgb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

GOOD VALUE LIGHTWEIGHT LOCK

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
neatly sized, lightweight lock offers some degree of comfort for coffee stops that some reprobate isn't going to nick your bike on the spur of the moment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gaye
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Wandsworth

Very useful !!

PostedJuly 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Little and light to carry. Very useful specially in long rides when you like to carry minimum that allows you to have at the short stops or lunch breaks just the keep things together
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snoosh
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lightweight and effective bike lock

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Pocket size, simple operation with no need to carry a key. Sturdy lock and adequate for any short term stop offs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Denimgeek
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Hardly unbreakable but great for cafe runs

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: not hugely secure
A good pair of wire snips or pliers would cut though the cable on this lock in seconds so it's not designed for, or suitable for using to lock your bike while unattended for any long period of time.
However it is perfect for putting in a jersey pocket (it's about the size and weight of a small mobile phone) and using while you pop into a cafe on a long ride. The cable is surprisingly long and can easily get round two bikes and a lamp post or utility pole.
I still like to see my bike out of the window even when it's locked with this. Though my mind is at rest when I'm at the counter ordering my flapjack as I know this will deter any opportunistic thief that might think they've spotted some loot!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
simon59
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Good Cafe stop lock

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Obviously a simple cable lock is not the right thing if you are going to leave your bike somewhere but for a quick cafe stop where it is in sight and you just want to deter the passing opportunist it is good. It has well made feel to the combination lock. The 90cm cable is long enough to go around 2 bikes and sometimes a railing as well. Its small enough and light enough to tuck in the saddle bag or jersey.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GaryXJ6
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Perfect for securing your luggage to your rack.

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
The Combiflex is such a handy lock. If your ride involves a coffee stop or toilet break where the bike is always close by, you can leave the heavy security at home and just slip this compact lock into your pocket. It's perfect for securing a rack bag to the bike and the bike to a Sheffield stand or pub outdoor table.
Even if you are leaving the bike locked with your main security, the Combiflex is perfect for securing your cycle jacket, helmet and rack luggage to the bike while you take a break.
I also have a cheaper but virtually identical 'travel lock' style Combiflex clone, and the cable in the Abus is noticeably thicker/stronger.
It's a worthy addition to your cycling kit. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tim58
Country:Norway
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Handy little lock

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Good lock to have handy and a lot lighter then a cable/chain alternative. However not so secure you can leave your bicycle say over night? Great given it's limitations
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Prando
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Compact

PostedSeptember 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, compact
Fits nicely into my small dirt monkey saddle bag. Ideal for securing for short stints. ( having a cafe break etc,)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Obregon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light, compact lock to deter opportunist thieves.

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
There's no point spending thousands on a light road bike then carrying 1 kg of lock around with you. This light, compact unit is slightly larger than a phone so fits inside a small wedge saddle pack easily. The combination lock avoids having to worry about keys though I found it a bit tricky to set the number (instructions not brilliant). It won't stop a thief with a cable cutter but it will stop an opportunist thief simply riding off on your bike when left outside a shop. I find it ideal for Sunday Club Runs when stopping at a mid-ride cafe. The cable is long enough to lock 2 bikes to a railing or other fixed object. It's not a substitute for a "proper" lock when leaving your bike unattended for long periods, but it is ideal for those situations when you would not normally take a lock with you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Highheels
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Good little lock for popping into a cafe or pub...

PostedMay 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I feel better if I can see the bike but this will stop someone just riding off with your pride and joy. However if they have any sort of tool or just gave it a good pull I am sure it could be broken through in no time.
It should help honest people stay honest though and removes the temptation of just cycling off with it.
It is very light at 87g but still feels up to the job. I tried the Kryptonite r4, also bought from evans but I prefer this, it's smaller and the combination lock appears to be made to a higher standard.
I'd say the line is long enough to lock 2 bikes to an anchor point or 3 bikes together.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DBDNF
from International
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very practical and lightweight

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
A very good product for low risk areas. Perfect for a brevet where you have to park it while you are eating etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
iamdjsimm

PostedJuly 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
For a good price this lock will do exactly what I need it to!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
telephoneted
from Macduff
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Abus Combiflex

PostedJune 15, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
A handy lock if you need a deterrent to discourage opportunist thieves. Suitable for a visit to the shops, or locking your bike whilst you grab a bite to eat, etc. More biased to a quick solution to leaving your bike for a short period.
It would not stop a determined thief and I would not recommend it for overnight security, but this is not what the lock is aimed at
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Abus Combiflex Pro 90cm
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
FarFlungHeel
from Tokyo
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular

Chintzy

PostedJune 11, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
I've had 3 of these. The first I liked much. It performed as described in other reviews and was useful not only for locking the bike in situations where low security was sufficient but also for locking on the pannier rack I sometimes I have on the bike. The lock was unfortunately destroyed in a - non-biking - accident. So, I bought another, which was worthless out of the box due to faulty manufacture. So I bought a 3rd, which also suffered from very poor manufacturer. The cord would not lock in smoothly and could be pulled out with moderate force even without setting the correct combination. I'm done with this company's products after 2 of 3 did not work well.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>