Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Saris Wheel Arch

Saris Wheel Arch

Overall rating:
2.5 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
3
1 Star
4
6 out of 14(43%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for Saris Wheel Arch
Review 1 for Saris Wheel Arch
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
1HappyCustomer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:York

Bike stand

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Its ok, but not as sturdy as I had hoped, it takes a few attempts to stop bike from leaning too far over. There is the option to fix it to the floor but I wanted something that could be moved about. Probably be fine for some bikes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Saris Wheel Arch
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
JC143
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Notting Hill

good but could be more stable

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: lightweight
Good but could be a little heavier to keep the bike more sturdy.
Being in plastic it tend to slide but overall it does what it say on the tin ! which is keep the bike up. I guess with 1 more arch attached to it for 2 bikes it my be more sturdy though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Saris Wheel Arch
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Jojo14

good quality

PostedMay 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
Okay but not very stable as the arches would widen when the bike leans sideways. Best to use with the front wheel. Expensive for the quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Saris Wheel Arch
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Nomadman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lightweight and unstable

PostedOctober 19, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: not fit for purpose
I bought this to keep a Trek Fuel EX upright in a shed but it is far too lightweight and narrow based to offer proper support even when tight to the wheel. The slightest touch had the bike falling over. I took it back for a refund.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Saris Wheel Arch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
videonastie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Good product at a cheap price.

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: cheap looking
I didn't actually go to Evans to purchase this item, but I saw one at the shop. I did need something to keep my bike standing up, when kept in my passageway & this fits the bill. Its a little cheap feeling, but its easy to setup & no problems keeping my Road bike upright comfortably. Plus as usual the staff at Evans were superb.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Saris Wheel Arch
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
mpkay
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great design but just doesn't hold a bike upright

PostedNovember 27, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive, doesn't work
Love the practicality of the Saris wheel arch, in that it collapses for transportation and can accommodate different tyre widths. It is also well built albeits plastic construction. But when it comes to holding a bike upright while washing for example, it just doesn’t cut the mustard. If you want to use it simply for propping a bike up in the corner of the garage it will do the job nicely anything else look elsewhere.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Saris Wheel Arch
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
stew
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Poor item

PostedNovember 4, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
Cheap item that falls over when trying
to hold bike! to light
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Saris Wheel Arch
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
HandyShrek
from Staines
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not as strong as it looks

PostedJuly 25, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, flimsy
We purchased this bike stand for an outdoor event where we would need a bike on display. However, the stand's unexpectedly lightweight and seemingly brittle construction meant it wasn't fit for purpose. I could imagine it being okay to support a small bike or (very) lightweight road bike, but not much else.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Saris Wheel Arch
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Discordia
from London
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not strong enough

PostedJuly 21, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: too weak to support bicycle
This wheel arch looks good and feels solid in your hands, but will not ultimately support the weight of a leaning bicycle. The arches are made of plastic, with no metal core, so they bend. They have not snapped (yet) but look alarmingly weak.
Nonetheless, we kept the ones we ordered, stacking three side by side, relying on the bikes themselves to stand one another up. In this context the wheel arch can be relied upon as a placement guide, but I would not recommend it as a stand-alone.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Saris Wheel Arch
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
rogerwilco
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

As flimsy as it looks!

PostedJuly 19, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
This product is so week it will not hold my mountain bike on level cement INSIDE my garage.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Saris Wheel Arch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ninni01

Very good product

PostedFebruary 9, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
It does what it says, good value and looks good too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Saris Wheel Arch
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
jgord

A flop - literally

PostedOctober 4, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
We bought three, clicked them together, slid three bikes in.
The bikes all fell over, the arches flopped and flapped and the connecting pieces all came apart.
We've tried back wheels, front wheels ...
My light racer will, just about, be held upright, but not the road-bike and certainly not in conjunction with any other bike.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Saris Wheel Arch
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
gmpop80
from Bucharest
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good plastic support

PostedFebruary 9, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: Unattractive, Expensive
Although is looking kind of cheap, it does a good job.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Saris Wheel Arch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LondonBridgeGirl
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Does exactly what it says on the tin

PostedDecember 12, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Holds you bike steady and is pretty stable even if you bump into it. It doesn't seem to scratch/mark the floor and means that I don't have to lean my bike against a wall and risk marking the paintwork.
It comes ready to use and will hold you bike tyre firmly whether you have road tyres or mountain bike tyres.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.