Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Car Racks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack

Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack

Pleae see the suplier site for compatibility guides. PROMO OFFER: Free set of Saris Protect-o-Pads with all Saris car racks - enter code SARISPAD online. Valid while stocks last, cannot be used with any other promotion.
Overall rating:
4.548 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(62 reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 62 reviews
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
60 out of 62(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
175 Questions | 238 Answers
Customer reviews for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Review 1 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
derekw60
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

reliable, easy to mount and secure

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Once you have worked out how the arms, feet and straps work together it takes only a few minutes to set up. I colour coded the 3 strap hooks to make it easier to see which went where. Recommended speed is 65 mph so that needs watching. A little tricky to get lower hooks under the rim and making sure rear door or boot is fully closed. Whole assembly seems very secure.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
justin33
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit and very sturdy

PostedMay 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I purchaced this product(bones 2) after alot of searching as i coulnt find a decent bike carrier to fit my 2006 Vauxla vectra Hatchback and have not been dissapointed at all.Its very easy to set up and once on the car its rock solid and doesnt move at all even if i brab it and shake it.The fixing are well protective so wont damage your paintwork on you pride and joy.The bike sits securely in place and am happy to drive down the motorway at 70MPH and be condfident its going to stay in place.1
1 tip i would say and that is to use one of the tag ends of the boot straps to lock the front wheel in place so the bars dont spin around.This also stops the front wheel from spinning around and if like me you have a cycle computer you wont clock up 70mph and 50 miles while driving to you bike trail lol
All in all im very very happy with the product and worth every penny.I know there are cheaper carriers on the market but you get what you pay for and this is a very safe and reliable product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RobG1975
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Excellent well built and easy to use bike rack

PostedMay 9, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I had been looking for a bike rack that could hold two bikes for my Audi A3 sportback for sometime when a friend recommended I looked at the Saris range. Although this maybe a little more expensive than most others this rack wins hands down with excellent build quality, easy of use and importantly for me minimum storage space. The rack is very light weight and once the three main arms (two for the bumper, one for the window) are set for the vehicle it pretty much supports itself whilst you attach the six support straps so it's easy to do by yourself. Setting up takes no more than 3 mins! The bikes are held securely by plastic/rubber grips (with locking teeth on the straps) 3 for each bike though I would recommend getting a horizontal bar to go from the handle bar to the seat for ladies bikes (it may just have been the chunky frame on our mountain bikes though it did secure the bike fine without one). The rack gave good clearance from the car so there were no scratches from the pedals and there was no movement when driving. The rack collapses to a small foot print so is easily stored in the boot. A lot of thought has gone into the design of this product and the quality of materials is second to none (adjustable rubber footings for the arms, good almost rubber like paint for the grips on the 6 straps etc). I thoroughly recommend this product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Carwyn
Country:United Arab Emirates
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A very good product

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, easy to fit, easy to use
Cons: Unattractive, straps hang loose
I bought this and had it shipped from the UK to the UAE. Again, Evans delivered it within a week. Awesome service by Evans.
The rack is easy to install - I did it on my own.
It doesn't appear to damage my car as the hooks are gentle on the car and soft rubber pads don't seem to scratch.
Mounting the bike is easy also, with three straps to hold the bike firm.
I like this product and would probably buy one again when the time comes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TeddyAlan

Simple and effective

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Got this for my VW Scirocco as this was the only one rumoured to fit.
Not only does it fit, but it was easy to install and compact to put away.
Perfect bit of kit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JCFreckles
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Nottingham

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, easy to fit
Never purchased a bike rack before, but the Saris is easy to fit very stable and folds down to allow you to store it in the smallest of car boots....I would recommend ...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Larab123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great product!

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Easy to fit to both our Mini Cooper and Volvo - fits securely and quickly, holding two bikes comfortably without too much wobble!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chippyjersey
Country:Jersey
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great rack

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Whilst it's not listed as a fitment, this fits my 2012 Kia Sportage KX-4.
Easy to fit, looks great and the arms fold neatly away when not in use, so can comfortably be left on the car all the time. Very solid rack once fitted. Took about 10 minutes to initially fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nasaradam16
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

good simple rack

PostedJune 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
the bones 2 is a great rack. its strong and easy to set up. the only issue i had is that it only has 3 legs, i didnt feel confident that it would hold well with 2 bokes round a fast bend. so i swapped it for a bones 3 which works perfectly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cyclelady63
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

easy to use and lightweight

PostedApril 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Very easy to set up and use, lightweight which helps a lot. On the design side, looks a bit strange at first but the innovative design is what keeps the weight down. Would recommend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kopite1234
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Easy and quick

PostedApril 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: not secure enough
This is really easy to install to vehicle, only downfall is it's not very secure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
darkvalley
Country:Republic of Ireland
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very sturdy

PostedApril 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Excellent rack, very sturdy and solid. Easy and quick to attach to car after a few goes and no movement from bike even at high speed. Recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Langarott
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

Very good product

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I recommend this product well worth the money,very easy to use and doesn't take long to fit to my car
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wahla21
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent product and easy to install

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Great sturdy rack.
It fold flat and as soon as you've set it up one (takes about 10 min) it's so easy to set it up again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
donki
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Excellent works with my rear spoiler

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, spoiler friendly
Cons: no rubber pads where straps meets the paintwork
I have an Audi TT with an automatic rear spoiler. This bike rack fits the boot and clears the rear spoiler allowing it to function as it should. Other features are that it can be folded flat for storage. Good rubber pads for the legs but let down with no protection pads on the strap hooks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kieran76
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Once fitted, solid and easy to fit & remove

PostedJuly 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Whilst an expensive piece of kit, I am happy to recommend it. It took a bit of adjustment to fit it to my car, but once fitted it is secure and easy to remove. I am sure that if I change my car I will continue to use the Saris Bones 2. A great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tabu76
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great product

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Bought this as my first bike rack, really impressed how easy it was to fit and easy to get the bike on.
Feels secure and happy to do long drives with it. May not be the cheapest but well worth the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
weewee
Country:Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value for money bike rack

PostedJune 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Saris Bones 2 is a very nice rack and not expensive to own. Setting up the rack is extremely easy and the materials used in its construction are sturdy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mrcyclist
Country:Iceland
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Versitile, easy to set up and stable.

PostedMay 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I'm very pleased with this rack. It's very easy to set up, I had it set up in just 5 minutes on the first try, after that it's just 2-3 minutes.
The rack is very stable and seems to fit most cars. There's really nothing negative about the rack that I have found. It folds up easily and it's not to heavy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hutch67
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality and easy to set up

PostedMay 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This is an easy to use product, which is important for someone impatient like me! Instructions easy to follow, stores in compact form, quick to set up and remove. Side straps a little difficult to tighten, but probably just my car's boot shape (Merc C Class). Overall feels solid and safe in use. Would recommend
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>