Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Car Racks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack

Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack

Pleae see the suplier site for compatibility guides.
Overall rating:
4.581 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(74 reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 74 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
72 out of 74Would you recommend this product to a friend?97%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
234 Questions | 303 Answers
Customer reviews for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Review 1 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

reliable, easy to mount and secure

Posted03 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Once you have worked out how the arms, feet and straps work together it takes only a few minutes to set up. I colour coded the 3 strap hooks to make it easier to see which went where. Recommended speed is 65 mph so that needs watching. A little tricky to get lower hooks under the rim and making sure rear door or boot is fully closed. Whole assembly seems very secure.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit and very sturdy

Posted22 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I purchaced this product(bones 2) after alot of searching as i coulnt find a decent bike carrier to fit my 2006 Vauxla vectra Hatchback and have not been dissapointed at all.Its very easy to set up and once on the car its rock solid and doesnt move at all even if i brab it and shake it.The fixing are well protective so wont damage your paintwork on you pride and joy.The bike sits securely in place and am happy to drive down the motorway at 70MPH and be condfident its going to stay in place.1
1 tip i would say and that is to use one of the tag ends of the boot straps to lock the front wheel in place so the bars dont spin around.This also stops the front wheel from spinning around and if like me you have a cycle computer you wont clock up 70mph and 50 miles while driving to you bike trail lol
All in all im very very happy with the product and worth every penny.I know there are cheaper carriers on the market but you get what you pay for and this is a very safe and reliable product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Excellent well built and easy to use bike rack

Posted09 May 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I had been looking for a bike rack that could hold two bikes for my Audi A3 sportback for sometime when a friend recommended I looked at the Saris range. Although this maybe a little more expensive than most others this rack wins hands down with excellent build quality, easy of use and importantly for me minimum storage space. The rack is very light weight and once the three main arms (two for the bumper, one for the window) are set for the vehicle it pretty much supports itself whilst you attach the six support straps so it's easy to do by yourself. Setting up takes no more than 3 mins! The bikes are held securely by plastic/rubber grips (with locking teeth on the straps) 3 for each bike though I would recommend getting a horizontal bar to go from the handle bar to the seat for ladies bikes (it may just have been the chunky frame on our mountain bikes though it did secure the bike fine without one). The rack gave good clearance from the car so there were no scratches from the pedals and there was no movement when driving. The rack collapses to a small foot print so is easily stored in the boot. A lot of thought has gone into the design of this product and the quality of materials is second to none (adjustable rubber footings for the arms, good almost rubber like paint for the grips on the 6 straps etc). I thoroughly recommend this product!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Gateshead

Good sturdy bike carrier

Posted21 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
I bought two of these for our two cars. I checked that they would fit our Hyundai Getz and i10 which they did, but didn't spot that 'huggers' were needed for the i10. Luckily we has some on an old carrier, but this could have been a problem if we didn't. It should be more prominent if extra things are needed. Other than that, great product and happy to recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality!!!!!!!!!

Posted23 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Awesome bike rack ... quick to fit and take down again. Robust quality product ... well worth the price!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Sturdy, secure, easy to fit, good value for money

Posted23 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
We are very pleased with this product. Easy to fit, sturdy with our two bikes feeling secure and not damaging to the car. Would recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chelmsford

Fits the car and carries bike

Posted14 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
Cons: Expensive
The only rack I could find to fit an MX5. It does the job but does rely totally on straps and is held so close that front wheel and pedal can move and touch the car. That said I carried a light racer at 60 mph for 60 miles. It does obscure number plate and lights.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Extremely sturdy, well-built

Posted02 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I'd been warned off this type of bike rack by a friend, but I needed one urgently and Evans were the only ones who had one in stock within my budget, so I went for it. One of the best bike purchases I've made! Feels extremely solid, you just put the bikes on it and forget about them. Carried two adult large road bikes with ease. Highly recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Ideal for my SAAB Convertible

Posted01 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great, compact when folded
Cons: poor marketing - no idea until a random web search
I bought this to use on the back of my SAAB 9-3 (2007 plate) convertible when towing a folding camper trailer. I have Witter detachable type towball (i.e. not flanged) so I can’t simply fit a towball type carrier to the towbar so this solves all my problems in being able to have a bike rack whilst towing. It works well and is really sturdy once you get it set up and you’ve tensioned the straps. It did take a bit of ‘fettling’ to get it right but now I’m familiar with how it works it is really easy and quick to set up. The lugs that attach to the body work are well coated in a good plastic type product that mean they do not dig into the paintwork of the car when attached. It is really light and folds down neatly too. I use it when a folding camper trailer is hitched up to the back of the car and there’s no issue with clearance between the bikes/rack and the trailer a-frame or trailer itself. I also own a Fiamma bike rack which I have on the back of a Vivaro Van and that cost more than twice the cost of this Saris Bones unit and I’d say the Bones is of an equal, if not better, overall construction. Overall the Saris Bones is an ideal cycle carrier for those that have a convertible car and can’t mount roof bars and/or for those that want to pull a trailer and still have a cycle carrier. Great price too, certainly compared to Fiamma.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well worth the price

Posted13 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Having tried cheaper alternatives in the past, I am pleased to say that this rack is most definitely worth its price. Firstly it is very simple to set up and fit, I managed to have it on the car and ready to go with bike attached in under 5 minutes! Next is its quality, when fitted with bike attached it sits perfectly on my car and feels solid with no sign of the bike wobbling around on the rack even when travelling at speed, both bike and rack feel very secure. It may be a little more than some racks but in my opinion a worthwhile investment.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best ever bike rake

Posted15 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
very please, great on my Mini Cooper S and it fits in the boot.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

easy to assemble and works as it should

Posted31 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
The rack is easily assembled, although the diagrams could be improved, and once on the car is very stable.
It would benefit from a locking mechanism, however, so that no-one can take your bike when in a petrol station etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job - well

Posted16 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: no security lock
Quick and pretty easy to set up on my hatchback. It looks like it will fit most cars with minimal fuss too. Comfortably holds two road bikes securely and feels solid and safe when driving.
The only small thing is that there is no security lock to either lock the rack to the car or secure the bikes to the rack once racked. Not a major problem unless you are stopping at services or leaving the car unatended for example. It would be a hassle for someone to remove it but its not unconceivable. Oh and you cant open the boot once fitted!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Arab Emirates
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great service and excellent value

Posted26 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Ordered on line without any problems, I was kept informed of the shipping process to the United Arab Emirates, item arrived in just a few days.
great service and excellent value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit. Feels secure on car. Easy to store

Posted26 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Easy good all round bike carrier. Bikes feels secure on it.
Best price from Evans and delivery was fine.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Arab Emirates
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A very good product

Posted20 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, easy to fit, easy to use
Cons: Unattractive, straps hang loose
I bought this and had it shipped from the UK to the UAE. Again, Evans delivered it within a week. Awesome service by Evans.
The rack is easy to install - I did it on my own.
It doesn't appear to damage my car as the hooks are gentle on the car and soft rubber pads don't seem to scratch.
Mounting the bike is easy also, with three straps to hold the bike firm.
I like this product and would probably buy one again when the time comes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple and effective

Posted05 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Got this for my VW Scirocco as this was the only one rumoured to fit.
Not only does it fit, but it was easy to install and compact to put away.
Perfect bit of kit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Nottingham

Posted24 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, easy to fit
Never purchased a bike rack before, but the Saris is easy to fit very stable and folds down to allow you to store it in the smallest of car boots....I would recommend ...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great product!

Posted08 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Easy to fit to both our Mini Cooper and Volvo - fits securely and quickly, holding two bikes comfortably without too much wobble!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Jersey
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great rack

Posted03 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Whilst it's not listed as a fitment, this fits my 2012 Kia Sportage KX-4.
Easy to fit, looks great and the arms fold neatly away when not in use, so can comfortably be left on the car all the time. Very solid rack once fitted. Took about 10 minutes to initially fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>