Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Car Racks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack

Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack

Please see the suplier site for compatibility guides.
Overall rating:
4.552 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(87 reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 87 reviews
5 Stars
53
4 Stars
29
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
85 out of 87Would you recommend this product to a friend?98%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
257 Questions | 329 Answers
Customer reviews for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Review 1 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

reliable, easy to mount and secure

Posted03 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Once you have worked out how the arms, feet and straps work together it takes only a few minutes to set up. I colour coded the 3 strap hooks to make it easier to see which went where. Recommended speed is 65 mph so that needs watching. A little tricky to get lower hooks under the rim and making sure rear door or boot is fully closed. Whole assembly seems very secure.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit and very sturdy

Posted22 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I purchaced this product(bones 2) after alot of searching as i coulnt find a decent bike carrier to fit my 2006 Vauxla vectra Hatchback and have not been dissapointed at all.Its very easy to set up and once on the car its rock solid and doesnt move at all even if i brab it and shake it.The fixing are well protective so wont damage your paintwork on you pride and joy.The bike sits securely in place and am happy to drive down the motorway at 70MPH and be condfident its going to stay in place.1
1 tip i would say and that is to use one of the tag ends of the boot straps to lock the front wheel in place so the bars dont spin around.This also stops the front wheel from spinning around and if like me you have a cycle computer you wont clock up 70mph and 50 miles while driving to you bike trail lol
All in all im very very happy with the product and worth every penny.I know there are cheaper carriers on the market but you get what you pay for and this is a very safe and reliable product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Excellent well built and easy to use bike rack

Posted09 May 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I had been looking for a bike rack that could hold two bikes for my Audi A3 sportback for sometime when a friend recommended I looked at the Saris range. Although this maybe a little more expensive than most others this rack wins hands down with excellent build quality, easy of use and importantly for me minimum storage space. The rack is very light weight and once the three main arms (two for the bumper, one for the window) are set for the vehicle it pretty much supports itself whilst you attach the six support straps so it's easy to do by yourself. Setting up takes no more than 3 mins! The bikes are held securely by plastic/rubber grips (with locking teeth on the straps) 3 for each bike though I would recommend getting a horizontal bar to go from the handle bar to the seat for ladies bikes (it may just have been the chunky frame on our mountain bikes though it did secure the bike fine without one). The rack gave good clearance from the car so there were no scratches from the pedals and there was no movement when driving. The rack collapses to a small foot print so is easily stored in the boot. A lot of thought has gone into the design of this product and the quality of materials is second to none (adjustable rubber footings for the arms, good almost rubber like paint for the grips on the 6 straps etc). I thoroughly recommend this product!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent bike rack

Posted02 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Really like the saris bones 2 bike rack. It's easy to fit and packs away neatly. Very good product design.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

not quite as expected

Posted10 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: tricky to fit to a saloon with spoiler
we got this after reading the reviews about how good they are.
they are fine if your car doesn't have a spoiler, fits our wee hatchback great but not the bigger saloon unfortunately.
its easy to fit to the hatchback and is reasonably stable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Clapham

Easy to attach

Posted31 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Easy to assemble and fix to car.
Bikes attach is straight forward.
Straight forward to adjust
Easy store age in garage
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Well made and really easy to use

Posted21 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
The rack is sturdy and great design. Really easy to set up on my car. Stores flat, but not too big to keep in boot of car in set position. I love it already.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good but fiddly. Needs more to inspire confidence

Posted12 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
It's a good carrier and folds up small. I use it on the back of a BMW 3 series convertible and I can still fit in in the small boot with room for luggage.
The straps don't inspire confidence though. The two 'upper' straps (which are the vital ones) could do with a lock to make it feel less precarious (though I'm sure they're fine)
Be sure to check you're legal with it. It may obscure your number plate, and lights. This may result in unexpected expense to fix (and if you're driving at night may not even be possible.
Tip: Get lots of extra bungees/straps to keep bits of bike from moving,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

This product is great but check it fits your bike

Posted24 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Cons: can not fit some modern full suspension bikes, doesnt work well on a bmw 3 series convertible
I bought this product as it was great value for money and one of the only products recommended to fit my BMW 3 series hard top convertible. I took it out of the box and could see that it was a great compact design.
The issue I experienced:
Unfortunately it does not fit my La Pierre Spicy and looking at the design may not be suitable for other full suspension mountain bikes where the rear suspension is located near to the top Horizontal bar.
Also a note to consider if you are using the rack on the BMW 3 series convertible, the horizontal side straps are not long enough forcing the hooks to locate too close to the plastic rear light casings.
Overall I can see that this is a great rack and will work very well for most bikes on nearly all cars. It does not work well for the two combinations I have talked about above.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Stylish, compact and capable.

Posted22 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great, well engineered, no assembly, easy adjustment
No regrets. I'm new to the bike transporting game so spent some considerable time mousing around for advice and recommendations. I finally opted for the Saris Bones2 after seeing a couple of online videos that literally demonstrated how straightforward it was to use. It's an elegant and logical solution that does the job well without covering the car with half a ton of superfluous scaffolding and it enjoys a similarly modest footprint in the garage between journeys. We've now successfully completed bumpy local excursions and a 4hr motorway trip without stress or anxiety and my personal best for attaching the Bones2 is comfortably under 5 minutes. Because I'm a 'belt-n-braces' kind of chap I invested in a couple of short bungee cords to stop the wheels spinning and to firm things up even more and personally I also use a little pipe insulation just to pad out the grip straps as one of our bikes has an unusually small diameter frame.
Bottom line : totes as good as it looks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

top bike rack

Posted22 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
very easy to set up .
tip I would give is mark where you angle the arms with tape and mark top middle and bottom on the straps so you can set it up far quicker from when you first set it up.
and you can put a bungee cord through the middle to secure your bike wheels from moving about..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

So Far So Good

Posted20 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, adaptable
Cons: difficult to fit
Although a bit fiddly to fit, this rack is a good solution for VW Scirocco drivers looking to carry bikes. No damage to the cars paintwork.
My Lapierre Spicy did not fit on the rack very well. Ended up having to support it from the rear shock rather than the top tube.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality product and great service from Evans.

Posted20 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
Bought this to fit my mini cooper as it look a good quality well built product which it was. Fitted the car perfectly just a shame my bike didn't fit. My orange hard tail with its straight top tube fitted but my santa cruz bronson didn't. Took it back to Evans. They gave me a full refund no questions asked.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy setup, solid product

Posted15 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
This was the only bike rack recommended for my car (Honda Accord). It was a little more expensive than I had envisaged paying, but got a good deal from Evans Cycles so went ahead. It arrived promptly (Saturday morning) went straight on the car and we set straight off on a 180 mile drive with the two bikes on the back. It proved really easy to setup and was sturdy. It is obviously a well designed and manufactured product and I couldn't be happier with it. I would heartily recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nervous first steps!

Posted12 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: not enough help in manual
I use this on a Mercedes B-Class.
First time I used this I was worried it was going to come off the car as the top leg moved away from the rear screen forcing me to drive quite slow.
After a ride I decided to open up the legs much wider and the drive home was much better.
Saris could include some guidance with the rack to show recommended positions for various types of cars (estate, saloon etc.) rather than leave you to figure it out hence I've docked them 1 star.
Apart from that it does what it's supposed to, although to be honest my next car will have a towbar and I'll invest in a better rack.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:St Paul's

easy to set up & solid

Posted02 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, easy to mount
Cons: no stowage bag when not in use
Easy to set up, completed within minutes (after watching YouTube clip). Solid despite a plastic body of the rack. Once underway, keeping to the recommended 60 mph, no movement from the rack, I used the excess securing straps to tie down the front wheel.
Only con: They should provide a bag for the rack when not in use, otherwise overall would recommend as a non permanent rack, and take advantage of price match policy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Gateshead

Good sturdy bike carrier

Posted21 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
I bought two of these for our two cars. I checked that they would fit our Hyundai Getz and i10 which they did, but didn't spot that 'huggers' were needed for the i10. Luckily we has some on an old carrier, but this could have been a problem if we didn't. It should be more prominent if extra things are needed. Other than that, great product and happy to recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality!!!!!!!!!

Posted23 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Awesome bike rack ... quick to fit and take down again. Robust quality product ... well worth the price!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Sturdy, secure, easy to fit, good value for money

Posted23 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
We are very pleased with this product. Easy to fit, sturdy with our two bikes feeling secure and not damaging to the car. Would recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Saris Bones 2 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chelmsford

Fits the car and carries bike

Posted14 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
Cons: Expensive
The only rack I could find to fit an MX5. It does the job but does rely totally on straps and is held so close that front wheel and pedal can move and touch the car. That said I carried a light racer at 60 mph for 60 miles. It does obscure number plate and lights.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>