Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Time Roc Atac Pedals

Time Roc Atac Pedals

Features: Steel axle, Composite body, ATAC: Auto Tension Adjustment Concept. Foot retention is independent from spring tension. Sensor: angular feel adjustment. Self-cleaning design offers stability/reliability and easy-entry. Angular Float: +5 / Lateral Float: 6mm. Weight: 384 g per pair.
Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
7 out of 8(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Time Roc Atac Pedals
Review 1 for Time Roc Atac Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mudmaster
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Posted06 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
I've been using Time pedals for several years now and find them of good quality and hence very reliable. Entry is easy, good float and mud shedding capability is excellent. I was running Shimano pedals which are also excellent but had a slight knee problem and changed to Time through my LBS recommendation due to the float Time pedals have. Worked a treat. Time Roc Atac on my commute bike and Time Z platform on my mountain bike. Don't be fooled by thinking if you're a regular cyclist you need to set the cleats up to the " expert " setting, it's very secure attachement on the " recreational " setting also.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Time Roc Atac Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lee33
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Awesome product

Posted07 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I love these pedals, they really do help with the power you get when pedalling. Tried them on the Brompton too. Easy to click in and out of, you can unclip both directions (left and right) too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Time Roc Atac Pedals
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
beastofburden
from Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not for people with knee problems

Posted12 January 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought these pedals after being total they had good float. My previous pedals were Time Criterium Pro, about 10 years old, so I expected Time to produce a good pedal. I went for an SPD compatible pedal rather than a road one because I now cycle mainly for commuting and need to be able to walk away from the bike. Unfortunately the amount of float available is quite limited, and I had to stop using these pedals when my knees started to act up. If I could get new cleats for the old Criterium Pro, I'd go back to them in the morning.
These may be fine if your knees are perfect, but they're not the solution for dodgy, genetically deformed wrecks like me.
(Cleat engagement is also somewhat difficult, and not as positive as I am used to.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Time Roc Atac Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
meredithmtb
from Melbourne Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple, reliable and easy to use

Posted08 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, reliable, easy to use
These pedals are great. Incredibly secure, easy to get in and out of, great mud/dirt shedding.
After using Crank Bros. and Shimano pedals, these are far easier to use and are really well constructed.
These pedals are a real bargain and I ended up buying two pairs.
They do take a little getting used to and setting up with Sidi shoes requires a little triming of the grip on the bottom of the shoe in order for the pedal to be able to operate at its optimum.
As a result, I'm using them both on and off the road
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Time Roc Atac Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
VoidWanderer
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Stiff and reliable pedals

Posted01 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
First of all, I'd like to add that pedals do have cleats included in box.
Pros:
- easy and reliable to clip in/unclip
- works well in a mud
Cons:
- steel plating with cutted triangles on it may be easily bended after fall on rocks
- bearings does not rotate easily
- bronze cleats are easily damaged by rocks and should be replaced from time to time
Specific:
- be very careful to install cleats in proper direction! It is possible to intall them BACKWARDS and still be able to clip into the pedal! It will require a great force but pedal will actually clip in and out.
- pedals are not spread as wide as Shimano standard, so it will rather impossible to ride a friends bike or vice versa
- Specialized Sport shoes users should to shave off some soil to unclip easily
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Time Roc Atac Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
woody65
from Bristol
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good pedal for money

Posted02 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Have been using Time atac pedal for as long as they have been around 10+ years ?) and these seem as good as all the others I've tried. Brought them as on offer at £50 and currently have them on my road bike (Carbon Ribble) as have had problems with shimano pedals due to the lack of float effecting my knees.
May move to a road system (as lighter) and if so these will go onto one of my mountain bikes as they are lighter than the current times on them and the currwent ones are near the end of their life. Well I've been thinking that for the last two years so who knows what I'll do.
Great product especially if you have bad knees.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Time Roc Atac Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mountainbe
from Brussels
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Posted19 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Easy to use. No real experience with other brands of automatic pedals but these seem to provide a great many adjustments to be adaptable to all levels of experience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Time Roc Atac Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
d3matt
from Oxfordshire
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted21 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I brought these as many reviews said these sorted their knee problems they had experienced with Shimano pedals. These are my first clipless pedals so can't really compare them to others and I'm also still going through the learning curve and having plenty of falls on the tricky muddy uphill climbs. But so far, I am pleased I got the Time pedals. They seem robust, don't clog with mud and release ok (when you remember!). The cleats take a while to wear in, when it then gets easier to click in and out.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.