Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Folding & Electric Bike Spares or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Brompton Easy Wheelset R-type

Brompton Easy Wheelset R-type

Please Note that Brompton Accessories cannot be purchased for international delivery and can only be delivered to an address within the UK.
Overall rating:
4.091 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 11Would you recommend this product to a friend?91%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Brompton Easy Wheelset R-type
Review 1 for Brompton Easy Wheelset R-type
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what expected

Posted14 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: Expensive
Works fine (on smooth surfaces). Easy to fit. Easy to fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brompton Easy Wheelset R-type
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Good thing I order this with R rack.

Posted01 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, better rolling
Luckily I ordered this set instead of the L set as the R set contains more washer to space out the wheels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brompton Easy Wheelset R-type
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Convert your Brompton into a real workhorse.

Posted21 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Cons: Unattractive
Despite the instructions looking horrendously complicated, the installation of the rear rack was surprisingly easy. It didn't even necessitate the amount of dismantling suggested. I would say though that this product should be linked to the ezy wheels that go with it. I had phoned to check if this was the correct product for my bike and the guy at the end of the phone was extremely helpful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brompton Easy Wheelset R-type
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Great enhancement

Posted11 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
I have been wanting this for ages- massive reduction of friction for my 15 year old Brompton. Well worth it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brompton Easy Wheelset R-type
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

They should be factory fitted

Posted07 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: Expensive, difficult to fit
The wheels themselves add so much utility to the bike that I don’t understand why they are not fitted as standard. But as an after-sales accessory they are very poor. First, the cost is ridiculously high for four plastic wheels, a few washers and a rubber bung. And surely Brompton could supply enough bits that the existing parts did not have to be reused. The washers are essential and probably cost less than a tenth of a penny each but exactly the required number are supplied including use of the old ones. Woe betide the unfortunate owner who drops any of the existing washers when removing the old little wheels. Similarly the existing bolts have to be reused. These bolts are not meant to be undone, if they were why they would not be so tightly fitted at the factory and it would be possible to undo them with a socket or at last have a deep alan key recess. The shallow alan key depressions in the bolts are almost guaranteed to result in the key slipping out when undoing the bolt, resulting in a mangling of the bolt’s head which is at least unsightly, and worse will make it more difficult to remove if removal is ever required in the future. Please Brompton, at least supply enough new washers and new bolts so that the existing washers and bolts do not need to be reused.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brompton Easy Wheelset R-type
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Useful accessory , sturdy wheel set

Posted17 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Have had them for a month on the bike, useful to roll the bike when needed, sturdy and with thin profile.
Keeps the mud guard, when folded, from being scraped.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brompton Easy Wheelset R-type
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

A 'must have' if you have the rear carrier

Posted16 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
If you have the rear carrier you should buy this, otherwise your bungee cords gradually get shredded by the friction against the ground when it is folded.
The bike glides around really nicely with easy wheels. Another good quality add-on from Brompton - shame they aren't the standard!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brompton Easy Wheelset R-type
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Notting Hill

adds hugely to mobility and ease of transport

Posted18 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
A bit expensive for just 4 wheels and a bit of rubber, but makes a huge difference. Recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brompton Easy Wheelset R-type
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Brilliant design! They have thought of everything

Posted23 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The bike feels like you are riding something with bigger wheels.None of the comparative designs are anything like as good so whilst expensive the Brompton is worth it for riding comfort and practicality and you are buying British! I chose the firmer suspension, higher saddle and trolley wheels and they really enhance the bike so recommend getting them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brompton Easy Wheelset R-type
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
from London-UK/BH-Brazil
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Unable to fit in my brompton

Posted04 October 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: didnt fit
Ive recently bought an Easy Wheelset R-type set for my brompton SL3R just to realise that to fit the front easy wheels on the rack close to the set post, I need a different type of screw, since the ones that came on the bike for the "plastic" wheel have a bigger diameter than the whole on the easy wheel.
Maybe Im mistaken, but i thought that brompton parts were universal and I was expecting the set to come with everything you need to fit the wheels...
Real bummer to have to chase this screws now.
Have a look at this if you are thinking about buying the set.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brompton Easy Wheelset R-type
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
from Yorkshire
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

What the rubber thing for?

Posted15 July 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: better than original
Cons: bung
These wheels are much better than the castors. Note, removal of the castors requires a fair amount of grunt, and a large screwdiver, so as to avoid a knarled screw head. Also the big rubber thing is a bung for the seatpost to prevent the bike from rolling away when folded, (took ages to work this out!) However it has disappeared within a week, so I assume I didn't tighten the compression bolt enough, so more road debris no doubt!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.