Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals

Shimano A530 Touring Pedals

Overall rating:
4.587 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(104 reviews) 104
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 104 reviews
5 Stars
68
4 Stars
30
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
101 out of 104Would you recommend this product to a friend?97%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
24 Questions | 72 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Review 1 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stuart17
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really solid set of pedals!!

Posted28 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Great set of pedals, the platform is comfortable and stable, and the cleat side is easy to use because the scallopped platform does not interfere with the treads on shores, something of an issue on Shimano 50:50 pedals.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bugsy
from Louth
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted28 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Use my bike for daily commute and always clip in. These now give me the option of nipping to a meeting etc without having to get changed. Not too heavy and seem very well made, i'm sure they will last me for years.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
steveindenmark
from Denmark
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good pedals

Posted24 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
These are not the lightest pedals you can buy but they work very well on both my road bike and recumbent.
It is useful having clips on one side and the other side without clips because as soon as I put my cleated shoes on I feel like a greyhound going into the stalls. When I wear my trainers my mind realises it is only a social pootle around.
The springs are tight but easy to get out of. After 400km I have not had any scary moments.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kay13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Cardiff

Does what is says

Posted27 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
A good buy if you want to have the use of cleats or normal shoes without changing the pedals. The platform pedal side can b a little slippy in the rain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
slimrebel317
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

A good all rounder

Posted19 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
I purchased these pedals for the dual sided feature. SPD on one side & flat on the other. This gives me the option to wear normal trainers when I need to walk around when off the bike.
The SPD clips needed to be loosened as they were a touch tight when using my MTB shoes. I soon became comfortable when riding this set up .
There could be a little more grip on the flat side, but overall these fit my needs well.
Shimano quality speaks for itself.
Great for my all-round needs. Though I have another set of full MTB pedals for use for when I want a fully dedicated SPD set up.
Thanks for looking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
david1047
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leicester

brilliant pedals

Posted11 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
these pedals give me the choice to be clipped in or use the otherside with shoes that dont have clips
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ginger42
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great for the first time user

Posted28 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Never used cleats before so was a bit apprehensive. Rode 40 miles with them on my first time out and they were great. Consistently reliable and easy to use. And I didn't fall off so a winner all round in my book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stu13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Great combination pedal.

Posted09 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
As i'd never used cleats before i decided it was best to go for these combination pedals to enable me to use the flat side while i get used to my new bike and then move on to using the cleats as i get more comfortable with the bike. They were easy to fit and using the cleats was easy to adapt to. Really pleased with my purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ian241
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Easy to use

Posted05 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
SPD cleat one side, flat pedal the other. Ideal for commuting when you have to often clip out in traffic etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pipe
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Commuting / Touring Pedals

Posted02 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
90% of the time I will ride my bike with SPD cleats, but there are times when I want to jump on my bike and ride into town, or go to the shops wearing normal trainers. These pedals save me the hassle of having to change over pedals.
They are perfect for what I want
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bryanm10
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Notting Hill

Really solid quality product

Posted15 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Very high quality pedals - they are perfect and very well made, I am extremely pleased with this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Owen59
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

These give me lots of confidence and security

Posted12 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Its the first time for me with clip-in pedals so these allow me to clip in or flip the pedal and use the flat, great when I am climbing hills and at traffic lights.
Ive fitted them to my MTB and road bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craige
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Gender:Male

Very good

Posted18 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Nice pedals. like the fact they can be used as flats and clip ons.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Talloneonabike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Excellent performance at the moment

Posted04 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, performs well
These pedals have proved to be excellent so far, with the cleats working as expected and the flat side being more than suitable for the task. When the bearings wear in, it will be interesting to see how the weighting affects the neutral position of the body.
I would still recommend these pedals for commuting and touring.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
phy9pas
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great introduction to clipless pedals

Posted02 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This was my first pair of clipless pedals, and I'm really pleased with them.
Easy to fit, fairly lightweight (considering the price) and easy to get in and out of.
The flat side is useful for riding in traffic when you want to keep one foot clipped out, and it's a breeze to clip in when you need to.
Looks good, performs well, happy with my choice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FSG060571
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Awesome!

Posted02 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Really great pedals. Since buying these I have discussed them with loads of people and the general opinion is these are the way forward. Great how they are double sided so you can use trainers 'nipping out with the kids' or proper shoes and the clips when doing a serious ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Brentford

Posted30 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Recommended by staff instore, very good recommendation. Solid, durable and easy to attach, good for cycling in traffic , its quick and easy attach and release.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bruno16
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

good pedals

Posted13 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
i bought these for my new bike. They're a great option for beginners like myself as I haven't got cycling shoes yet but will probably get some soon. so the option is there to use either
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Rathbone Place

Easy to use in commuter traffic

Posted24 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought to allow clipped shoes and ordinary shoes when riding around town, works well and easily 'flicked' between two sides. Even better value as they were bought on a shed 50 deal! Look the part as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fatboy3567
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Best of both worlds

Posted08 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I purchased these to replace the standard pedals on my Brompton after being fed up of slipping on the standard pedals.
The drive side pedal tucks away almost as well as the Brompton pedal.
I have to acknowledge that on the non drive side the pedal does stick out considerably more, however I have found this to be of little consequence when offset against the massive advantage of being able to clip in.
And for the occasions when I or non cycle shoe family equipped members use the bicycle the platform Side of these pedals are a comfortable effective peddling platform.
Very happy with the my purchase!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>