Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals

Shimano A530 Touring Pedals

Overall rating:
4.591 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(88 reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 88 reviews
5 Stars
59
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
85 out of 88(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 66 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Review 1 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stuart17
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really solid set of pedals!!

PostedMay 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Great set of pedals, the platform is comfortable and stable, and the cleat side is easy to use because the scallopped platform does not interfere with the treads on shores, something of an issue on Shimano 50:50 pedals.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bugsy
from Louth
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedApril 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Use my bike for daily commute and always clip in. These now give me the option of nipping to a meeting etc without having to get changed. Not too heavy and seem very well made, i'm sure they will last me for years.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
steveindenmark
from Denmark
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good pedals

PostedMarch 24, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
These are not the lightest pedals you can buy but they work very well on both my road bike and recumbent.
It is useful having clips on one side and the other side without clips because as soon as I put my cleated shoes on I feel like a greyhound going into the stalls. When I wear my trainers my mind realises it is only a social pootle around.
The springs are tight but easy to get out of. After 400km I have not had any scary moments.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fatboy3567
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Best of both worlds

PostedApril 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I purchased these to replace the standard pedals on my Brompton after being fed up of slipping on the standard pedals.
The drive side pedal tucks away almost as well as the Brompton pedal.
I have to acknowledge that on the non drive side the pedal does stick out considerably more, however I have found this to be of little consequence when offset against the massive advantage of being able to clip in.
And for the occasions when I or non cycle shoe family equipped members use the bicycle the platform Side of these pedals are a comfortable effective peddling platform.
Very happy with the my purchase!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bodyforlycra
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

first proper pedals, seem great

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Easy to use. not too tight when trying to clip out (on loosest setting until they ease) but tight enough that I have not just "popped out" when going up hill into the wind.
Flat side perfectly adequate for pulling away from junctions with cycling shoes or with trainers when not geared up.
Wide enough to feel like a traditional flat pedal
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sixstringer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Ideal intro to clipless pedals

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These pedals are flat on one side. Great for those new to clipless pedals, quick dashes to the shops wearing regular shoes or any other time when being attached to the bike is inconvenient or potentially embarrassing! Very pleased with mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
avoman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ideal for my hybrid

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
it is easy to select the right side of the pedal without looking. Usual Shimano quality and a bargain. I bought them in store but they matched the online price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
aaron10
Country:Malaysia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best of both worlds

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Good if you want to use cleats and would sometimes like to ride with your sneakers to a nearby place. The drawback is that it's a tad heavy. Sturdy build though...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JB74
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Best of both worlds

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Saves swapping pedals on a multi use bike, nice looking, and quite a low profile. Flat side could be a bit more grippy though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TCB123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
It's my first time using clips and these are a perfect intro, and allows me to pop to the shops easily in trainers- ideal!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Valjean290
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Great product!

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Really happy with these pedals, comfortable and convenient to use the bike different occasions .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bellstar41
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Ideal for me !

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, pain free
Cons: Expensive
Wanted a pedal for my slick shod mountain bike for my Coast to coast ride that wouldn't wrench my sensitive knees on exiting.
With the pedal set on their loosest settings with a set of multi point cleats ( recommended by the chap in Kendal Evans, shame they aren't sold with them really), once I had cleats in my shoes set up, I could clip out with no pain or concern. Up till now I had been using crank bros candy recommended for their float, but with no adjustment unclipping put strain on the old joints.
Found the option of being able to flip the pedals over on difficult downhill/off road sections or on steep starts really helpful, plenty of grip on my Specialized Tahoes.
I liked them so much I am going to leave them on when I put the knobbly tyres back on as I can't find an mtb specific version which offers the same features.
Perfect for the rider who wants to use spd but might want to have a useable alternative at some point in the ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
evovilol
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Excellent pedals

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, tough
Cons: can be slippery in wet
As a mountain biker I had to strike a balance for practicality when getting a new road bike recently. I was already using a pair of these on my MTB and they've seen me through a few bashes and been treated generally bad, has to be said. Still they kept going,battered and bruised and still feel smooth after a year or so.
I didn't want to get road specific pedals for my new road bike so got another pair of these. Mainly because I'm not that bothered but also because I've already got too many SPD shoes and I'm starting to compete for wardrobe space with the Mrs if I would get road shoes as well. ;-)
The only niggle I could possible have is that the flat side of pedal can be slippery and it has happened that I've slipped off the pedal. In particular if it's wet. Something to keep in mind when setting off.
Evans price was not the best around but that's what Price Match is for, eh?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
feef
Country:United Kingdom

Great product

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
Good product which is very useful if new to clipped-in cycling, though a little expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
christoff
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Excellent product

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
As always an excellent product and first class service and delivery from Evans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
IILexII
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

A very good pedal

PostedJuly 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
If your looking for a diverse pedal that you can use clipped in or as a standard pedal then you cant go wrong with these. I have them on my Brompton and have had no problems what so ever. They are very comfortable when not clipped in using normal trainers and a great sturdy pedal when you are clipped in.
All in all a very good pedal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JBMC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Stylish duel purpose peddle

PostedJune 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, price match used
Products that normally have multiple functions don't usually function well in all modes but these pedals touch base on both counts. Positive drive when clipped in and a good size platform on reverse that gives you full access to the platform with its recessed cleat mechanism. Nice to clip out when I get a touch of hot foot and still have a positive foot platform. Clipped in, clipped out ,one in, one out, the choice is yours.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
miceton
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

The best of both worlds

PostedJune 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, fit for purpose
If you're like me and want to be able to nip around the city quick without having to worry about digging out your SPD's, but still want the performance of an SPD for those longer rides on a weekend then this pedal is ideal. It gives you the best of both worlds whilst remaining fairly light weight and not looking too out of place on an out-and-out road bike. Highly recommended.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
samd8
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Rathbone Place

Fills a gap in the market.

PostedApril 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
Bought these (on price match!) for my road bike as a first foray in to clipless pedals, but also as I wanted the option of commuting in normal shoes without having to change the pedals over.
The weighting of the pedals is great for clipping in, but not so great for using flats as they are always the wrong way up after the traffic lights.
One pedal on my set is a bit tricky to clip out of not matter how loose the spring- which isn't a great confidence builder when learning how to stop without falling.
That said, if you're looking for pedals which offer the best of both worlds, look no further!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sugar
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Really good for someone starting out with cleats

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
It's going to take me a bit of practice but these are a great introduction to cleats...means I can still go out on my bike in the knowledge that if I'm struggling I can fall back on the flat side of the pedal..One day I will look back and laugh but for the moment, these are perfect!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>