Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals

Shimano A530 Touring Pedals

Overall rating:
4.609 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(110 reviews) 110
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 110 reviews
5 Stars
74
4 Stars
30
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
107 out of 110Would you recommend this product to a friend?97%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
24 Questions | 74 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Review 1 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really solid set of pedals!!

Posted28 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Great set of pedals, the platform is comfortable and stable, and the cleat side is easy to use because the scallopped platform does not interfere with the treads on shores, something of an issue on Shimano 50:50 pedals.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from Louth
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted28 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Use my bike for daily commute and always clip in. These now give me the option of nipping to a meeting etc without having to get changed. Not too heavy and seem very well made, i'm sure they will last me for years.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
from Denmark
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good pedals

Posted24 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
These are not the lightest pedals you can buy but they work very well on both my road bike and recumbent.
It is useful having clips on one side and the other side without clips because as soon as I put my cleated shoes on I feel like a greyhound going into the stalls. When I wear my trainers my mind realises it is only a social pootle around.
The springs are tight but easy to get out of. After 400km I have not had any scary moments.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

All my shoes covered in one set of pedals!

Posted02 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
As above, clips clip in, shoes go on the other side
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Flexibility

Posted12 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
I often cycle to the gym in my trainers rather than my cycle shoes. The ability to use both shoes types on my bike gives me the flexibility. Needless to say that it removed the need to carry extra shoes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Excellent pedals for mixed use

Posted09 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
I commute and train with cleats but sometimes just hop on the bike in trainers - these pedals are perfect. Easy to clip in and out, even thought they're single-sided. Light too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

A Quality Product...

Posted31 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Well built pedal that can take a cleat on one side whilst it is flat on the other.List price is steep at nearly £50 but they may price match the online retailers which would bring it down to a much more reasonable £30.
Found these easy to use despite being a first time cleat-user, although de-coupling can be tricky even with the pedals set to the loosest setting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Versatile

Posted17 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
I do a lot of touring. I like clipping onto the pedals when I'm on an open road and cycling for hours, but not when I'm in city centres.
These pedals are ideal for that. On one side they have the clips and the other they're just like normal pedals. They're easy to use even for first timers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Great pedals

Posted01 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Great quality pedal - I can't fault this if you want to use either cycling shoes or trainers.
Only downside is that it's slightly harder to clip into than a double sided SPD pedal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Cardiff

Does what is says

Posted27 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
A good buy if you want to have the use of cleats or normal shoes without changing the pedals. The platform pedal side can b a little slippy in the rain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

A good all rounder

Posted19 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
I purchased these pedals for the dual sided feature. SPD on one side & flat on the other. This gives me the option to wear normal trainers when I need to walk around when off the bike.
The SPD clips needed to be loosened as they were a touch tight when using my MTB shoes. I soon became comfortable when riding this set up .
There could be a little more grip on the flat side, but overall these fit my needs well.
Shimano quality speaks for itself.
Great for my all-round needs. Though I have another set of full MTB pedals for use for when I want a fully dedicated SPD set up.
Thanks for looking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leicester

brilliant pedals

Posted11 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
these pedals give me the choice to be clipped in or use the otherside with shoes that dont have clips
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great for the first time user

Posted28 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Never used cleats before so was a bit apprehensive. Rode 40 miles with them on my first time out and they were great. Consistently reliable and easy to use. And I didn't fall off so a winner all round in my book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Great combination pedal.

Posted09 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
As i'd never used cleats before i decided it was best to go for these combination pedals to enable me to use the flat side while i get used to my new bike and then move on to using the cleats as i get more comfortable with the bike. They were easy to fit and using the cleats was easy to adapt to. Really pleased with my purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Easy to use

Posted05 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
SPD cleat one side, flat pedal the other. Ideal for commuting when you have to often clip out in traffic etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Commuting / Touring Pedals

Posted02 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
90% of the time I will ride my bike with SPD cleats, but there are times when I want to jump on my bike and ride into town, or go to the shops wearing normal trainers. These pedals save me the hassle of having to change over pedals.
They are perfect for what I want
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Notting Hill

Really solid quality product

Posted15 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Very high quality pedals - they are perfect and very well made, I am extremely pleased with this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

These give me lots of confidence and security

Posted12 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Its the first time for me with clip-in pedals so these allow me to clip in or flip the pedal and use the flat, great when I am climbing hills and at traffic lights.
Ive fitted them to my MTB and road bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Gender:Male

Very good

Posted18 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Nice pedals. like the fact they can be used as flats and clip ons.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Excellent performance at the moment

Posted04 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, performs well
These pedals have proved to be excellent so far, with the cleats working as expected and the flat side being more than suitable for the task. When the bearings wear in, it will be interesting to see how the weighting affects the neutral position of the body.
I would still recommend these pedals for commuting and touring.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>