Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals

Shimano A530 Touring Pedals

Overall rating:
4.588 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(97 reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 97 reviews
5 Stars
64
4 Stars
27
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
94 out of 97(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
23 Questions | 70 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Review 1 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stuart17
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really solid set of pedals!!

PostedMay 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Great set of pedals, the platform is comfortable and stable, and the cleat side is easy to use because the scallopped platform does not interfere with the treads on shores, something of an issue on Shimano 50:50 pedals.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bugsy
from Louth
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedApril 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Use my bike for daily commute and always clip in. These now give me the option of nipping to a meeting etc without having to get changed. Not too heavy and seem very well made, i'm sure they will last me for years.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
steveindenmark
from Denmark
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good pedals

PostedMarch 24, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
These are not the lightest pedals you can buy but they work very well on both my road bike and recumbent.
It is useful having clips on one side and the other side without clips because as soon as I put my cleated shoes on I feel like a greyhound going into the stalls. When I wear my trainers my mind realises it is only a social pootle around.
The springs are tight but easy to get out of. After 400km I have not had any scary moments.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bryanm10
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Notting Hill

Really solid quality product

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Very high quality pedals - they are perfect and very well made, I am extremely pleased with this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Owen59
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

These give me lots of confidence and security

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Its the first time for me with clip-in pedals so these allow me to clip in or flip the pedal and use the flat, great when I am climbing hills and at traffic lights.
Ive fitted them to my MTB and road bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craige
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Gender:Male

Very good

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Nice pedals. like the fact they can be used as flats and clip ons.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Talloneonabike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Excellent performance at the moment

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, performs well
These pedals have proved to be excellent so far, with the cleats working as expected and the flat side being more than suitable for the task. When the bearings wear in, it will be interesting to see how the weighting affects the neutral position of the body.
I would still recommend these pedals for commuting and touring.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
phy9pas
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great introduction to clipless pedals

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This was my first pair of clipless pedals, and I'm really pleased with them.
Easy to fit, fairly lightweight (considering the price) and easy to get in and out of.
The flat side is useful for riding in traffic when you want to keep one foot clipped out, and it's a breeze to clip in when you need to.
Looks good, performs well, happy with my choice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FSG060571
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Awesome!

PostedJune 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Really great pedals. Since buying these I have discussed them with loads of people and the general opinion is these are the way forward. Great how they are double sided so you can use trainers 'nipping out with the kids' or proper shoes and the clips when doing a serious ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Brentford

PostedMay 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Recommended by staff instore, very good recommendation. Solid, durable and easy to attach, good for cycling in traffic , its quick and easy attach and release.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bruno16
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

good pedals

PostedMay 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
i bought these for my new bike. They're a great option for beginners like myself as I haven't got cycling shoes yet but will probably get some soon. so the option is there to use either
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Rathbone Place

Easy to use in commuter traffic

PostedApril 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought to allow clipped shoes and ordinary shoes when riding around town, works well and easily 'flicked' between two sides. Even better value as they were bought on a shed 50 deal! Look the part as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fatboy3567
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Best of both worlds

PostedApril 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I purchased these to replace the standard pedals on my Brompton after being fed up of slipping on the standard pedals.
The drive side pedal tucks away almost as well as the Brompton pedal.
I have to acknowledge that on the non drive side the pedal does stick out considerably more, however I have found this to be of little consequence when offset against the massive advantage of being able to clip in.
And for the occasions when I or non cycle shoe family equipped members use the bicycle the platform Side of these pedals are a comfortable effective peddling platform.
Very happy with the my purchase!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bodyforlycra
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

first proper pedals, seem great

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Easy to use. not too tight when trying to clip out (on loosest setting until they ease) but tight enough that I have not just "popped out" when going up hill into the wind.
Flat side perfectly adequate for pulling away from junctions with cycling shoes or with trainers when not geared up.
Wide enough to feel like a traditional flat pedal
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sixstringer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Ideal intro to clipless pedals

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These pedals are flat on one side. Great for those new to clipless pedals, quick dashes to the shops wearing regular shoes or any other time when being attached to the bike is inconvenient or potentially embarrassing! Very pleased with mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
avoman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ideal for my hybrid

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
it is easy to select the right side of the pedal without looking. Usual Shimano quality and a bargain. I bought them in store but they matched the online price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
aaron10
Country:Malaysia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best of both worlds

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Good if you want to use cleats and would sometimes like to ride with your sneakers to a nearby place. The drawback is that it's a tad heavy. Sturdy build though...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JB74
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Best of both worlds

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Saves swapping pedals on a multi use bike, nice looking, and quite a low profile. Flat side could be a bit more grippy though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TCB123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
It's my first time using clips and these are a perfect intro, and allows me to pop to the shops easily in trainers- ideal!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano A530 Touring Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Valjean290
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Great product!

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Really happy with these pedals, comfortable and convenient to use the bike different occasions .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>