Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano M770 XT Cassette - 9 Speed

Shimano M770 XT Cassette - 9 Speed

Overall rating:
4.824 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
17 out of 17(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano M770 XT Cassette - 9 Speed
Review 1 for Shimano M770 XT Cassette - 9 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
stumpy22
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

good spread of ratios

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
i run a single ring on the front for commuting 20 miles. this 9 speed 11-34 is long lasting and makes it easy to deal with the up hill on the route.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano M770 XT Cassette - 9 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gringo73
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Does exactly what you'd expect.

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, fit and forget
Cons: Expensive
It works, reasonable weight. Replaced identical cassette which saw approx 2000 miles of mixed riding before wear made it sloppy.
Expensive at full price but received good service from Gateshead store who price matched a competitor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano M770 XT Cassette - 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigStav
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Light but we'll engineered.

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Awesome service as always from Evans. Price matched in store for me as I'd seen it slightly cheaper online. Great bit of kit, significantly lighter than my old slx cassette. Shifting more responsive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano M770 XT Cassette - 9 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Affen
Country:Finland
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Robust quality and quite light weighted. Good coice for a bit older mtb bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano M770 XT Cassette - 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
N00rds
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Super slick changing

PostedApril 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, easy to clean
Super slick changing , lightweight and easy to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano M770 XT Cassette - 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stretch525
from Portugal
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

So Smooth

PostedAugust 26, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The gear changes are so smooth you could be riding a bike with an Automatic gear box .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano M770 XT Cassette - 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Samuel85
from Sheppey
Age:25-34
Style:BMX
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality

PostedJuly 17, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Good quality product, would recommend and good price also
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano M770 XT Cassette - 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RenQat
from Kuala Lumpur
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The super XT

PostedJuly 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, durable, great shifting
You pay the price for low weight and durability and to top it off you get smooth shifting. After climbing the tech ladder from Deore, LX, SLX to this, you get the promised XT experience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano M770 XT Cassette - 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
peast
from Helsinki, Finland
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Shimano M770 XT Cassette - 9 Speed

PostedJune 17, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, easy to clean
I do not race, the equipment I use are not top of the line products. But I want to spend my money reasonably and use quality parts, this is good example of that. Maybe it is not the best in the market but it is quality product for me.
+++ this cassette is easy to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano M770 XT Cassette - 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RepackRacer
from Birmingham
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedJune 1, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, good performance
All round High quality product from Shimano. Very lightweight (256g) and rigid at a very good price point compared to only slightly lighter XTR version. Very nice and smooth shifting. Just be sure to change your chain at the same time if you have a stretched / worn chain.
In summary, great price point for a quality piece of kit that's light, performs well and reliable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano M770 XT Cassette - 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thebear28
from edinburgh
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

xt cassette

PostedMay 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
light and durable, why buy xtr at twice the price when you can buy 2 of these; they will all wear out at some stage. finish on the xt cassette is very durable hasn't rusted and cleans up well. would buy these over S-ram equivalent.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano M770 XT Cassette - 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snapshots888
from Malaysia
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

M770 XT Cassette

PostedApril 17, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: a shipment notification fr evans would be great
One of the best cassettes one can buy. This was to replace my faulty XTR cassette with a broken ti tooth. This cassette eventually ended up on a new Hope PRO2 which was just perfect in terms of combination and performance. It's made of high quality material and very durable.Highly recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano M770 XT Cassette - 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dustyracer
from Whyteleafe
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
  • Staff

The benchmark for performance and durability

PostedAugust 26, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
As always when you buy any Shimano component you get the years and years of extensive development and research which puts shimano products at a benchmark status. This cassette is what I consider to be a must have for any mid to high priced MTB. Weather you ride recreationally on the weekend or are out on a 12 hour endurance event. This component is fundamental to your performance, it remains smooth and precise even under pressure. With 5 of the 9 sprocket wheels on an aluminium spider this saves a considerable amount of weight bringing the total weight to 256g. The XT cassette is a clear choice for anyone who wants performance, durability and to save weight.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano M770 XT Cassette - 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PaulTS
from Guildford
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Quality cassette

PostedJuly 31, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
as ever, reliable shimano part, very lightweight and easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano M770 XT Cassette - 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LambOfGod2242
from Cambridgeshire
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Great Cassette

PostedJune 2, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
This cassette was very easy to install for a beginner, and was considerably lighter than the 8 speed cassette i removed. The cogs themselves are very sturdy, and have a very good grip on the chain even on the lowest cog, and i experience no chain slip which i got on my old cassette.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano M770 XT Cassette - 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
zgip40
from Croydon
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

nice &easy

PostedApril 13, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
not to much very cheap, but it's the best quality for that price for me. good for streets and marathons
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano M770 XT Cassette - 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mtbmalta

PostedFebruary 25, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Usual Shimano stuff that works and works well. Getting rather pricey however!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.