Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano M772 XT Shadow Design Rear Derailleur - Top Normal

Shimano M772 XT Shadow Design Rear Derailleur - Top Normal

Overall rating:
4.462 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 13(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano M772 XT Shadow Design Rear Derailleur - Top Normal
Review 1 for Shimano M772 XT Shadow Design Rear Derailleur - Top Normal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RepackRacer
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Everything you'd want from a rear mech.

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This isn't the first one I've had, as I have one on my other bike which I has been running for about 3 years without fault. Shifting is consistantly smooth, thanks to the ceramic bearings, and the shadow design keeps it out of the way of obtrusions when doing XC and going down some singletrack.
Performs brilliantly even on hard climbs without skipping or snagging, and I've never noticed it make too much noise or 'bounce' around even when going at speed or on small jumps/ bunny hops.
As perhaps pointed out by others, it doe snot have a barrel adjuster on it, so fine tuning will have to be done via the adjuster on your gear levers. If you aren't really good a stuff like this, then I would advise getting it done by your LBS.
If you couple this with a decent gear cable outers like Shimano SP41, Gore ride on, or Jagwire L3's then you'll have no problem shifting gears.
In summary, a great bit of kit that does its job wonderfully - so much so that you can forget its even there and just concentrate on enjoying your ride. Very reliable piece of kit from Shimano and worth the price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano M772 XT Shadow Design Rear Derailleur - Top Normal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Saxlady54
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Fab quality

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, perfect
The product quality is really top class, I made the right decision choosing shemarno rear drebuliar . Can't wait to fit on bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano M772 XT Shadow Design Rear Derailleur - Top Normal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rookie666
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Quick precise shifting

PostedApril 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, precise shifting
I have had a few of these on various bikes. Quick to fit and index, reliable gear changes. This has seen a few more expensive mechs by the wayside on friends bikes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano M772 XT Shadow Design Rear Derailleur - Top Normal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Discosnowy
from Kent
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Typically good

PostedFebruary 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought this as a direct replacement for a derailleur I broke on a ride, although this is the short cage version. Seems to be working just as well as the original, so not sure why anyone would go for the long cage version.
Evans' (Lakeside) service was excellent as usual, it was fitted and set up whilst I waited and the gear changes are smooth as they were before.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano M772 XT Shadow Design Rear Derailleur - Top Normal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Marcos
from Brazil
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Five stars for Shimano M772 XT

PostedJuly 4, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I'm really happy with this product. It was more than I expected. I do recommend this product to anyone who wants quality gear.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano M772 XT Shadow Design Rear Derailleur - Top Normal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
losthelpme
from Luxembourg
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Smooth as silk.

PostedJune 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
The derailleur arrived promptly in its original wrapping and I set about fitting it. The rear hanger on my old specialized enduro fsr didnt seem to accept the unit but I perservered and found the correct attitude for attaching it. Setting it up was easy and indexing proved fiddly as adjustment needs to be done at the shifter end of cable.
Having used the bike with Deore system before I find the XT smooth and precise when I shift. mking my overall ride much better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano M772 XT Shadow Design Rear Derailleur - Top Normal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Baldrick999
from Surrey Hills, Wales
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

excellent purchase

PostedJune 13, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This really is a superb derailleur, strong, light weight for the money and very reliable! Quick snappy gear shifting. I have had this for 6 months and have never been dissapointed. Very happy with my purchase. I have used a variet of shimano and sram gear systems and love shimano XT
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano M772 XT Shadow Design Rear Derailleur - Top Normal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
david4
from otley
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedSeptember 24, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
needed a new derailleur to replace my sram 4 its far better no clangs or bangs any more the changes up and down are very smooth too
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano M772 XT Shadow Design Rear Derailleur - Top Normal
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pauky
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good but I call it fragile

PostedJuly 3, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, fragile
I had it on my new Trek 6700 for 4 weeks. It worked very well, smooth and silent through about 150 miles. Then the first rainy day came. I slipped and fell and bike with me. Derailleur hit the tarmac and bent at pivot joint ( or how is the plaece where it is mounted to the bike frame called). Its fitting just looks so weak and thin and it is. I managed to pedal with it for a bit, although it was noisy and not working well. When I investigated it, and found the bent, I tried if it could be pushed back. And I snapped it off with no proper use of force! It broke too easily. Now I am researching what derailleur to buy as a replacement. I will try some non shadow xt design probably.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano M772 XT Shadow Design Rear Derailleur - Top Normal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LambOfGod2242
from Cambridgeshire
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Great Replacement Mech

PostedJune 2, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I brought this rear mech to replace the basic s-ram mech that had been on my bike. It was very easy to install onto the frame, and had quite clear instructions on how to set it to its required settings. The 'shadow' look is very nice and looks really good with the XT front mech too. All in all a very good mech with a sturdy feel when shifting and a very sleek look
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano M772 XT Shadow Design Rear Derailleur - Top Normal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hypersic
from Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Shimano M772 XT Shadow Design Rear Derailleur

PostedFebruary 28, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Great product, light weight, shifts really smooth, great Price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano M772 XT Shadow Design Rear Derailleur - Top Normal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Giant
from Yorkshire
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great in everything but mud

PostedFebruary 15, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, good rock clearance, crisp shifting
Cons: not the best in mud
Have used this mech for approximately two years on my hardtail mountain bike. After initially being difficult to set-up, the mech offers good clean shifts with an XT cassette and chain, in nearly all weather conditions. Being a shadow design, it has few problems with stone strikes.
The main problem with the mech is mud. If trails are exceptionally muddy chain tension is lost, resulting in the chain wrapping around the chainrings and jamming. Not ideal in a racing context. In addition the ceramic bushing in the top jockey wheel has even shattered, but is easily replaced.
All in all a good mech, cheaper than the Sram equivalent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano M772 XT Shadow Design Rear Derailleur - Top Normal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rvieira995
from Santiago de Compostela, Galicia, Spain
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

M772 XT Rear Derailleur - Excellent!!!

PostedDecember 14, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality, precise shifting
Cons: Expensive
Due to my fitness & my age, with short free time for biking, I've decided to mount a MTB cogset (11-34 t) with this Shimano M772 XT RD in my road (race) bike.
The result was a very precise up- and down-shifting. That is I was looking for due to hilly geography of my region (Galicia, NW Spain) demands me an extra effort when I'm riding.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.