Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano M771 XT Dual Pull Front Derailleur Conventional Swing - Multi Fit

Shimano M771 XT Dual Pull Front Derailleur Conventional Swing - Multi Fit

Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano M771 XT Dual Pull Front Derailleur Conventional Swing - Multi Fit
Review 1 for Shimano M771 XT Dual Pull Front Derailleur Conventional Swing - Multi Fit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DaveyB32
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Looks a bit tinny but works well

PostedMay 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, woks well
Cons: Unattractive
For an XT product and the price you would hope it looked a little better as the steel cage looks a bit tacky. That said, a steel cage should resist wear and will be stronger if not lighter.
The mech was easily fitted and works very well with slick changes over a wide range 3 speed chain ring. Easily adjusted and set up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano M771 XT Dual Pull Front Derailleur Conventional Swing - Multi Fit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GABRI3L
Country:Brazil
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quick and precise.

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I'd exchange this from an Alivio front derailler on my GT Avalanche 1.0 2011 mtb. Works great with the Deore shifter and SLX rear mech.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano M771 XT Dual Pull Front Derailleur Conventional Swing - Multi Fit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
astoner
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Value Performance Quality

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
My old de-railler snapped after some serious abuse! This piece of kit made it feel like new. Gears are smooth and effortless making riding so much easier and enjoyable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano M771 XT Dual Pull Front Derailleur Conventional Swing - Multi Fit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yagil
from Israel
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value, excellent performance

PostedJanuary 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I use the M771 with a triple 48t-36t-24t SLX Chainset. While the M771 is listed by Shimano to fit only 44t Chainsets, I found that it has no problem whatsoever in handling 48t. The shifting is precise and easy, and there's not much to say about the deraileur other than the fact it works flawlessly under any condition I tried - even during a 20km mud run, when the bike was so covered in mud that I expected nothing to work, had to clean the wheels frequently and got the chain full of mud.
As the weight is slightly lower than the 9-speed SLX and the price only slightly higher, I would wholeheartedly recommend this deraileur to anyone needing a 9-speed setup up to 48t.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano M771 XT Dual Pull Front Derailleur Conventional Swing - Multi Fit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zuelow
from Curitiba - Brazil

Very good

PostedSeptember 24, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Very good. When the group with XT is great. It has a certain ease of shifting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano M771 XT Dual Pull Front Derailleur Conventional Swing - Multi Fit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Seth78
from Singapore
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Awesome purchase!

PostedJuly 26, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Was using the stock Alivio that came with my GT Ava 1.0, shifting was tight and not very responsive. Was using the older version XT on my old bike and i knew XT's the way to go.
After installing the M771, the difference is felt immediately! Performance and cosmetic wise was wayyyy better than the useless alivio.
Guys, if you want a bang for buck front dee, XT front dee (the model that fits your bike) is your best friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano M771 XT Dual Pull Front Derailleur Conventional Swing - Multi Fit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bornbiker
from Newport
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

XT

PostedJune 24, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this as an upgrade from a deore mech (this was the same price as I paid for the deore mech a year ago, so good value).
It looks good and has improved shifting, it's hard to get excited about a mech but it does the job well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano M771 XT Dual Pull Front Derailleur Conventional Swing - Multi Fit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LambOfGod2242
from Cambridgeshire
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Good look and Easy to Install

PostedJune 2, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great, Good quality, easy to install
I brought this mech after deciding to upgrade the old gearing on my bike and have been very happy with it so far. The instructions were quite clear and it came with all of the spacers to fit it to my frame with ease. It was easily aligned with the chain and has a very firm and quick shift.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano M771 XT Dual Pull Front Derailleur Conventional Swing - Multi Fit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
zgip40
from Croydon
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

nice &easy

PostedApril 13, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Expensive
good weighting, extra 'x' on it, working light , quick and quiet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano M771 XT Dual Pull Front Derailleur Conventional Swing - Multi Fit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
terryb
from London
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedDecember 11, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Not so lightweight, but works a treat. Conventional swing is solid.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.