Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano M770 XT Hollowtech 2 Chainset

Shimano M770 XT Hollowtech 2 Chainset

Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
7 out of 8(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano M770 XT Hollowtech 2 Chainset
Review 1 for Shimano M770 XT Hollowtech 2 Chainset
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MTBrDJN
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

a brilliant upgrade

Posted16 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
The chainrings on my original Deore crankset were pretty damaged and worn so it was definitely time to replace the crankset.
A quick Google search and use of Evans price match service meant upgrading to XT was a cheaper option.
The upgrade is so worth it, they look better, make smoother gear changes, and are so much lighter, shaving of overall bike weight.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano M770 XT Hollowtech 2 Chainset
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DaveyB32
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Complete item at good price

Posted04 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This Hollowtech 2 chainset and bottom bracket set was good value at the reduce price charged and is complete with all parts required included except the fitting tool (available at a reasonable price too).
The bottom bracket element is easily fitted once the terrible instructions have been worked out and the bearing sets appear to be of good quality though their appearance might suggest they were a little cheap. The plastic spacers also seem a little lightweight for this use but time will tell if they are up to the job - no reason to think they won't be, I would just expect metal in this role..
The hollow steel spindle is permanently attached to the chainset and this is partly how the complete set can be so light. The spacing is accurate and easily set up. The crank arms are silver and have a tough finish that doesn't show wear badly unlike a black anodised finish would.
The bearing pre-load and clamping arrangement on the left crank is easily assembled and appears well engineered, again with a good finish. This method also means that no crank extraction tool is required, only the bearing cap tool and allen keys.
The rings are mixture of steel and aluminium and the ridges enable good climbing for the chain giving good gear changes and the whole assembly runs very smoothly.
Only time will tell as to how well this lasts but the initial impressions are good
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano M770 XT Hollowtech 2 Chainset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RepackRacer
from Birmingham
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Must have product

Posted19 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Recently upgraded to this Chainset and I can't fault it. It's lightweight, stiff and makes shifting super smooth. If you are looking around at Chainsets, then this one is hard to beat for value and reliability and performance. Middle ring is carbon/steel composite giving longevity and still saving on the weight. I can see why all the mags have given this such great reviews and marks.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano M770 XT Hollowtech 2 Chainset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Baldrick999
from Surrey Hills, Wales
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Superb chainset

Posted13 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I have had this chainset on for the last 6 months and can honestly say this is worth every penny! silky smooth pedalling, easy to fit yourself with instructions included in the box. Super strong too, I have done a lot of riding and would have expected some of the teeth to show signs of wear and tear but still as good as new! The BB is also really smooth and the whole chainset very light weight for the money. It also has to be said....It really does look awesome! the silver crank arms dont fade like the black ones when the paint wears off!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano M770 XT Hollowtech 2 Chainset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Santo
from Scotland
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted10 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Absolutely great crankset.!
I was riding an old style deore before which I had no problem with as it was very reliable. I only needed to change the chainrings but was more economical to replace the lot.
Very simple fitting and has added a new lease of life to my bike! A good weight/strength ratio and you can feel confident in putting some hard pedalling in!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano M770 XT Hollowtech 2 Chainset
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BuckleUp
from Croydon
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

great

Posted21 November 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: external bb isn't that great
Excellent chainset, light, reliable and look good. Wasn't impressed with the shimano external BB though; only lasted a year. Replaced that with a Hope BB which has transformed the ride entirely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano M770 XT Hollowtech 2 Chainset
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MVFR
from Porto, Portugal
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Another good purchase

Posted10 August 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Another good business.
Not only get the best price in the market as I like the look and operation of the chainset.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano M770 XT Hollowtech 2 Chainset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PaulTS
from Guildford
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

brilliant chainset

Posted31 July 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
top quality, top finish, reliable in all condittions and lightweight. An excellent quality shimano part again
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.