Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Ergon GP1 Grips

Ergon GP1 Grips

Overall rating:
4.676 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
33 out of 34(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer reviews for Ergon GP1 Grips
Review 1 for Ergon GP1 Grips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrPenguin
from SE England
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ergon grips

Posted02 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I bought these grips hoping for an improvement on the round things supplied on my new bike....and they are!
On a trip along the Canal du Midi (250 often bumpy kms) they were invaluable, making a useful cushion for the wrists and allowing a variety of different holding positions. They are very easy to fit, look great and I would recommend them to anyone.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ergon GP1 Grips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grebe
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The must have grips!

Posted30 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I brought the Ergon GP1 Grips as I was going on a 10 day cycling tour of France, Belgium and the Netherlands, where I would be riding my bike for up to 12 hours a day. I needed grips that were more moulded to naturally fit the hand and would cut down the vibration felt through the handle bars on long cycle rides, my normal grips were leaving me with strain related pain in my hands after long training rides. The Ergon GP1 Grips fulfilled all my needs, I am now able to cycle for up to 10 - 12 hours without feeling any strain or pain in my hands, a must have if you're in to long distance cycling!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ergon GP1 Grips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gwaz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent grips

Posted24 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
I've been looking for grips like this for months, really pleased to have found them at Evans, they are so comfortable .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ergon GP1 Grips
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Macito
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
It was bought:Online

These are unbelievably comfortable

Posted12 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Easy to fit and really comfortable - I'm definitely putting them on my other bikes too.Not cheap, but they are well made and look like they will last.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ergon GP1 Grips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pabs786
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Great grips for Brompton bike

Posted19 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Had these installed on my Brompton Bike. Provides superb support and makes cycling more relaxing and enhoyable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ergon GP1 Grips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jojolexwebb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Brighton

Made a bit difference

Posted23 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
These are very comfortable & the perfect shape. I have medium woman's hands & bought the small. I used to get achy hands but these seemed to have eliminated that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ergon GP1 Grips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
qtype
Country:Croatia
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A definite must have!!!

Posted18 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The product is amazing!!!
It took me just one ride to figure how mush it has helped me.
During longer rides my palms don't feel as hurt as before.
Mounting them to my bike was also as easy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ergon GP1 Grips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sunny2013
Country:Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good loooking ergonomic grip

Posted24 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I have been using it now for almost 3 weeks and find it very comfortable making my bicycle ride less stressful as palm can rest very well on soft cushion designed ergonomically as part of the grip.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ergon GP1 Grips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
deedee
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Gateshead

what a magic product !

Posted07 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
lovely grips, what a pleasure it is to ride longer distances with these grips.
Easy to fit ( make sure you buy correct ones , one for grip shift other one for thumb shifters.)
I was amazed at the good quality and what a bonus to have the locking nut on the end to keep a firm grip in place I was very happy with this product and would buy more in the future for my family. well worth the money in my opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ergon GP1 Grips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RZ1201
Country:Ecuador
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

superb comfort

Posted14 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I was having problems with my palms and wrists, all was caused by the grips. A friend of mine that has been using them for years and did recommend them to me. I am very pleased with them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ergon GP1 Grips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SanJay
Country:India
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very Comfortable

Posted16 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: none at all
The pair has been fit to my Brompton and fits perfectly and sits tight does not move. Good Quality and finish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ergon GP1 Grips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gold682
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Comfortable and well made

Posted24 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Purchased these to replace the round foam grips. Feels like a different bike now. So much more comfortable on the palms. I purchased the large in these and they are fine, my hands aren't massive but think small would be more for the ladies or young.
Recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ergon GP1 Grips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mikris
Country:Canada
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great grip if you have hand and wrist issues.

Posted24 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
If you suffer from hand and wrist pain or discomfort you owe it to yourself to try these grips. The extra width at the end of the grip spreads out the pressure over a bigger area of your hand reducing numbness and discomfort.
They are very durable as I have had a set on my mountain bike for the last 3 years and they are none the worse for wear.
The first component I change on a new bike is to replace the stock grips with these grips. I highly recommend them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ergon GP1 Grips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tech5
Country:Spain
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Much more comfortable

Posted27 April 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I used to get sore hands and wrist after About 8k. With these grips I just don't have any pain. They really work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ergon GP1 Grips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trundler56
from Perth WA, Australia
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted14 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
The grips really do reduce the amount of jarring through your wrists and forearms as claimed. Extremely easy to fit and don't look too bad on my flat bar commuter.
The grips are designed for 22.2mm diameter bars, so check your bars before you buy. The end caps are easy to fit, all you need to do is give them a gentle tap or two with a rubber mallet.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ergon GP1 Grips
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mike3
from UK
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Distributes weight onto palm of hand

Posted14 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Grips good quality and fit well. Slightly longer than standard grips so levers have to be moved. Bar end stoppers do not fit as supplied and need to be trimmed as other people have noted. No big problem but strange considering they are specially made with the Ergon logo. Work well on short ride reducing tendancy to numbness of hands. Need long ride to fully evauate. Reccomendation to anybody who suffers with hand numbness is try them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ergon GP1 Grips
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
oldsurfdude
from UK
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very comfortable and have reduced forearm discomfo

Posted17 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
I had been suffering from forearm discomfort following recent rides and a friend recommended these. The looked a bit 'gimicky' but took the plunge and purchased a set. With a little fine tuning to get the best 'angle' these seem to have helped and are more comfortable than they look, even when out of the saddle 'pulling on the bars'!!
A few longer rides will see if they completely illiminate the arm issues, but 'so far so good'!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ergon GP1 Grips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WillMayBeWise
from UK
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great and comfortable

Posted12 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I bought these (rather dubiously, I admit) on the recommedation of a friend a few years ago. Never going to ride a bike without them again now!
My Dad got into cycling and has been been complaining about painful hands, and so I purchased this as a Christmas present for him, and he says thy've greatly improved his riding experience (no more bruised nerves)!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ergon GP1 Grips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thunderburd1
from Norfolk
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Effective and Value for Money

Posted03 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Fitted to my Brompton M3L these grips are superb. I moved he brake lever clamps slightly inwards. This allow the grips to be better suported and not to scrape when folding. Feel great on long rides...well long for a bromy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ergon GP1 Grips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrMw
from Milton Keynes
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Just wish I'd bought them earlier

Posted25 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These make such a difference on my relatively bumpy/vibrating ride to work along the Milton Keynes 'Redways'.
Just so unbelievably comfortable and give perfect control, either when 'pulling' (against fingers) or 'pushing'/resting (on lower part of hand).
My only regret is that for the sake of £25 I put up with the grips that came with my bike for 4 years until they split...
You need a bit of trial and error to get the angle just right. Ironically I ended up with them exactly horizontal (using spirit level!), which is what the makers suggest.
Beautifully engineered and much lighter than they look.
Best £25 I've spent on bike and quite probably on anything!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>