Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Cycle Computers or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer

Cateye Strada Cadence Computer

Overall rating:
4.128 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 39 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
36 out of 39(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer reviews for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Review 1 for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
philid01
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

adaptation required to fit on MTB

Posted06 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: need padding to fit
The computer is much the same as any other. The scroll through everything to get to what you want function is a little annoying but I mostly use one setting so once you have it I stay on it. As mentioned in nearly every other posts about this item; you have to do some major padding to ensure the wheel sensor picks up the wheel magnet. The pieces that come wit the kit aren't enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jackoat
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted29 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Performs as expected, the primary reason for purchasing was for the cadence function which works fine. The display could be slightly larger which would be a benefit from the safety perspective, less time trying to identify which function is displayed. Also the mounting kit could contain additional packing to help position the sensors, this would have saved me hunting round the garage for some suitable material.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GjengizT
Country:Albania
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product.

Posted24 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Works great, everything is included and it's easy to install.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
milton152
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Just what I was looking for

Posted17 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
The cadence was what I was looking for and this does not disappoint. Easy to fit, easy to use and a very good price.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mummymoogle
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

It does what it says on the box!

Posted30 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Bought this for my son in law, who is a keen leisure rider. He particularly wanted something that would tell him his pedal rate (or, as I have now learned, cadence!). There was some problem with fixing the sensor, as that had to be within a very small distance of the pedal. This was only possible after some heath-robinson engineering, and the gadget has worked perfectly ever since. I gather this fixing is a problem (on some bikes?) as I'd found a comment plus solution about it on you tube. Without this issue it would have got 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roy61
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Easy to use.

Posted18 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Bought to use specifically on a turbo trainer so needed the sensor on the back wheel.
Not too difficult to install, cadence sensor on pedal crank needed to be packed out about 4mm to register. I used some bluetack and the cable tie which has worked fine. Computer was quick to set up and is easy to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Thand
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid cycle computer

Posted12 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Easy to install, clear standard featured.
annoyingly the sensor needs to be angled in to get close enough to the magnet - not sure how "aero" this is but probably doesn't impact me too much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BikeBuddy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

A good reliable computer for Road & Turbo

Posted06 December 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The Cateye Strada Cadence is a wired computer with a cadence function, with a speed sensor wire long enough to reach the rear wheel - ideal for winter work & turbo sessions.
The computer is easy to fit to the bike, and is reliable in use - I recommend it. The mount for the bar/stem might be a bit more complicated than it needs to be, & requires a bit of pressure to remove the computer head unit - be careful it doesn't ping off into the distance!
I checked stock at my local Evans shop & dropped by after work. They price-matched a competitor. All very convenient - thank you Evans!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jaamzz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Works great with a Turbo Trainer

Posted14 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: wires!, slight improvisation with fitting
This cycle computer is made for your rear wheel which is great when you have to jump on the turbo trainer in the winter months! The cadence monitor is good and helps with training. It would have been perfect if it was wireless but I can't moan for the price, I'm very satisfied.
I did however have to add a small piece of rubber behind the mount for the cadence sensor as it didn't quite reach that tiny trigger range.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Justkeeppedling
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Easy to use

Posted22 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Great product for price with cadence sensor, great for use on turbo trainer which is what I use it for, could do with a back light but would buy again. Measures accurately,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
drajt
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good but not reliable

Posted16 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, works
Cons: unreliable
I was given a bike computer for my first bike and until I dropped it one too many times it was fine. I bought two of these to replace mine and one for my better half's bike.
They are a fiddle to fit but with care and a bike stand they can be installed okay. I find that in use the cadence is most useful to me as it helps me maintain an even rhythm and a better overall pace.
My only real gripe would be their reliability. The one on my better half's bike lost the cadence setting after about 18 months and while the cables can be replaced it's hardly cheap. One on my road bike also stopped working for a few weeks but recovered on it's own - I didn't adjust the position of the magnet or anything..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wildthing
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple Easy

Posted17 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
A simple to use computer with just 1 toggle button to access all its functions.
I am using this unit on a turbo and like to mount electrical items such as computers and HRM at the end of my tri bars to minimise the amount of sweat that drops on the unit. (The cause of my last computers failure).
The cable length means I can only mount the unit halfway along the tri bars, which is O.K. but not perfect for me. (An extra 2 inches always matters) I would certainly recommend this unit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
spike1962
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cateye Strada Cadence Computer

Posted29 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
For my level of cycling at the moment this is a very good product,it gives me all i need to know whilst cycling on the road or at home on the rollers,very easy to instal and very easy to navigate around it,if anyone is just starting out,or trying to get back into the sport again{as am i } i would really recomend this little computer as a starter
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mitter
Country:Japan
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted28 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought for check cadence in commuting.
For daily use, wired type is ECO than wireless because need cell only for computer one.
It is more better if wolud be show three parameters(speed, cadence, time) once.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rick13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Neat and tidy

Posted19 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
This computer offers great benefits in that it’s a neat and tidy package. Looks really good without appearing bulky. Sometimes done notice it’s there. It would however benefit from a back light when riding in the dusk/night. Overall it appears to be accurate and does what it says on the tin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bigcheese
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A great all round cycle computer

Posted18 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, easy to use, easy to install
This computer is fantastic all round! It has all of the features needed for beginner and intimidate level cyclists in an easy to understand format. The cadence function makes riding and training much better! It looks a bit scary to install when you take it out of the box because of the 2 sensors and small parts however it is actually really simple and the instructions are clear and very helpful. I would recommend this product to anyone mainly because its so simple to use and versatile. The cat eye fitting system is a gem and means it fits bikes, even with thick handle bars and stem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Apollo
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great wired wtih cadence computer

Posted29 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, rear wheel speed sensor
I really like this computer. I think that the display is nice and clear and changing the display is really easy with a simple push on the surround. It took around 30mins to get the sensors in the correct position and all of the cables nice and tidy. I have the more expensive cateye V2C on my other bike which is wireless but think tha the display on this is much clearer. I went for the wired over the wireless Strade to prevent interference from my heart rate monitor and for the price think it is a great little product. Also this computer now uses a rear wheel speed sensor so it works great with my turbo.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
pandaking
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

Posted27 March 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a mount for my smartphone which cost about £15 and with any decent free sports app has hundreds of better features than this thing.
The one thing the smart phone can't do is cadence however.
Purchased this just so I can keep track of my cadence and it does the job. Would be nice if it had a backlight or something but it's cheap.
Only issues I had with fitting is that my spokes get so close to the supporting arm on my bike that I couldn't fit the rear sensor without them hitting.
Fixed by switching the holders between the two sensors. Overall, pain to fit and nothing special, but for the price can't complain too much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Itsmeerl
from Canada
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Has the features I wanted but small display

Posted19 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: small display
Its getting harder to find a good wired computer with cadence. When I found this I figured great price. It wasn't until I received the computer did I realize how small the cadence and other displays were other than the speed. It works and meets my needs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cadders32
from UK
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality on a buget

Posted02 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This has excellent feature and is really simple to set up and use.
It is a bit of a fiddle to fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>