Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Cycle Computers or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer

Cateye Strada Cadence Computer

Overall rating:
4.118 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
31 out of 34(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer reviews for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Review 1 for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roy61
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Easy to use.

PostedMay 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Bought to use specifically on a turbo trainer so needed the sensor on the back wheel.
Not too difficult to install, cadence sensor on pedal crank needed to be packed out about 4mm to register. I used some bluetack and the cable tie which has worked fine. Computer was quick to set up and is easy to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Thand
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid cycle computer

PostedMay 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Easy to install, clear standard featured.
annoyingly the sensor needs to be angled in to get close enough to the magnet - not sure how "aero" this is but probably doesn't impact me too much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BikeBuddy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

A good reliable computer for Road & Turbo

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The Cateye Strada Cadence is a wired computer with a cadence function, with a speed sensor wire long enough to reach the rear wheel - ideal for winter work & turbo sessions.
The computer is easy to fit to the bike, and is reliable in use - I recommend it. The mount for the bar/stem might be a bit more complicated than it needs to be, & requires a bit of pressure to remove the computer head unit - be careful it doesn't ping off into the distance!
I checked stock at my local Evans shop & dropped by after work. They price-matched a competitor. All very convenient - thank you Evans!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jaamzz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Works great with a Turbo Trainer

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: wires!, slight improvisation with fitting
This cycle computer is made for your rear wheel which is great when you have to jump on the turbo trainer in the winter months! The cadence monitor is good and helps with training. It would have been perfect if it was wireless but I can't moan for the price, I'm very satisfied.
I did however have to add a small piece of rubber behind the mount for the cadence sensor as it didn't quite reach that tiny trigger range.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Justkeeppedling
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Easy to use

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Great product for price with cadence sensor, great for use on turbo trainer which is what I use it for, could do with a back light but would buy again. Measures accurately,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
drajt
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good but not reliable

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, works
Cons: unreliable
I was given a bike computer for my first bike and until I dropped it one too many times it was fine. I bought two of these to replace mine and one for my better half's bike.
They are a fiddle to fit but with care and a bike stand they can be installed okay. I find that in use the cadence is most useful to me as it helps me maintain an even rhythm and a better overall pace.
My only real gripe would be their reliability. The one on my better half's bike lost the cadence setting after about 18 months and while the cables can be replaced it's hardly cheap. One on my road bike also stopped working for a few weeks but recovered on it's own - I didn't adjust the position of the magnet or anything..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wildthing
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple Easy

PostedMay 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
A simple to use computer with just 1 toggle button to access all its functions.
I am using this unit on a turbo and like to mount electrical items such as computers and HRM at the end of my tri bars to minimise the amount of sweat that drops on the unit. (The cause of my last computers failure).
The cable length means I can only mount the unit halfway along the tri bars, which is O.K. but not perfect for me. (An extra 2 inches always matters) I would certainly recommend this unit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
spike1962
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cateye Strada Cadence Computer

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
For my level of cycling at the moment this is a very good product,it gives me all i need to know whilst cycling on the road or at home on the rollers,very easy to instal and very easy to navigate around it,if anyone is just starting out,or trying to get back into the sport again{as am i } i would really recomend this little computer as a starter
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mitter
Country:Japan
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought for check cadence in commuting.
For daily use, wired type is ECO than wireless because need cell only for computer one.
It is more better if wolud be show three parameters(speed, cadence, time) once.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rick13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Neat and tidy

PostedSeptember 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
This computer offers great benefits in that it’s a neat and tidy package. Looks really good without appearing bulky. Sometimes done notice it’s there. It would however benefit from a back light when riding in the dusk/night. Overall it appears to be accurate and does what it says on the tin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bigcheese
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A great all round cycle computer

PostedJune 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, easy to use, easy to install
This computer is fantastic all round! It has all of the features needed for beginner and intimidate level cyclists in an easy to understand format. The cadence function makes riding and training much better! It looks a bit scary to install when you take it out of the box because of the 2 sensors and small parts however it is actually really simple and the instructions are clear and very helpful. I would recommend this product to anyone mainly because its so simple to use and versatile. The cat eye fitting system is a gem and means it fits bikes, even with thick handle bars and stem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Apollo
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great wired wtih cadence computer

PostedMarch 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, rear wheel speed sensor
I really like this computer. I think that the display is nice and clear and changing the display is really easy with a simple push on the surround. It took around 30mins to get the sensors in the correct position and all of the cables nice and tidy. I have the more expensive cateye V2C on my other bike which is wireless but think tha the display on this is much clearer. I went for the wired over the wireless Strade to prevent interference from my heart rate monitor and for the price think it is a great little product. Also this computer now uses a rear wheel speed sensor so it works great with my turbo.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
pandaking
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

PostedMarch 27, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a mount for my smartphone which cost about £15 and with any decent free sports app has hundreds of better features than this thing.
The one thing the smart phone can't do is cadence however.
Purchased this just so I can keep track of my cadence and it does the job. Would be nice if it had a backlight or something but it's cheap.
Only issues I had with fitting is that my spokes get so close to the supporting arm on my bike that I couldn't fit the rear sensor without them hitting.
Fixed by switching the holders between the two sensors. Overall, pain to fit and nothing special, but for the price can't complain too much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Itsmeerl
from Canada
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Has the features I wanted but small display

PostedFebruary 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: small display
Its getting harder to find a good wired computer with cadence. When I found this I figured great price. It wasn't until I received the computer did I realize how small the cadence and other displays were other than the speed. It works and meets my needs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cadders32
from UK
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality on a buget

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This has excellent feature and is really simple to set up and use.
It is a bit of a fiddle to fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SteadyEddie7

Easy to use

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I mistakenly bought the wired computer when I was after the wireless system. It was easy to fit though and fitted neatly to the bike. It took a little work to get it set up correctly but once working is very easy to use and good clear figures when riding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
tinfoilzombie
from Nottingham
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value

PostedJuly 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: cadence sensor wasn't close enough to crank
Good value and wires aren't a problem once you've got them in place and use the cable ties to makes them neat and hidden.
Instructions weren't great about the setup - or the fact that the single big button isn't a button - the actual button is on the back of the unit. Fine once it's in the bracket, but no good when you're trying to set the thing up to begin with.
I had to pack the cadence sensor to make it close enough to the other half of it - some more rubber packers would help
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cakesandbrakes2
from Glasgow
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cadence Training

PostedJune 21, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this computer to help with some training on my dailly commute and am very please with the results. very good computer for the money. only down side is stowing all the cable safely. but still a great product and very easy to use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Nathaniel
from London
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Angry

PostedJune 19, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
Waited five days for this, then have waited all week excited to finally get it on my bike, and then have wasted nearly three hours of my sunday evening setting it up only to find the speed/distance sensor not to work.
I managed to get the cadence sensor working perfectly, but then as soon as I span the rear wheel I no reading came up on the screen for speed, for no apparent reason, meaning there must be an internal issue with the sensor/wires/computer.
I am livid; after spending so long on this on a sunday evening for it not to work has ruined my otherwise fantastic weekend. I shall be reading the riot act to Evans, demanding an exchange and for them to set it up.
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cateye Strada Cadence Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Geoffkilly
from Lincoln
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Product

PostedMay 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Once in place this is simple to use and provides me with all the information I could possibly need for every session.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>