Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Altura Arran Rack Pack

Altura Arran Rack Pack

Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
22 out of 22(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Arran Rack Pack
Review 1 for Altura Arran Rack Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Richy7
from Doncaster
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Rack Pack

Posted13 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great little pack, were using it on the back of our tandem, ideal for taking a few extra bits on longer rides. The two small side pockets are ideal for keys, phones, tools and spares, with the main compartment for clothes, food etc.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Arran Rack Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
deedee
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Gateshead

nice size! great if you don't travel light.

Posted15 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
easy to fit onto the back of a bike rack. good size for tools, light jacket and more , we use it a lot when kids cycle with us, I would recommend this product .
I like the fact it can be taken off and carried easily with bike helmet attached to it, good quality too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Arran Rack Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
whatweather1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Excellent Bag for top of rack

Posted16 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I purchased this bag to fit on top of a Quick Release seatpost rack i recently purchased from a local supermarket (german brand - Ald....)
The rack i purchased works by pressing a button to release the rack platform from the seatpost bracket; leaving the bracket in place on the seatpost. The Altura bag fits perfectly on the rack frame with the bonus of the bag having a seperate base that attaches to the rack frame with very secure velcro straps and snap lock fittings.
The bag has a carrying strap included; and also has carrying handles attached to the bag, for me this works perfectly as it means when i lock my bike up to go to a shop, i can simply quick release the rack and carry the rack with the bag attached and take it into the shop with me (also for security) using the carrying handles, then fill it with my shopping ready to re-attach to the rack bracket when i return to my bike. I think the bag would work well with any type of rack; as it is easily released from its base using the snap-lock straps.
The bag seems to be reasonably waterproof so far (it has been in several downpours with no adverse effects) and you can fit a reasonable amount in its main compartment, with the bonus of an upper compartment (lid) to fit a U-Lock in, and the bag also has side pockets for tools and other things. The bag also has a rear loop to attach a LED style light and has reflective detailing.
I am very pleased with my purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Arran Rack Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Prof67
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Good value good quality bag

Posted18 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Good bag with pocket on each side and another in the lid. Nicely sized - big enough but not too bulky. Easily detatches from hard velcro base (which stays attached to the rack) via 3 clips, so you can easily unhook it from the bike. Includes a detachable shoulder strap in case you want to walk around with it. Seems to be very good quality but only time will tell. Not sure how waterproof it will be in a downpour so if I go touring I'll use a roll-top dry bag inside the main compartment just in case.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Arran Rack Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cwmau
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Pleased with product - thanks

Posted13 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This is a good quality product at a reasonable price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Arran Rack Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
stajo917
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great commuter rack pack

Posted22 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Medium sized rack pack with just enough room for a lunch box and tightly packed change of clothes for your working day. Fits well on the rack. Easy to fasten and remove.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Arran Rack Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tim58
Country:Norway
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Handy size

Posted18 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great little rack pack. Easy to fit and very handy size for day trips.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Arran Rack Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Steve1957
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

versatile and good value for money

Posted09 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, versatile
I bought this Altura pack with the Tortec Tour Rack so this review has to be read in that context. Previously, I’d only used a small Topeak saddle bag for circular rides from home without stops but I had a couple of day tours lined up and wanted to be able to take more with me but I didn’t want to carry a backpack. I wasn’t intending to leave the pack and rack on my bike permanently so liked the look of the racks that clamped below the saddle but the best combination of these were the Topeak ones which were more than I wanted to pay for something to be used occasionally and didn’t quite meet my needs (although they do look good). Eventually I chose the Altura and Tortec combinations for a number of reasons. The Altura bag fitted onto the rack well, was in my price range and is of a style that made it useful for other uses such as taking a few possessions onto a flight or other day trips: the styles of many of the other packs weren’t suitable for this. It would also be easy to be able to remove from your bike and carry with you although I haven’t done this. These features made the pair especially good value for me as I was only intending to use them occasionally on my bike.
The pack has four compartments: the main one, one in the lid and one on each side. The main compartment has now way of dividing it up but this has not been a problem. The compartment in the lid are just the right size for carrying a couple of Ordnance Survey maps which makes it easy to access these during navigation stops without having to rummage through your other possessions.
There are no built in side panniers with this pack but I did not want these. Many of the packs that had these added weight to the pack unnecessarily when I wasn’t intending to use them. If I ever did want to increase the carrying capacity then I would buy purpose made panniers for the rack that I had chosen.
The pack has a separate base and the base if fixed semi-permanently to the rack. The pack is then secured to the base by hook and loop strips and three plastic quick release buckles for extra security. This method is not as slick as something like Topeak’s QuickTrack ™ system but I found this more expensive although it would be ideal for someone who was using this everyday to, for example, carry a pack to work.
All the zips have toggles making them easy to open with cycle gloves on and the bag just fits under the saddle but, in any case, the pack opens from the other end. The only criticism I can find is that I could do with a litre or two of extra capacity as some items of spare clothing for a day trip can be bulky but not heavy and fill a significant portion of the main compartment but can be crushed down.
In conclusion I thought that this pack and rack were the best all round in terms of versatility and value for money for my intended use and I would recommend both.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Arran Rack Pack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fernbrook
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

An excellent bag for dry weather rides

Posted22 April 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: not waterproof
I wanted a bag with multi pockets to enable quick access to wallet, phone etc as well as somewhere to store the essential tools for a daily ride. This bag fitted the bill well and was also easily detachable at tea shops.
It is however not waterproof and now I wish I had bought something that was. To be fair, it did not claim to be waterproof so that the mistake was mine.
An excellent bag for dry weather rides
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Arran Rack Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GaryXJ6
from United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Perfect for carrying just the essentials

Posted02 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
The Arran pack is a superb size if you just want to take the bike out for the day and leave the backpack at home. The side pockets will take your tools, lights and batteries, the top pocket will take your locks, leaving the main compartment for a waterproof, flask, camera etc.
I use mine to food shop every evening on the way back from the train station and it's just big enough. The main compartment is large enough to take a two litre water bottle with gaps on both sides for a few smaller items.
The fitting system is very stable and secure. You fit the supplied rigid landing strip to your bike rack using two large velcro straps, the pack then velcros onto the landing strip and is further secured with three strong click fasteners. What I like about this system is that because there are two wide velco strips that run the whole length of the landing strip and the bottom of the pack, when you return to the bike, you can place the pack down onto it's base at any angle and it will stick in place while you take off and store the shoulder strap.
Off the bike the pack is small enough to never feel cumbersome, whether you are carrying it by the handles or are using the supplied padded shoulder strap. It also has a reflective fabric loop at the rear to hang a clipped light from, or you can also fit a rear light to the D ring that drops down when the shoulder strap is removed.
The Arran is not waterproof, but it has rain covers over all the zips and will stand up to quite a heavy shower without leaking, and if you are caught out without a rain cover, a supermarket carrier bag is the perfect size to cover the entire pack.
All in all, a quality piece of luggage.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Arran Rack Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MRushton
from Manchester, UK
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

good pack

Posted17 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Good size for commutes, day rides. Stays secure on the rack and is easy to put on/remove
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Arran Rack Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nicklfry
from Derbyshire
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality item

Posted10 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I like the bag, has good fixing and usual Altura quality, highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altura Arran Rack Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
lizzy155
from Chatham Kent
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

A great bag

Posted07 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: not waterproof
This is a good sized bag, also the shape unlike some others helps with being able to pack more in. the attaching system works well (i was a little worried at first).
I am able to pack all my essentials for a day out. Small tool kit,lock, first aid kit, food, purse and a small packed up jacket. The small side pockets are also useful, only downside is the fact that its not waterproof.
I also like the fact that this bag has a good carrying handle and also comes with a shoulder strap, which means its held the correct way up!
I do also use 2 bungee cords for extra security, but thats just me!.
If it looks like rain cover it with a plastic bag, works fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Altura Arran Rack Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hotelsfairy
from Ashtead, UK
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Tough & versatile

Posted02 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
We bought this gift for my mother-in-law. She loved it!! She's recently got into cycling and has found this Rack Pack super useful. Its spacious, has many pockets for various items that anyone may need to take along for a ride. It could fit anything like tools, sandwiches, water bottle and so on. It has many little accessible compartments which you can keep your wallet/mobile in.
An all round winner!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Altura Arran Rack Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clydesdale
from Stockport
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great commuting bag

Posted03 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Having tried side panniers which were just too big, got in the way of my heels when pedalling & obscured the reflective kit on my ankles, this bag was the next choice I went for. I have not been disappointed. It's big enough for my needs, very well-made and clever (it attaches onto a pad which you leave on your rack and has 3 plastic clips as well). I would highly recommend that you also get a long bungee cord to wrap over it to improve stability when full. I found this improves my carrying options though as I can carry more gear on top of the bag. In conclusion, I' delighted, just what I was looking for and a much better alternative to bulky side panniers.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Altura Arran Rack Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
rabfun
from Wakefield
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Altura Arran Rack Pack

Posted22 January 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Really useful bag, easily fitted and takes my sandwhich box and flask with ease. However it obscures the rear lights sited on my seatpost.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Altura Arran Rack Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lazygraham

Posted29 October 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
good quality compact bag with easy release fittings
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Altura Arran Rack Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lurchercrazy
from Weston-super-Mare
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

useful in so many ways

Posted20 July 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: fiddly zips
I brought this rack pack as I didnt want a full on bag covering my wheels or rack as I have a dog running alongside on occasion. I use it for a trip out with my partner and dog, we carry water and emergency repair items and it fits lots in. I also use it for cycling to work and I am amazed with how much I can get in this bag, I have had lunch and tea pached inside, with snacks plus my work clothes.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Altura Arran Rack Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jimmy62
from Dalgety Bay, Fife
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Great success - used for LEJOG

Posted14 July 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this bag specifically to use on my LEJOG trip which we have just completed successfully. The bag was a great success and was just what i was looking for - it worked very well. I already had two of the smaller Outer Edge waterproof panniers so needed an additional bag that i could get easy access to stuff. It fitted well to my Madison standard rack - with a little bit of fiddling around. The bag is secured by attaching to the velcro strip which stays on the rack - there are also 3 other clips which it clicks into and make sure it doesn't fall off. Just to make sure i bought a bungee cable which had four strands to it (Halfords) and looped that over the bag from the front to the back of the rack. HAving read that the bag was not totally waterproof i also carried up a folded up bin liner (stored in one of the many available pockets) and used this when it rained. The bungee helped to keep the bin liner in position, I used the bag to carry relatively light items that i needed access to quicky - camera, suncream, phone, snacks, sunglasses, wallet, The bag is easily detached if we had a stop and wanted to leave the bikes outside a cafe / shop etc. One thing to watch against is not to put too much weight in this bag - i probably had about 5 lbs in this bag with about 6-7lbs in each pannier. If you put too much in it you can feel the weight - especially if you are out the saddle going up a steep hill.
Anyway great buy and the beauty of the bag is you can use it as a normal travel bag when you go your holidays - ideal for taking on planes etc
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Altura Arran Rack Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jomer
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Great bike bag

Posted14 July 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Bought this to accompany my two back panniers for cycling trip. Fits very well and is ideal for holding the accessories that you want to have easy access to. Great buy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>