Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Panniers & Rack Bags or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Altura Arran Transit Rackpack

Altura Arran Transit Rackpack

Overall rating:
4.474 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
19 out of 19(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Arran Transit Rackpack
Review 1 for Altura Arran Transit Rackpack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CFP1970
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

Perfect for small amounts of stuff

PostedApril 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Ideal for transporting shirt, tie, socks, wallet and phones
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Arran Transit Rackpack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
wabbapolo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Cardiff

Great rackpack - plenty of room and easy to use

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I decided to go for this rack pack over a normal, two-sided pannier and I'm very happy with the decision.
The main part is pretty spacious as long as your not planning on taking anything wide (such as books), and is prefect for locks and pack lunches. There are also some zip pockets on the side that you can fold down for extra storage
It attaches to my bike rack well and, mainly using Velcro, its both sturdy and easy to use. Its also easy to take off if you want to take it with you.
Only (minor) problem I have with it is that I can't see if there is a way to adjust the strap so it is more comfortable to carry. As said before it is also not suitable if you need to carry books or anything like a laptop.
All and all, though, it does the job very well!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Arran Transit Rackpack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
JulietC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Phone

Good capacity, however...

PostedJune 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
Good points:
The fold down panniers on the side are big enough to stick a raincoat in one side and a jumper in the other so pretty much double the capacity. I could get overnight kit (change of clothes and toiletries) in the main compartment.
The velcro mount seems quite secure and means you simply unclip the bag at 3 points and then pull off the velcro base rather than having to undo the whole thing when you want to remove the bag. Quite quick and easy.
Having the base section means the bottom of the bag is protected from dirt coming off the tyres.
Not so good points:
The lid is shoebox style and only has a clip and a bit of velcro at one end. Not as secure as a zip in my view.
On my bike the lid hit the saddle when I opened it which meant it wouldn't stay in the open position unless you held it.
I couldn't fit my rear light on the fastening as the rack was in the way due to the position of the fastening.
The side panniers are grey plastic which doesn't look as nice as black would have to match the bag.
I didn't like the design of the carry handle which has 2 loose bits in the centre.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Arran Transit Rackpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
UbunyeChallenge
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Road

Far better than expected

PostedMay 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, versatile
I went on a weekend tour using this rack back only. In it, I was able to store a change of cycling clothes, maps and passport, tools, spare tubes, toilettries and a first aid kit. It held up through 10+ hours of driving rain on Sunday with only a mild amount of dampness reaching the contents.
The bag is balanced, sleek, attractive and a breeze to use. I really can't fault it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Arran Transit Rackpack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Newbiecycler
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Wandsworth

Was exactly what I needed!

PostedMay 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I was looking for a bag for my commute: big enough to carry a change of clothes/shoes as well as my bike lock, and all the things that normally fill up my handbag (wallet/sunglasses etc..). Rather than opt for Panniers, I chose this bag as it was compact and seemed to have the right amount of space. Am very happy with the choice, and the side mini panniers are great for all the little bits and pieces that I tend to take along. Wouldn't recommend if you have a laptop - but you could easily fit tablets in there should you choose. Great purchase for a commute or for day cycling.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Arran Transit Rackpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
anna87
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

This product has great features

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This product is great for to-ing and fro-ing from the shops as it has plenty of space for shopping in the bag and in the drop down panniers! We had some fun trying to put it onto the bike but it was easy once we figured out which way round it went!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Arran Transit Rackpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
spannanna
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

This product has great features

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
The product was bigger than it looked in the online photos, but has great features and plenty of space for putting shopping and other items in! The fold down panniers are a great addition.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Arran Transit Rackpack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aldwin
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent quality product

PostedMarch 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I'm very pleased with this bag, having previously used a pannier. It holds a suprising amount of gear, is easy to attach and detach and looks pretty smart. I'm not really convinced that the drop down side mini panniers are a good idea.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Arran Transit Rackpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
trainspotter60
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent size for a long day out.

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
After using large heavy panniers for some years, this rack pack was selected for my wife and I as a more practical, modern and flexible alternative to use with our new hybrid bikes. I purchased 2 and they were excellent value with the deal at the time. My wife is very pleased with the amount of space available and the flexibility of the fold down side pockets. I was amazed at what could be contained within the main compartment alone. And the fact that they can easily be removed and carried with built in shoulder straps, makes me wonder if the panniers will ever be used again! One final point - much easier than strap on panniers to remove and replace when carrying bikes on a roof rack.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Arran Transit Rackpack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
from UK
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to use, safe and strong

PostedFebruary 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Easy to use and attach/remove. Good expanding strap to carry the bag around. Downside is that the zip away side bags are much smaller than I thought and only useful for small items. It's not a shopping bag, but for a wallet, glasses, gloves, water, sweets and a map, it does its job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Arran Transit Rackpack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MILNGAVIE
from GLASGOW
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good value

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
easy to fit ,the extra fold down pockets have bee used more than i had expected.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Arran Transit Rackpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RubyMac
from UK
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Useful and practical Bag

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, practical
I like the Altura landing strip system and I have purchased one of their bags previously. I needed a bag that would expand but was not too large and this bag fitted the bill.
The pannier bags are not very large but adequate for my needs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altura Arran Transit Rackpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lucy3point0
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great size & shape

PostedJuly 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
When you don't want to take a rucksack, you've too much stuff for a saddle bag and full pannier(s) is overkill, this is perfect.
Interior space is around the size of a large loaf of unsliced bread.
Fixes securely and simply to rack, definitely didn't move around and was easy to detach after the ride.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Altura Arran Transit Rackpack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Percy1
from Birmingham
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Very useful

PostedJune 17, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Just the right size for the daily commute and the panniers mean that I can buy milk and bread on the way home too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Altura Arran Transit Rackpack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mrsnobody
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

rackpack

PostedMarch 20, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Not yet been out on the bikes to test the bags but they look good quality and the service was fantastic. Order received very promptly.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Altura Arran Transit Rackpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Suze
from Solihull
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Fantastic rackpack

PostedOctober 11, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Made by Altura and fantastic quality. Easy to fit and easy to use. I have tested the strap yet, but can see how useful this will be if you need to take the pack in anywhere with you.
Easy to use and access whilst on your bike.
I have fitted my rear light to the back of the rack and there were plenty of options.
I looked at lots of options before buying this rackpack and I am really pleased with it. I did find it a bit cheaper elsewhere but I wanted to buy it from Evans who I find are excellent on service etc so I used there 'we won't be beaten on price'. Very pleased all round.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Altura Arran Transit Rackpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Someman
from Bucks
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

A good bag

PostedSeptember 8, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, very useful
The bag is well designed and made from strong materials and looks smart on my bike. The main compartment is about the size of a large loaf of (un-sliced) bread, which is good because on a Saturday morning that’s often what I put in it, along with a few smaller items squashed in. When going on rides it can store my u-bolt lock, map, glasses, compact camera, a jumper and something to eat if I need it. The lid has expansion room and the fastener can be adjusted accordingly.
A useful feature is the inclusion of two drop-down side pouches, handy for small items that need easy access, like a phone, keys or a puncture repair kit. The bag can be detached from its base and carried as a shoulder bag if desired. Haven’t yet tested how rainproof the bag is, but my guess is that it would keep the contents dry, though no claims are made by the manufacturers about that.
If you have a rear rack on your bike, I’d say get one of these. It’s enabled me to dispense with my back-pack for most leisure rides, though for shopping trips I usually still need one.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Altura Arran Transit Rackpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Owlnhoot
from Lincs
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Altura Transit Rackpack

PostedApril 11, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bag is perfect fit, easy to attach to rack and well constructed. Main compartment is roomy and holds just about everything you could need for a decent ride with spare capacity for extras like drink, snacks, clothing, sunglasses, etc. Drop-down paniers offer even more space for those unexpected things that can't be anticipated. A good acquisition for my hybrid.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Altura Arran Transit Rackpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dizzy
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Arant Transit Rackpack

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Perfect for my Pashley cycle. Not too big but very useful side pockets which zip up and make whole thing neat and compact.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.