Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Altura Arran 16 Pannier Single

Altura Arran 16 Pannier Single

Overall rating:
4.744 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 39 reviews
5 Stars
29
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
39 out of 39(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Arran 16 Pannier Single
Review 1 for Altura Arran 16 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Janner
from Plymouth
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great piece of kit with very prompt delivery

PostedFebruary 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
My Dawes tourer had Dawes branded panniers which were fine to an extent and did well when full, as the weight of the contents secured the pannier on the rear rack. However for day rides and commuting where you don't need to carry a lot of stuff, the panniers were never really secure.
However I'm please to report that with these Altura Arran panniers that problem is resolved, as these panniers have a very secure fitting system so that you can now carry just a few bits around in them without the worry of the pannier bouncing of your rear rack. Also they appear to be very rain resistant.
Highly recommend them and Evans service is effortless and prompt.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Arran 16 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Splitpin247
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

light weight looks well made

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Not used yet i bought 2 for doing the john o groats to lands end
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Arran 16 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hana
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Woking

Super single panier

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, waterproof
Holds more than you would expect.
Useful separate section at the top to put stuff you need to get at quickly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Arran 16 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great for week shopping

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
good quality and lots of space
I can only fit it on right side in my rack, not left side, because of the side clip.
Top clips very steady and good quality overall
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Arran 16 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ridersufc
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value bag

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
A good size bag and quite lightweight. A very handy pocket in the flap. One small problem was the bottom fixing clip. I did not tighten up the clip sufficiently and it slipped off the adjustable rail. I did not notice I had lost it until I got back home. More my fault for not tightening up sufficiently.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Arran 16 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ShinyBits
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Cheap and very cheerful

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, water resistant
Cons: no shoulder strap, no internal pockets
Have been using it for 2 years in all weathers and it still looks great. People say it's not waterproof, but it's very resistant - only gets damp when it poors. I just keep a plastic bag inside it for when is really wet. A shoulder strap would be a bonus, and maybe a larger reflector. I would love to have a posh Ortlieb pannier but to be honest I find it very difficult to want for more with this one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Arran 16 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Great product.

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I got this pannier to take a change of cloths for my ride into work. It holds all my stuff and has room for more and also has a handy zip pocket in the top for for small items. Good quality finish and reasonable price would recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Arran 16 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
shr1nk
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value

PostedApril 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Basic, good quality, though not waterproof. Solid attachment.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Arran 16 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warthog
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Great commuter bag

PostedApril 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Takes my lunch, change of shirt and kindle with room to spare.
Easy to get on and off my Ridgeback Speeds rack and so far totaly waterproof. Only nehgative is I wish they had included a shoulder strap to fit the included mounts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Arran 16 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
chameleojo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Compact, quality made, great for road bikes

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, reflective strips
Cons: no shoulder strap option
I purchased two of these for a 2 week camping trip to the Outer Hebrides. I packed very light and wanted panniers that could fit with the shorter than normal chain stay on my road bike (so I wouldn't bump my feet on them when pedalling). They are quite narrow so did the trick in that respect and I bought a slim Tubus pannier rack with rear axle attachment to fit these panniers to.
I used rain covers so didn't test these in full rain but they seem like a sturdy, tight woven fabric so may be showerproof.
The rack attachment was easy on and off and the pannier has great reflective properties.
I would have liked an optional carry strap as these hurt your hands to carry if they are fully loaded, and when full, its often not easy to find what you need in the top pocket as things get 'lost' in it.
Overall a good value pannier for light touring and commuting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Arran 16 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tryo
Country:Sweden
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect pannier for daily use!

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I use this on my bike to and from work, and it's a perfect pal for carrying my stuff. Come sun, come rain...no problems. The size is perfect on my Nishiki Pro sld-bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Arran 16 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bedandbreakfast
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good quality and value

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
bought this for commuting to work, feels good to not have a rucksack on and despite being filled to capacity (laptop, beer, work clothes) no issues with having only one side - wish i bought one ages ago
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altura Arran 16 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Higlophico
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent value for money

PostedApril 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: not completely waterproof
this pannier bag is at the cheap end of the market and considering this it is excellent value. in a day's heavy rainfall they did let the contents get a little damp but i suppose that is to be expected from a lightweight bag. with a waterproof liner they worked perfectly.
would definitely recommend buying for a light weight tour
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Altura Arran 16 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kathryn37

Good - but not what I thought I had ordered

PostedMarch 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
I ordered this pannier thinking that it would come in a pair. It didn't so I returned it for a similar product (Arran 32 litre panniers).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Altura Arran 16 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JIrl29
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light, spacious and handy top pocket

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This pannier is highly recommended. It is cheap but the quality is high. It has a very handy pocket at the top. It is also very light. You can attach a strap if you want to carry it with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Altura Arran 16 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RWBinDenHaag
from UK (but resident in The Netherlands)
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to clip on and off the pannier rack

PostedFebruary 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: no shoulder strap
Works for me on the commute (carrying lunch, waterproofs, spares, change of clothes, shoes as required) and grocery shopping.
Inexpensive considering the price of some of the competition.
No shoulder strap included but there are hooks and straps can be had cheaply.
Doubt waterproof in a heavy downpour but can always use an inner bag.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Altura Arran 16 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GaryM
from England
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Very pleased with the purchase. Good quality and good size. Exactly what I required.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Altura Arran 16 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TrekkerAlly84
from UK

An excellent pannier

PostedJanuary 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
A great, sturdy pannier of good capacity. Feels secure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Altura Arran 16 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DSthe2nd
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well designed and simple to use

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, secure, quick and easy to attach/detach
This pannier is well designed- it is very quick to attach and remove from my pannier rack and is secure when fitted properly. The fitting at the bottom of the pannier can be adjusted to fit any rack.
In the past I have had a pannier which caught my ankles when pedalling and which tended to bend, sometimes getting caught in my rear wheel spokes. This pannier is narrow and stiff enough to avoid both of these problems even when very full.
The one problem I did have is that one of the rivets fastening one of the top fittings to the bag part of the pannier snapped while riding, the fitting was still attached by one rivet, I repaired it a day later with a narrow gauge bolt and have had no further problems.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Altura Arran 16 Pannier Single
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigDan
from Melbourne, Australila
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Front touring panniers

PostedSeptember 12, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Altura products are fantastic & being an ex pat scot I love that the panniers are named after an island in the western isles makes me quiet homesick.
thet are just the right size and with just a little adjusting they fit the front rack on my "New" Kona Sutra.
Here comes the rail trails ! ? !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>