Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Panniers & Rack Bags or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Altura Arran 46 Pannier Pair

Altura Arran 46 Pannier Pair

Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
11 out of 12(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Arran 46 Pannier Pair
Review 1 for Altura Arran 46 Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tophat
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Product

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Very pleased so far with my purchase. Very easy to attach and take off, and loads of room for all my gear.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Arran 46 Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ethiopiancycle
from Ethiopia
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Durable and spacious panniers

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I decided not to write this review until I had completed a 1500km ride in Ethiopia mainly on asphalt but also some gravel. The panniers were all that I expected. The holding clip that prevents the bags jumping off the rack were necessary and great as are the adjustable clips. Love the rear pockets as provides easy and quick access to smaller items. Durable material for those occasions when there is no choice but to lay a laden bike down on the ground. I also used the Arran handlebar bag which too I found indispensable. At first I thought they may be too small, but their capacity was sufficient for carrying sleeping bag, mat etc. No rain so cannot comment on the waterproof ability of the bags. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Arran 46 Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PaulusRex
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedDecember 3, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I find these panniers are easy to fit on or remove from the rack. They are sturdy and contain more then adequate space for commuting and shopping. The separate zipped pockets are ideal for storing mobile phone, glasses case etc. Delivery was also very prompt.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Arran 46 Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ridings
from Amersham
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Fabulous roomy panniers

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
These panniers are easy to attach, quick to get off the bike and are extremely roomy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Arran 46 Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nonnac
from England
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent panniers

PostedAugust 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
More than enough space to hold all my stuff for a months tour of Europe. Easy to attach to the rack and never felt insecure even at 40mph down the Alps!
My gear stayed dry through thunderstorms - the bags are showerproof and by using the packaging they come in as a liner and they are then completely waterproof.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Arran 46 Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GarethN16
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Altura Arran 46 Pannier

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Having used a Raleigh Triple 28 Litre Bike Pannier for years. The Altura is a real upgrade. So glad to have chosen this. Looks good, and load of space. My only gripe is there is no option of attaching permanently.
Otherwise highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Arran 46 Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kirt
from Hampshire
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

PostedAugust 12, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Just returned from a 3 week tour of france, and these bags were perfect, carried everything required, effortlessly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Arran 46 Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
crazyjack
from Thatcham
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good daily panniers

PostedJuly 7, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I am really pleased with my Altura 45 panniers. I hesitated because they are not likely to be as waterproof as some, but were quite a bit cheaper. Since I've had them, I've cycled for 10mins in a downpour and whilst the bags themselves were a bit soggy, everything kept dry inside.
They are compact and easy to carry and yet can hold a good amount. They have outside pockets, one on top and one at the side. I find these really useful for keys, lock, money, and waterproofs. Anything that you want to access quickly without having to open the main bag.
I like the clip for the keeping them in place on the rack. You just turn it as you put them on, simple but works well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Arran 46 Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GIGeorge
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

GIGeorge

PostedJuly 1, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Good set of Panniers very stylish, pockets on the side and top allow for those need to access things. Easily fit a sleeping bag and ground mat in one with clothes in the other. A fellow rider had the same but his also came with pannier covers which were in a secret pocket on the top. They seem to have downgraded the design so now you have to get the covers separately.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Arran 46 Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
JIA69
from Kent
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Shame they won't get used for original plan

PostedMarch 10, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, easy to fit, roomy but not too bulky
Cons: clip attachment break too easy
I bought a set of these panniers in preparation for a coast to coast cycle ride in the summer. Reviews looked good, I didn't want anything too big and the price was good.
Not disappointed when they arrived, plenty of room if packed carefully though not sure how they hold up in the rain, small shower no problem but I didn't get to use them in any heavy downpours.
I would probably have rated these a four maybe five star but as the heading states they won't be used for their original aim. Sadly one tumble (yes the good old couldn't get my feet out of the clips in time) and one of the locking clips snapped off the pannier. I know they are not designed for that kind of treatment but I would expect them to stand up to something like that. It would have been no different to the bike falling over from a static position. Shame as otherwsie a good product but sadly I now need to buy something else. Maybe not quite as robust as some reviews suggest in my case.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Arran 46 Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
butty76
from london
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

good quality

PostedAugust 21, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
good quality product lot of space.good for shopping trips
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Arran 46 Pannier Pair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TamO
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good reliable kit

PostedAugust 5, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I've used my Arran 46 panniers in expeditions throughout France and Scotland over the last two years. Invariably I use them with the flourescent waterproof cover for better visibility. The panniers have always performed perfectly. They are easy to fix to, and remove from, the carrier. They are robust and reliable. I always use Exped bags to ensure my kit remains dry - hiking experience has taught me never to believe that a rucksac is fully waterproof so the expeds remove all risk and obviate the need to spend so much more on kit which is supposed to be waterproof. All my gear, including full camping kit, fits easily into the two panniers and the load works well on my Dawes Audax. Total weight carried, including panniers is 10Kg. At the end of each trip, I let the panniers dry out then brush off the dried crud. They are still as good as new. First class kit and first class value.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.